Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patents: Patent Databases

International classification of CPC

CPC Cooperative Patent Classification

סיווג לפי EspecNet

 

NCBI

NCBI - a PubMed related database containing information on nucleotide sequences patents.

How can records with patent information be found?

Searching for sequences with keywords and IDs:

To access information for nucleotide sequence records included in GenBank's Patent division or their corresponding protein sequences, search the Nucleotide or Protein databases with the terms gbdiv_pat[Properties] or patent[Properties].

To search for sequence records associated with a specific patent, search the Nucleotide or Protein database with (country code|patent number), for example: us|8669056.

Searching for chemicals with keywords and IDs:

To access all chemical records with patent information search the PubChem Compound database with has_patent[Filter].

To search for chemical records associated with a specific patent, search the PubChem Compound database with (patentID)[Patent], for example: us5192525[Patent].

Why Look for Patents?

Searching patent databases can produce valuable information that cannot be found in academic databases. When applying for a patent, the applicants must present in detail their innovation and the scientific background behind it. These processes are usually conducted by commercial bodies, that do not publish information in academic articles, meaning patent documents allow access to important information from additional sources.

free and payed patent databases

​There are several patent search platforms (some free and some not), used to search for patents in patent offices around the world:

WIPO - World Intellectual Property Organization, includes 192 countries.

Search WIPO Database

Lens.org - A search platform consisting of more than 117 million patents from over 95 patent offices worldwide

patentPak - HUJI only

SciFinder - A chemistry database that includes a patent search

IP5 CCD

CCD Database Search

The Common Citation Document (CCD) application aims to provide single point access to up-to-date citation data relating to the patent applications of the IP5 Offices. It consolidates the prior art cited by all participating offices for the family members of a patent application, thus enabling the search results for the same invention produced by several offices to be visualised on a single page.

The members of IP5 are:

  • the European Patent Office (EPO)
  • the Japan Patent Office (JPO)
  • the Korean Intellectual Property Office (KIPO)
  • the National Intellectual Property Administration of the People's Republic of China (CNIPA)
  • the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)

From the CCD website