The Israeli Supreme Court DatabaseThe Israeli Supreme Court Database is designed to serve as a definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the Court and its work. The Database contains over 70 pieces of information about each case opened by the Court (and decided by a panel of at least three judges) between 2010 and 2018. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the lawyer and parties to the suit, the legal issues in the case, and the votes of the Justices.
Versa - Opinions of the Supreme Court of IsraelAt a time when issues such as the place of religion in a democracy and the tradeoffs between liberty and security are of global concern, the decisions of the Israeli Supreme Court are an invaluable resource. Yet for several reasons – most obviously, the fact that they are written in a language relatively few people read – the Court’s decisions are too often overlooked. For more than two decades, the Friends of the Library of the Supreme Court of Israel has arranged for the translation into English, publication, and dissemination of some of the Court’s most significant decisions. Now the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law of Yeshiva University has launched the Israeli Supreme Court Project (ISCP) to continue and expand these efforts, increasing the visibility of and international engagement with the jurisprudence of the Israeli Supreme Court.
US Law
Bureau of Justice StatisticsThe Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) -
the United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics
BJS mission:
To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
Congressional Research Reports (CRS)This collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. By law, CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century.
The products in this collection were created for the sole purpose of supporting Congress in its legislative, oversight, and representational duties. New products are regularly produced to anticipate and respond to issues of interest to Congress on a timely basis. As these issues develop, so do our products, which may be updated to reflect new information, developments, and emergent needs of Congress. The products are not designed to provide comprehensive coverage of the academic literature or address issues that are outside the scope of congressional deliberations. They are marked as “new,” “updated,” or “archived” to indicate their status.
Constitutional LawLinks to U.S. and foreign constitutional resources, many in English translation, as well as case reports, books, journals, articles, and current commentary on constitutional law. Also includes links to research center sand organizations, reservists and newsgroups on the subject
Federal Judicial CenterThe Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the judicial branch of the U.S. government. The Center was established by Congress in 1967 (28 U.S.C. §§ 620–629). The Center collects and produces resources on the history of the federal courts, including judicial biographies, caseload data, the evolution of the courts’ structure and jurisdiction, and teaching materials.
Law Library of CongressThe Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
Legal Reports (Publications of the Law Library of Congress)The Law Library of Congress is proud to present the report, Lifecycle of Parliamentary Documents.
This report addresses the lifecycle of parliamentary documents in Australia, Canada, the
European Parliament, France, Germany, Israel, Japan, Portugal, Sweden, and the UK. The report contains individual jurisdictional surveys prepared by foreign law specialists in the Global
Legal Research Directorate of the Law Library of Congress based on researching legal sources published in the jurisdictions surveyed, where applicable in the native languages.
National Center of State CourtsNCSC is the organization courts turn to for authoritative knowledge and information, because its efforts are directed by collaborative work with the Conference of Chief Justices, the Conference of State Court Administrators, and other associations of judicial leaders.
Consequently, NCSC is able to return expertise to the courts in a variety of forms — from Web resources to hands-on assistance. State assessments pay for the distribution of information from knowledge analysts and online sources, available free of charge to state trial and appellate courts and their administrative offices.
To take advantage of tailored benefits, judges and court administrators can register for educational courses or contract with NCSC researchers and consultants for evaluation, assessment, and implementation of court improvement tools and methods. Here's more background on NCSC.
US Government Informationgovinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
United Kingdom Law
British and Irish Legal Information InstituteA public domain website that includes legislation and case law from England, Wales and Ireland. Dates of coverage depend on the title and source.
UK LegislationPublic General Actsof Parliament, full text from 1988- ; Local Acts published in full text from1991- ; full text of some earlier Acts also accessible. Also on this siteExplanatory Notes to Acts of the UK Parliament 1999- ; StatutoryInstruments and Draft Statutory Instruments, full text from 1987- ; searchengine for full text searches of Acts and SIs also available.
UK ParliamentOffers search capability ofParliamentary documents (i.e. bills, Hansards debates, order papers, selectcommittee reports, etc.) as well as general information.
European recommended sites
Council of EuropeThe Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation.
German Civil Code (English)Translation provided by the Langenscheidt Translation Service. Translation regularly updated by Neil Mussett and most recently by Samson Übersetzungen GmbH, Dr. Carmen v. Schöning.
German Criminal Code (English)The translation includes the amendment(s) to the Act by Article 6(18) of the Law of 10 October 2013 (Federal Law Gazette I p 3799)
Translations may not be updated at the same time as the German legal provisions displayed on this website. To compare with the current status of the German version, see http://www.gesetze-im-internet.de/stgb/BJNR001270871.html.
German Law ArchiveThe German Law Archive publishes cases, statutes, literature and bibliographies on German law in English language.
Legal Resources in EuropeA very comprehensive sitefor links to EU and European law. Included are links to Council of EuropeInstitutions, European Union sites, European Union Member States, otherEuropean Countries and Legal History, Roman Law
Legifrance (English)Legifrance is the French government entity responsible for publishing legal texts online.
It provides access, in French, to laws and decrees published in the Journal officiel, important court rulings, collective labour agreements, standards issued by European institutions, and international treaties and agreements to which France is a party.
Canadian Law
Canadian Legal Information InstitutePrimary legal documents (caselaw and legislation) accessible by jurisdiction and type. Dates of coverage depend on the title and source.
Australia and New Zealand Legal InstituteCommonwealth,state & territory case law and legislation, Australian journals and special databases including Australian human rights law, Law Reform Commission documents, treaties library.
International Court of JusticeThe creation of the Court represented the culmination of a long process of developing methods for the pacific settlement of international disputes, the origins of which can be traced back to classical times.
Article 33 of the United Nations Charter lists the following methods for the pacific settlement of disputes between States: negotiation, enquiry, mediation, conciliation, arbitration, judicial settlement, and resort to regional agencies or arrangements, to which should also be added good offices. Some of these methods involve the services of third parties. For example, mediation places the parties to a dispute in a position in which they can themselves resolve their dispute thanks to the intervention of a third party. Arbitration goes further, in the sense that the dispute is submitted to the decision or award of an impartial third party, so that a binding settlement can be achieved. The same is true of judicial settlement (the method applied by the International Court of Justice), except that a court is subject to stricter rules than an arbitral tribunal, particularly in procedural matters.
International Criminal CourtThe International Criminal Court (ICC) investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and the crime of aggression.
International Criminal Tribunal for the former YugoslaviaThe International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) was a United Nations court of law that dealt with war crimes that took place during the conflicts in the Balkans in the 1990s. During its mandate, which lasted from 1993 - 2017, it irreversibly changed the landscape of international humanitarian law, provided victims an opportunity to voice the horrors they witnessed and experienced, and proved that those suspected of bearing the greatest responsibility for atrocities committed during armed conflicts can be called to account.
This website stands as a monument to those accomplishments, and provides access to the wealth of resources that the Tribunal produced over the years.
International Tribunal for the Law of the SeaThe International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea is an independent judicial body established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to adjudicate disputes arising out of the interpretation and application of the Convention. The Tribunal is composed of 21 independent members, elected from among persons enjoying the highest reputation for fairness and integrity and of recognized competence in the field of the law of the sea.
National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceEstablished in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Permanent Court of International JusticeWorldCorts one of the most trusted sources of international case law on the internet as evidenced by frequent references to the website in academic articles, books, court documents and research guides.
Project on International Courts and TribunalsUndoubtedly,one of the most interesting novelties in the international criminal law field of the end of 1990s and beginning of the 2000s is the emergenceof a “third-generation” of criminal bodies (the Nurembergand Tokyo Tribunals being the first, and the ICTY, ICTR and ICC beingthe second generation), which are called, for lack of a better term, internationalized or hybrid criminal bodies.
Currently, the terms are used to indicate three jurisdictions created,between 1999 and 2001, in East Timor, Kosovo and Sierra Leone.
International Organizations
Council of EuropeThe Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation.
Hague Conference on Private International LawWith 83 Members (82 States and the European Union) representing all continents, the Hague Conference on Private International Law is a global inter-governmental organisation. A melting pot of different legal traditions, it develops and services multilateral legal instruments, which respond to global needs.
An increasing number of non-Member States are also becoming Parties to the Hague Conventions. As a result, the work of the Conference encompasses 150 countries around the world.
International Labour OrganizationThe only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States , to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
World Intellectual Property OrganizationIntellectual property (IP) refers to creations of the mind, such as inventions; literary and artistic works; designs; and symbols, names and images used in commerce.
IP is protected in law by, for example, patents, copyright and trademarks, which enable people to earn recognition or financial benefit from what they invent or create. By striking the right balance between the interests of innovators and the wider public interest, the IP system aims to foster an environment in which creativity and innovation can flourish.
World Trade OrganizationThere are a number of ways of looking at the World Trade Organization. It is an organization for trade opening. It is a forum for governments to negotiate trade agreements. It is a place for them to settle trade disputes. It operates a system of trade rules. Essentially, the WTO is a place where member governments try to sort out the trade problems they face with each other.
What we do
The WTO is run by its member governments. All major decisions are made by the membership as a whole, either by ministers (who usually meet at least once every two years) or by their ambassadors or delegates (who meet regularly in Geneva).
What we stand for
The WTO agreements are lengthy and complex because they are legal texts covering a wide range of activities. But a number of simple, fundamental principles run throughout all of these documents. These principles are the foundation of the multilateral trading system.
Recommended General Sites
American Society of International LawThe Electronic Resource Guide, often called the ERG, has been published online by ASIL since 1997. Systematically updated and continuously expanded, the ERG is designed to be used by students, teachers, practitioners, and researchers as a self-guided tour of relevant, quality, up-to-date online resources covering important areas of international law. The ERG also serves as a ready-made teaching tool at graduate and undergraduate levels.
Central Bank Legislation DatabaseThe International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
Created in 1945, the IMF is governed by and accountable to the 189 countries that make up its near-global membership.
The IMF's primary purpose is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system—the system of exchange rates and international payments that enables countries (and their citizens) to transact with each other. The Fund's mandate was updated in 2012 to include all macroeconomic and financial sector issues that bear on global stability.
Documents in Law, History and DiplomacyAn excellent resource for full-text documents in law, history, economics,politics, diplomacy and government from 4th century BC to the present. In addition, there are links to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.
European Environmental LawSince 1995, this website provides news and background information on the European Union, the protection of the environment and sustainable development in Europe and elsewhere. Our renewed website now also features information about our legal advice and consultancy activities. It will feature a renewed database with annotated environmental judgement of the Court of Justice of the European Union, the International Court of Justice, WTO Panels and the Appellate Body and some national judges. This database is being developed over the holiday season; it will thus not be accessible for a short while. Furthermore, you can find an introduction on the EU environmental law in various languages. The accompanying free EEL News Service will provide you regularly with regular updates, notably on new case law.
Find LawProvides links to resources by individual country name or by regional designation.
Intellectual PropertyWIPO Lex is a global database that provides free of charge access to legal information on intellectual property (IP) such as treaties administered by WIPO, other IP-related treaties, and laws and regulations of the Members States of WIPO, the United Nations and the World Trade Organization.
Legal Information Institute Cornell Law LibraryThe Legal Information Institute (LII), part of the Cornell Law School, is a very well organized and easy to use site "spotlighting" Supreme Court information and LII's "Law Events Recently in the News". A drop-down menu gives access to law by topic,constitutions and codes, court opinions, law by source or jurisdiction, an American Legal Ethics Library and a Social Security Library, directories(including links to journals) and more.
Legal ResourcesHG.org Law Center includes over 70 core areas of law which are then broken down into 260 sub areas of practice. The Center provides information on US (Federal and State), European and International Laws. An abundance of information dealing with the specific area of law is also integrated into each page, including: Publications, Articles, Organizations, Resources, Attorneys and Law Firms.
Roman Law ResourcesThis site provides information on Roman law sources and literature, the teaching of Roman law, and the persons who study Roman law. The site is available in English and German. Users are invited to submit to this site any materials or information which might interest other users.
Treaty LocatorA comprehensive online search service linking to full text of environmental treaties and providing information about national resource indicators.
World Law IndexWorld Law Index is part of the AustLII database. Provides links to foreign law by country name, type of legal resource, and subjects.
Legal Dictionaries and encyclopedias
Sources available for HUJI:
Encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justicehe Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige. This 10-volume work provides a complete and systematic coverage of the field that is unprecedented. The Encyclopedia "defines the field" through its choice of organization and entries. It identifies and brings emerging ideas and trends to the forefront. The Encyclopedia covers Criminology and Criminal Justice in ten broad areas, with leading researchers writing substantive contributions within their area of expertise:
Corrections and Criminal Justice Supervision in the Community.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of public international lawThe Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law is a comprehensive, analytical resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of international law. This definitive reference work contains both the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL)
Oxford Encyclopedia on CriminologyThe Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers.
Elgar Encyclopedia of Human RightsThe Elgar Encyclopedia of Human Rights is the most comprehensive reference work in the field of international human rights protection. Comprising over 340 entries, presented alphabetically, and available online and in print, the Encyclopedia addresses the full range of themes associated with the study and practice of human rights in the modern world. The topics range from substantive human rights to the relevant institutions, legal documents, conceptual and procedural issues of international law and a wide variety of thematic entries. The Encyclopedia has a distinct focus on international human rights law but at the same time is enriched by approaches from the broader social, sciences making it a truly unique and multi-disciplinary resource. The Encyclopedia boasts an incredibly diverse author team, featuring contributions from close to 300 scholars and practitioners from more than 65 countries, representing all regions of the world. Contributors include leading experts in their respective fields - among them current and former UN Special Rapporteurs and Independent Experts, renowned academics, judges of national, international and regional (human rights) courts, members of universal and regional human rights bodies, members of the International Law Commission, as well as legal advisors of foreign offices and international and non-governmental organizations. Key Features: Over 340 entries Entries organized alphabetically for ease of navigation Fully cross-referenced Entries written by practitioners and scholars from around the world World class editorial team.
Cardiff Index to Legal AbbreviationsThis database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
Foreign legal abbreviationswww.rechtsaf.be is the updated official abbreviations list that belongs to the booklet "Legal References and Abbreviations" (latest edition 2015) of the Interuniversity Committee of the same name, free online via www.veroutes-en-afkortingen.be
law.com DictionaryThereare three ways to use this American legal dictionary: look up a legal term, search for alegal term appearing within the definitions of other legal terms andbrowse the dictionary by first letter. Easy to use, with substantialdefinitions and examples with explanations.
