HeinOnlineHeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 201 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs and available at an affordable price, the wealth of material allows academic institutions, government agencies, law firms, court systems, corporations, and other organizations access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle or cost of using multiple research databases.
Every document across HeinOnline’s 100+ databases is an exact facsimile of its print counterpart, providing access to original, authoritative sources as well as the ease and speed that accompanies online searching. To improve the discoverability of relevant content, we’ve also incorporated unique artificial intelligence tools and research aids throughout our various databases.
LegalTracIdeal for students, law school faculty, and legal researchers, Gale OneFile: LegalTrac offers coverage of British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law. It provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. Mobile-responsive design ensures students can access the resources on the devices they use most.
Lexis +Lexis is the premier legal database containing more than 60,000 legal, news and business sources. Lexis gives you content for more than 40 areas of legal practice including banking and financial services, energy and utilities, insurance, labor and employment, mergers and acquisitions, real property, securities, intellectual property, tax and many more. Lexis has access to federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, international materials, and a variety of secondary resources including reference materials, law journals, treatises, and newspapers. Lexis allows one to easily search your way—by entering a citation, terms and connectors, a natural language search, by using document parts (segments) in a form-based approach or by going right to a topic, practice area or jurisdiction. Shepard’s® Citations Service is only available on Lexis. Shepard’s® Citations Service is the market-leading citator for comprehensive cite analysis. Shepard’s® on Lexis provide a full spectrum of editorial analysis that includes negative and positive treatments, so a law student/legal professional can confidently point to cases that strengthen their arguments. Lexis offers work folders and alerts. Work folders allows you to organize and store relevant legal research results in one place. Alerts allows you to stay on top of the latest changes in a publication or your search results—covering cases, topics, Shepard’® analysis, pending legislation, news and more.
Westlaw USAccess the most comprehensive and up-to-date collection of US legal information, conforming to rigorous editorial standards. Rely on the most up-to-date and organized collections of caselaw, statutes, and regulations regularly vetted by a team of expert attorney-editors. Work confidently with the ability to quickly verify whether a case, statute, or other legal authority is still good law. Get up to speed in new areas of the law or revisit familiar ones with encyclopedias, journals, law reviews, and more. Access to International Legal materials.
Westlaw (UK)Westlaw UK is an online legal information service which provides full text access to UK case law, legislation, legal journals, commentary, and current awareness alerts, as well as EU legal materials.
Vlex JustisvLex has bought together thousands of data sources from around the world to offer its customers authoritative and up-to-date legal content. Today, vLex is the exclusive provider of Irwin Law books online. It is also the first service to receive Supreme Court cases from Ireland, and the only provider of Caribbean case law from CariLaw. vLex also houses some of the world’s largest collections of legal information, all on a single service.
Beck-online : die Datenbank (in German) (works only with RUMBA)An online database of German law, which includes full texts of legal documents including legislation, case law, and secondary sources including commentaries published in print, magazine articles, and monographs published by Beck. Database is in German.
Proquest Criminal JusticeCriminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. With coverage from 1981 – current.
APA PsycnetAPA PsycNet is the only search platform designed specifically to deliver APA content. APA understands the research needs of behavioral and social scientists, and our platform accommodates those needs. APA PsycNet delivers precise results with a dedication to scholarly and scientific excellence.
This powerful platform is engineered to prepare students for a future in psychology and to ensure researchers maintain access to critical content to exchange and elevate knowledge to advance the field. Search and access over 5.4 million records across all of APA’s electronic resources. Includes information on topics in Criminology.
HeinOnline’s Criminal Justice & CriminologyHeinOnline is pleased to introduce Criminal Justice & Criminology, your must-have resource for researching criminal behavior, the criminal justice system, and the societal impact of crime. This revamped database is included in most Core and Academic subscription packages.
If you’re interested in forensic science, law enforcement, criminal investigations, criminal justice policy, prison reform, or even if you’re just a true-crime fan, then this database is for you.
SAGE Criminology and Criminal JusticeSAGE’s Criminology and Criminal Justice portfolio emphasizes connecting theory and research to real-life practice, with journals, books, and digital products that represent the work of some of the most influential minds in the field.
The Knesset - Research and Information CenterThe Knesset Research and Information Center has produced more than 6,000 papers, most of which are available in Hebrew on the RIC Hebrew website.
A number of the RIC papers that are of special relevance on an international level have been translated into English and appear below (in descending chronological order) with a link to the full text translation.
Database of the Supreme CourtThe Supreme Court in Jerusalem is the highest court of Israel and the final court of appeals. The Court consists of 15 Justices and two Registrars. The head of the Supreme Court and of the whole judicial system is the President of the Supreme Court. Justice Esther Hayut currently serves in this position.
Under Section 20(b) of Basic Law: the Judiciary: "A rule established in the Supreme Court shall bind every court, save the Supreme Court". This section expresses the principle of binding precedent (vis-à-vis lower courts) and the principle that the Supreme Court is not bound by its precedents and can deviate from them.
Jewish Law - משפט עברי
Online Responsa ProjectThe Responsa Project began in 1963 at the Weizmann Institute. Over the years it migrated to Bar Ilan University. An early version of the system was already running in 1967.
In the first stages of the project, we decided to focus on the Responsa literature. Jews have traditionally asked their local rabbis for advice on almost every subject. Many of the resulting questions and answers were collected in books. These responsa accordingly contain numerous halachic, historical, sociological and economic data which reflect approximately one thousand years of the Jewish life. Due to the quantity of this material, a special committee was established to set priorities about which texts to include in the database, in light of their relevance, scope and accessibility.
Data entry has been going on for more than thirty years. Initially the system ran in batch mode on an IBM mainframe. Later, from 1979, it also became usable in a time-sharing mode from terminals on the Bar-Ilan campus, as well as from a growing number of terminals off-campus, even from outside Israel. At that time this was no small technological feat.
In 1990, following the development of the CD-ROM, the immense database was compressed into a single compact disk, and presently the system can be installed on almost any personal computer. Version 1.0 of the new system was completed in late 1992, while the online version was released in 2007.
RAMBIRAMBI – The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies – was founded by Dr. Issachar Joel in 1966. It is a selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
RAMBI is based largely on the collections of the National Library. The articles listed in RAMBI are collected from thousands of journals, in print or electronic, from collections of articles and from offprints sent by researchers.
RAMBI refers to articles in Hebrew, Latin or Cyrillic letters. The database is updated on a daily basis. By the end of 2013 RAMBI included about 350,000 records, from about 21,000 different sources.
The Jewish Legal Heritage SocietyThe goal of The Jewish Legal Heritage Society is to promote the understanding of Jewish law and its contribution to modern society. From Biblical times to the present, Jewish law has been a vital and dynamic force in the cultural and moral development of the Jewish people and society. This is true not only in Israel itself, but throughout the Jewish communities in the Diaspora. Jewish legal tradition has and continues to play an important role throughout the world. Today, its unique evolution, its continued refinement, and its unsurpassed sensitivity to the values of justice and morality have resulted in it having a significant role in modern jurisprudence throughout the world, and has had profound influence on most all legal systems of the world, from ancient times until today. In the Jewish people's quest to fashion a humanistic Israeli policy rooted in the fundamental values and principles of our Jewish cultural heritage, the Jewish legal tradition plays a pivotal role. The Jewish Legal Heritage Society (JLHS) is dedicated to building a modern democratic society guided by the rich traditions of Jewish law. We believe that the only way of meeting this challenge is by working toward this goal within a contemporary pluralistic framework. We believe that the treasures of the Jewish legal tradition are the shared heritage of the entire Jewish nation, and as such, it is a primary goal of The Jewish Legal Heritage Society to acquaint and educate the broadest possible audience. In its efforts to introduce Jewish law to the public, The Jewish Legal Heritage Society devotes special attention to those areas of law which relate to moral and cultural values. Once the law of the entire Jewish people, Jewish law has reemerged to play a formative role in the Israeli legal system. Not surprisingly, since the inception of Israeli law it has founded numerous legal precedents originating in Jewish legal tradition. Similarly, on numerous occasions, the Knesset has adopted both the terminology and substance of Jewish law in its legislation. For example, the Bailees Law, the Copyright Law, and the Criminal Registration Law are each patterned after Jewish law in its traditional formulation.
Talmud Yerushalmi Citation Database (works only with RUMBA)The Talmud Yerushalmi offers a searchable of quotes of Talmud Yerushalmi in medieval and earlier authors; references to academic and rabbinic research and references to published fragments.
Hebrew BooksOver 40000 Seforim/Hebrew books for Free in PDF Format. Rambam, Shas, Meforshim in text format.
Arbitration - בוררות
Kluwer ArbitrationKluwer Arbitration covers both primary and secondary resources. The database contains the major international agreements, rules, and institutional information available in current international arbitration and investment arbitration. The database includes case law of awards, notes, commentary, institutional rules, model clauses from leading publications, book reviews, organizations, national laws and national rules of several countries, events, newsletter, blogs, and even some submissions or interim orders under various arbitral regimes related to international arbitration and investment arbitration.
Transnational dispute management : TDMTDM is a peer-review online journal publishing about various aspects of international arbitration with a special focus on investment arbitration. Since the first issue was published in 2004 it has gained popularity among a large number of law firms, academics and other professionals in the field of arbitration.
Investment arbitration reporterElectronic news publication that tracks, reports, and analyses key developments in the field of international investment law. IAReporter helps a broad range of readers - including lawyers, academics and government officials - stay abreast of the latest legal developments and policy trends in investment treaty arbitration.
General - כללי
InCite Journal citation reportsJournal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.
JstorJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
We help you explore a wide range of scholarly content through a powerful research and teaching platform. We collaborate with the academic community to help libraries connect students and faculty to vital content while lowering costs and increasing shelf space, provide independent researchers with free and low-cost access to scholarship, and help publishers reach new audiences and preserve their content for future generations.
Oxford English DictionaryThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
ProQuest dissertations and thesesProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
ScopusScopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers and funders.
Scopus generates precise citation search results and automatically updated researcher and institution profiles, creating richer connections between people, published ideas, and organizations. In addition to protecting the integrity of the scholarly record, Scopus helps bolster institutional research performance, rank and reputation.
Social Sciences Research Network - SSRNResearch Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by distributing Submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of top quality research papers around the world. We now have hundreds of journals, publishers, and institutions in Partners in Publishing that provide working papers for distribution through SSRN's eLibrary and abstracts for publication in SSRN's electronic journals
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is the world’s most trusted publisher-independent global citation database. Guided by the legacy of Dr Eugene Garfield, inventor of the world’s first citation index, Web of Science is the most powerful research engine, delivering your library with best-in-class publication and citation data for confident discovery, access and assessment.
