Research Guides: Earth Sciences: Books: Geology

Find a Book in the Library Catalog

Search for the book in the catalog.
Click on the title to see if it is available.
If it is available, write down its location and shelf number.
Go to the shelf, find the book and bring it to the circulation desk with your student card.
To check the duration of the book loan, sign into your library card (username - 9 digit id number; password - student administration personal code)

How to borrow a book in the library

Recommended books in Geology

Understanding Earth by John Grotzinger; Thomas H. Jordan; Frank Press; Raymond Siever
Call Number: QE 28 P9 2007
ISBN: 9780716766827
Publication Date: 2006-02-24
More than any other introductory physical geology textbook, Understanding Earth is designed to bring the worldview of the working geologist to an audience not only new to this specific field, but in many cases to science in general.
Global Tectonics by Philip Kearey; Frederick J. Vine; Keith A. Klepeis
Call Number: QE 511.4 K43 2009
ISBN: 9781405107778
Publication Date: 2009-01-20
The third edition of this widely acclaimed textbook provides a comprehensive introduction to all aspects of global tectonics, and includes major revisions to reflect the most significant recent advances in the field.
How to Build a Habitable Planet by Charles H. Langmuir; Wallace S. Broecker
Call Number: QE 515 B76 1985
ISBN: 1283612968
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Since its first publication more than twenty-five years ago, "How to Build a Habitable Planet" has established a legendary reputation as an accessible yet scientifically impeccable introduction to the origin and evolution of Earth, from the Big Bang through the rise of human civilization.
Earthquakes by Bolt, Bruce A., 1930-2005
Call Number: QE 534.2 B64 1999
ISBN: 071673396X
Publication Date: 1999
This text on earthquakes provides an explanation behind these deadly and destructive events, from geological faults to intensity patterns, side effects and protection of people and property. The fourth edition includes descriptions of earthquakes in highly-populated areas such as Kobe, Japan.
Atlas of the World by National Geographic Staff
Call Number: G 1021 N38 2014
ISBN: 9781426213540
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
Marking the 100th anniversary of National Geographic cartography, this prestigious reference is the essential guide to understanding today's interconnected world. Illustrated maps and informational graphics chart rapidly changing global themes such as population trends, urbanization, health and longevity, human migration, climate change, communications, and the world economy.
The Encyclopedia of the Solid Earth Sciences by Philip Kearey (Editor)
Call Number: QE 5 E517 1993
ISBN: 0632036990
Publication Date: 1994-07-27
The Encylopedia of the Solid Earth Sciences provides a comprehensive modern reference text for all the subdisciplines of the Earth Sciences. The Encyclopedia is primarily intended for professional earth scientists and those specializing in related subjects. However, it will also provide an important reference for students of the Earth Sciences and those needing information on terms in current usage. The book contains three main styles of entry: articles up to 1500 words on major topics such as plate tectonics, standard entries of up to a couple of hundred words on topics such as groups of minerals,and brief definitions of, for instance, individual minerals.

Shelf No. in Geology

Finding Books in the Library by Shelf Number:

Libraries use Classification systems to order the books by subjects, so all books on the same subject will be placed together on the shelf. The Harman Library uses the Library of Congress classification system, which is based on letters and numbers (shelf numbers).

QE1-996.5 Geology

QE1-350.62 (General

Including geographical divisions)

QE351-399.2 Mineralogy

QE420-499 Petrology

QE500-639.5 (Dynamic and structural geology)

QE521-545 Volcanoes and earthquakes

QE601-613.5 Structural geology

QE640-699 Stratigraphy

QE701-760 Paleontology

QE760.8-899.2 Paleozoology

QE901-996.5 Paleobotany

Interlibrary Loan

Did not find a book\article in the library catalog?

Perhaps it could be ordered through the interlibrary loan service from another institution. The service is free for research and teaching purposes for students, researchers, and Hebrew University academic and administrative staff. To order books/articles which are not in the library collection, please fill the Interlibrary loan in the Hufind catalog.

The Library Authority

Library Research Guides

Earth Sciences: Books: Geology

Harman Science Library

Find a Book in the Library Catalog

Recommended books in Geology

Shelf No. in Geology

Interlibrary Loan