Skip to Main Content
Journals
Arbitration International
Launched in 1985, Arbitration International provides quarterly coverage for national and international developments in the world of arbitration. The journal aims to maintain balance between academic debate and practical contributions to the field, providing both topical material on current developments and analytic scholarship of permanent interest. Arbitrators, counsel, judges, scholars and government officials will find the journal enhances their understanding of a broad range of topics in commercial and investment arbitration. Features include (i) articles covering all major arbitration rules and national jurisdictions written by respected international practitioners and scholars, (ii) cutting edge (case) notes covering recent developments and ongoing debates in the field, (iii) book reviews of the latest publications in the world of arbitration, (iv) Letters to the Editor and (v) agora grouping articles related to a common theme.
International Arbitration Law Review
International Arbitration Law Review brings together all the requirements of an arbitration practitioner or academic looking at the international scene. It is a SCOPUS listed, peer-reviewed journal offering expert commentary on worldwide trends and issues from leading international authors and is managed by an editorial board and advisory board comprising internationally recognised experts and specialists from academia and practice.
The journal offers coverage of legal trends and developments in arbitration from around the world, including in depth commentary and analysis of arbitration related cases in State courts, significant changes in legislation and developments in arbitral practice.
Journal of International Arbitration
Leading journal in the field of international arbitration.
Worldwide coverage.
Unmatched as a forum for original thinking, penetrating analysis, and lively discussion of international arbitration issues.
In-depth investigations of the most important current issues in international arbitration, focusing on business, investment, and economic disputes between private corporations, State-controlled entities, and States.
Notes and Current Developments sections with concise and critical commentary on trends and recent cases.
Dispute Resolution International
Dispute Resolution International is the journal of the IBA's Dispute Resolution Section. It provides in-depth discussion of current developments and topical issues in all areas of dispute resolution, including litigation, arbitration, mediation and other areas of alternative dispute resolution, as well as negligence and damages.
Alternatives to the High Cost of Litigation (Non Academic)
Founded in 1979 as the Center for Public Resources, the International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution's mission is to spearhead innovation and promote excellence in public and private dispute resolution, and to serve as a primary multinational resource for avoidance, management and resolution of business-related and other disputes. To fulfill its mission, the Institute is engaged in an integrated agenda of research and development, education, advocacy and dispute resolution. It is the leading proponent of ADR that is managed by the parties and a highly qualified neutral, or self-administered ADR.
The International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution is a nonprofit leadership alliance of 500 major corporations and law firms at the forefront of resolving business and public disputes through innovative alternative dispute resolution approaches. The Institute fulfills its commitment to quality in ADR development by involving the best of the profession and academia in its agenda of problem-solving, research, education and ADR advocacy, and in the dispute resolution services it provides through its Distinguished CPR Panels of Neutrals.
The American Review of International Arbitration
The American Review of International Arbitration is a quarterly law review that publishes scholarly articles, commentaries on recent developments, case notes, and other materials relating to international commercial arbitration. It is the only publication of its kind in the United States, as well as being one of the leading publications in the field internationally. International arbitration itself is a dynamic practice area of significant, ever-increasing importance due to the need for resolving commercial disputes in the expanding global economy.
Dispute Resolution Journal of the American Arbitration Association
Official journal of the the American Arbitration Association (AAA)
An authoritative resource for advocates, neutrals, parties, educators, public-policy leaders, and corporate executives
In-depth articles written by leading practitioners and scholars
Covers the spectrum of ADR issues, emerging techniques and new applications of ADR processes in commercial and labor practice
Contributors are the foremost experts in areas such as international trade, business, commercial finance, labor relations, construction, the courts, insurance, employment, real estate, intellectual property, healthcare and technology
Emory Journal of International Dispute Resolution
The Emory International Law Review enjoys an international reputation as a leader in international legal scholarship. EILR publishes articles and essays submitted by professionals and students from around the world on a vast array of topics ranging from human rights to international intellectual property issues. EILR is edited entirely by students and is known for excellence in scholarship, legal research, analysis, and professionalism in the publication process. EILR accepts previously unpublished submissions on topics touching on international and foreign law.
Journal of Dispute Resolution
The Journal of Dispute Resolution is a student-edited, academic journal published on a bi-annual basis by the University of Missouri School of Law in conjunction with the Center for the Study of Dispute Resolution. The Journal contains articles written by nationally prominent authors and students on a wide variety of topics in the rapidly developing field of dispute resolution. The Journal was established in 1984 and is recognized as the leading legal publication in the area of alternative dispute resolution. Second- and third- year law students administer the Journal by contributing written works and assisting in the editing and publication process.
Ohio State Journal on Dispute Resolution
The Ohio State Journal on Dispute Resolution ("JDR") is a student-initiated, student-run publication of The Ohio State University Michael E. Moritz College of Law. The JDR is dedicated to the exploration of alternative forums for and methods of dispute resolution, such as negotiation, mediation, arbitration, summary jury trials, and mini-trials.
Pepperdine Dispute Resolution Law Journal
he Pepperdine Dispute Resolution Law Journal (DRLJ) is one of Pepperdine Caruso School of Law’s specialized law journals, associated with the top-ranked and internationally recognized Straus Institute for Dispute Resolution. DRLJ collects, edits, and publishes cutting-edge legal research on matters of alternative dispute resolution (ADR).
Whether domestic or international, practical or theoretical, involving negotiation, mediation, arbitration, or other vehicles of ADR, in a world with no shortage of conflict, there is a corresponding bounty of scholarship to be done on the subject.
Resolved (Charleston, South Carolina)
Resolved: Journal of Alternative Dispute Resolution operates under Charleston School of Law’s Center for Dispute Resolution. Resolved publishes articles focused on the practical issues facing mediators, arbitrators, attorneys, and human resources professionals engaged in the implementation and supervision of dispute resolution programs and is one of only two law journals in the Southeast dedicated to these issues.
Resolved’s main objective is to promote research and writing in the areas of dispute resolution theory, skills, techniques and application. Resolved members are selected based on a combination of their grades and performance on a writing competition upon completion of all first year required courses. Members are involved in editing articles, writing articles, and all aspects of the publication process. Resolved members also host an annual Symposium dedicated to topical issues involving ADR. Because Resolved fosters an analytical approach to ADR, Resolved members gain invaluable exposure to ADR skill sets as well as extensive writing and editing experience.
Willamette Journal of International Law and Dispute Resolution
The Willamette Journal of International Law and Dispute Resolution, first published in 1992, developed out of the initiative and dedication of students wishing to encourage increased dialogue on issues concerning international law and dispute resolution. The journal is a student run publication containing a variety of articles written by scholars and Willamette University College of Law students discussing topics related to international law and dispute resolution.
Arbitration
Arbitration is CIArb’s internationally respected, peer reviewed academic journal, showcasing the most current analyses of pressing issues in alternative dispute resolution (ADR) from a global perspective. Arbitration has been at the forefront of the conversation as ADR has evolved, transforming from an ‘alternative’ forum into a vital component of international legal practice and of the global rule of law.
Arbitration covers:- All areas of international dispute disciplines, including commercial and investment arbitration- All other modes of ADR, such as negotiation, adjudication, expert determination, and mediation- Topics relating to both private and public law, including public international law, and articles that take a variety of approaches, including doctrinal, historical, comparative, socio-legal, philosophical, political analysis and economic analysis of the law- Commentary on domestic and international cases that affect international ADR practice- Papers and presentations from conferences and events around the globe- Reviews of the latest international ADR books and publications.
Canadian Arbitration and Mediation Journal
The Canadian Arbitration and Mediation Journal (ISSN 1192-537X) is one of two official publications of the ADR Institute of Canada Inc./ Institut d’Arbitrage et de Médiation du Canada Inc. It is published in electronic format (PDF) twice annually: Autumn and Spring as a journal for persons in the field of Alternative Dispute Resolution in Canada.
With a cross-Canada Editorial Board of some of the foremost mediators and arbitrators in Canada, the Canadian Arbitration and Mediation Journal provides insights and information on issues of central concern to ADR practitioners from all provinces and internationally, as well as book reviews.
McGill Journal of Dispute Resolution
The McGill Journal of Dispute Resolution (MJDR) is a bilingual, peer-reviewed, student-run academic journal dedicated to the presentation and promotion of high quality scholarship in the fields of arbitration, mediation, facilitation, negotiation and other forms of alternative dispute resolution.
The Journal's mandate is to promote discourse and the exchange of ideas between prominent scholars, practitioners, law students and the public at large. The MJDR seeks to achieve its mandate through the provision of free, high quality peer reviewed scholarship from leading scholars in these fields.
German Arbitration Journal
Official journal of the German Arbitration Institute (Deutsche Institution für Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit, DIS).
Detailed focus on arbitration case law and practice in Germany, Austria and Switzerland, but also other countries.
Also focused on alternative dispute resolution mechanisms including, Mediation, Mini-Trial and Last-Offer-Arbitration, etc.
Judgments from German courts on arbitration accompanied by critical case notes.
Contributions in German and English, all with English abstracts.
European Investment Law and Arbitration Review
The European Investment Law and Arbitration Review is the first law periodical specifically dedicated to the field of 'European Investment Law and Arbitration'. The timing could not be better. The first EU integrated investment treaties with Canada (CETA), US (TTIP) and Singapore (EU-SING) are either negotiated or about to be signed and ratified by the EU and its Member States. These are "integrated" investment treaties in that they combine free trade agreement provisions with international investment agreement norms. Moreover, the Court of Justice of the EU (CJEU) is about to deliver its first judgments and Opinions directly relating to intra-EU BITs and the EU-SING FTA. More generally, the public debate and discussions within academic and practitioner circles about the pros and cons of investor-state dispute settlement (ISDS) and investment treaties in general is intensifying almost on a daily basis.
Asian International Arbitration Journal (Singapore)
Leading journal on issues in international commercial arbitration in the Asia-Pacific region, published in collaboration with the Singapore International Arbitration Centre (SIAC) and backed by a panel of distinguished Asian-focused advisers.
Practical ‘how-to’ guidance on, e.g., enforcing arbitration decisions and ensuring compliance.
Independent, neutral, and reliable coverage.
Notes on awards, legislation updates, and book reviews applicable to arbitration throughout Asia.
Contemporary Asia Arbitration Journal
Contemporary Asia Arbitration Journal (CAA) is co-published by the Arbitration Association of the Republic of China(CAA, Taipei) and the Asian Center for WTO & International Health Law and Policy, College of Law, National Taiwan University (ACWH). The CAA is to be published semiannually, one in May and the other one in November. The aim of the journal is to encourage the publication of original papers covering international arbitration issues. The ultimate aims of the CAA are to provide profound and constructive perception on the practices directly and/or indirectly related to the contemporary arbitration issues, and in the same way, to contribute to the development of these practices.
Indian Journal of Arbitration Law
The Indian Journal of Arbitration Law (IJAL) is a biannual, open-access, student-reviewed journal published by the Centre for Advanced Research and Training in Arbitration Law (CARTAL). It is the leading Indian journal on arbitration law, and an excellent source of reference in the field. It is indexed on numerous online legal databases including Kluwer Arbitration, Westlaw, HeinOnline and SCC Online.
The journal serves as a platform for understanding existing trends as well as setting out new ideas. Each issue of IJAL covers topical developments as well as topics of permanent interest in the field of arbitration. IJAL endeavours to cover a wide range of subjects in the fields of international commercial arbitration and investment treaty arbitration. The journal also seeks to maintain a balance between practical and academic contributions and invites manuscripts from practitioners, academicians as well as law students. Each manuscript undergoes a rigorous three-stage blind review process conduced by the Board of Editors.
IJAL has the patronage of National Law University, Jodhpur, one of the premier law schools in India, which seeks to promote research and scholarship in specialized fields of law. In pursuance of this broader vision, the Centre for Advanced Research and Training in Arbitration Law was established at Jodhpur. The Centre combines student initiative and expert guidance from IJAL’s illustrious Board of Advisers to foster academic debate on contemporary topics related to arbitration and dispute resolution in general. As a part of this initiative, the Indian Journal of Arbitration Law was launched in 2012.
International Journal of Arab Arbitration
Dedicated to publishing in English all types of legal information, both related to arbitration on one side and the Arab World and Islamic Law on the other, so non-Arabic speakers can apprehend Arab arbitration in all of its aspects.
Scholarly articles, arbitration statutes and rules, and arbitral awards.
Case law issued by State courts from various Arab jurisdictions.
Includes non-Arab case law involving an Arab party.
Ongoing unified record of arbitration law and practice in the Arab world.
Annual Report [Permanent Court of Arbitration]
The PCA was the first permanent intergovernmental organization to provide a forum for the resolution of international disputes through arbitration and other peaceful means.
The PCA was established by the Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes, concluded at The Hague in 1899 during the first Hague Peace Conference. The Conference had been convened at the initiative of Czar Nicolas II of Russia “with the object of seeking the most objective means of ensuring to all peoples the benefits of a real and lasting peace, and above all, of limiting the progressive development of existing armaments.”
Among the aims of the Conference had been the strengthening of systems of international dispute resolution—especially international arbitration. The delegates at the Conference were mindful that, during the previous 100 years, there had been a number of successful international arbitrations, starting with the “Jay Treaty” Mixed Commissions at the end of the 18th century, and reaching a pinnacle with the Alabama arbitration in 1871-1872. In addition, the Institut de Droit International had adopted a code of procedure for arbitration in 1875.
This movement toward arbitration as a means of international dispute resolution was continued in 1899, and the most concrete achievement of the 1899 Conference was the establishment of the PCA as the first global mechanism for the settlement of disputes between states. Article 16 of the 1899 Convention recognized that “in questions of a legal nature, and especially in the interpretation or application of International Conventions” arbitration is the “most effective, and at the same time the most equitable, means of settling disputes which diplomacy has failed to settle”.
Yearbook Commercial Arbitration
Since 1976, the Yearbook Commercial Arbitration has been a major source of information concerning international arbitration jurisprudence. Published under the guidance of the General Editor, Professor Stephan Schill, and with the assistance of the Permanent Court of Arbitration, the Yearbook provides an annual update on key developments including: institutional and ad hoc arbitral awards, court decisions on arbitration from around the world, court decisions on major multilateral arbitration conventions, commentary on the court decisions on the New York Convention 1958, updates on developments in arbitration law and practice, an investment treaty awards and decisions digest and a bibliography of the latest texts.
