Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Faculty of Medicine - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology: Barenholz Chezy

Researchers

 Last updated June 2021 - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 

List of Publications

(1) Schilt Y, Berman T, Wei X, Nativ-Roth E, Barenholz Y, Raviv U. Effect of the ammonium salt anion on the structure of doxorubicin complex and PEGylated liposomal doxorubicin nanodrugs. Biochim Biophys Acta Gen Subj 2021;1865(5).

(2) Bavli Y, Rabie M, Fellig Y, Nevo Y, Barenholz Y. Liposomal bupivacaine (Bupigel) demonstrates minimal local nerve toxicity in a rabbit functional model. Pharmaceutics 2021;13(2):1-17.

(3) Nordström R, Zhu L, Härmark J, Levi-Kalisman Y, Koren E, Barenholz Y, et al. Quantitative cryo-tem reveals new structural details of doxil-like pegylated liposomal doxorubicin formulation. Pharmaceutics 2021;13(1):1-19.

(4) Klein Y, Fleissig O, Polak D, Barenholz Y, Mandelboim O, Chaushu S. Immunorthodontics: in vivo gene expression of orthodontic tooth movement. Sci Rep 2020;10(1).

(5) Chen E, Chen B-, Su Y-, Chang Y-, Cheng T-, Barenholz Y, et al. Premature Drug Release from Polyethylene Glycol (PEG)-Coated Liposomal Doxorubicin via Formation of the Membrane Attack Complex. ACS Nano 2020;14(7):7808-7822.

(6) Bavli Y, Chen B-, Roffler SR, Dobrovolskaia MA, Elnekave E, Ash S, et al. PEGylated Liposomal Methyl Prednisolone Succinate does not Induce Infusion Reactions in Patients: A correlation between in vitro immunological and in vivo clinical studies. Molecules 2020;25(3).

(7) Singh MS, Goldsmith M, Thakur K, Chatterjee S, Landesman-Milo D, Levy T, et al. An ovarian spheroid based tumor model that represents vascularized tumors and enables the investigation of nanomedicine therapeutics. Nanoscale 2020;12(3):1894-1903.

(8) Even-Or O, Avniel-Polak S, Barenholz Y, Nussbaum G. The cationic liposome CCS/C adjuvant induces immunity to influenza independently of the adaptor protein MyD88. Hum Vaccines Immunother 2020;16(12):3146-3154.

(9) Gawne PJ, Clarke F, Turjeman K, Cope AP, Long NJ, Barenholz Y, et al. PET imaging of liposomal glucocorticoids using 89Zr-oxine: Theranostic applications in inflammatory arthritis. Theranostics 2020;10(9):3867-3879.

(10) Goldmann O, Cern A, Muesken M, Rohde M, Weiss W, Barenholz Y, et al. Liposomal mupirocin holds promise for systemic treatment of invasive Staphylococcus aureus infections. J Control Release 2019;316:292-301.

(11) Shaltiel L, Shemesh A, Raviv U, Barenholz Y, Levi-Kalisman Y. Synthesis and Characterization of Thiolate-Protected Gold Nanoparticles of Controlled Diameter. J Phys Chem C 2019;123(46):28486-28493.

(12) Kozma GT, Mészáros T, Vashegyi I, Fülöp T, Örfi E, Dézsi L, et al. Pseudo-anaphylaxis to Polyethylene Glycol (PEG)-Coated Liposomes: Roles of Anti-PEG IgM and Complement Activation in a Porcine Model of Human Infusion Reactions. ACS Nano 2019;13(8):9315-9324.

(13) Bavli Y, Winkler I, Chen BM, Roffler S, Cohen R, Szebeni J, et al. Doxebo (doxorubicin-free Doxil-like liposomes) is safe to use as a pre-treatment to prevent infusion reactions to PEGylated nanodrugs. J Control Release 2019;306:138-148.

(14) Abdelrehim A, Shaltiel L, Zhang L, Barenholz Y, High S, Harris LK. The use of tail-anchored protein chimeras to enhance liposomal cargo delivery. PLoS ONE 2019;14(2).

(15) Turjeman K, Yanay N, Elbaz M, Bavli Y, Gross M, Rabie M, et al. Liposomal steroid nano-drug is superior to steroids as-is in mdx mouse model of Duchenne muscular dystrophy. Nanomed Nanotechnol Biol Med 2019;16:34-44.

(16) Szebeni J, Simberg D, González-Fernández Á, Barenholz Y, Dobrovolskaia MA. Roadmap and strategy for overcoming infusion reactions to nanomedicines. Nat Nanotechnol 2018;13(12):1100-1108.

(17) Peretz Damari S, Shamrakov D, Varenik M, Koren E, Nativ-Roth E, Barenholz Y, et al. Practical aspects in size and morphology characterization of drug-loaded nano-liposomes. Int J Pharm 2018;547(1-2):648-655.

(18) Cern A, Connolly KL, Jerse AE, Barenholz Y. In vitro susceptibility of neisseria gonorrhoeae strains to mupirocin, an antibiotic reformulated for parenteral administration in nanoliposomes. Antimicrob Agents Chemother 2018;62(4).

(19) Wei X, Shamrakov D, Nudelman S, Peretz-Damari S, Nativ-Roth E, Regev O, et al. Cardinal Role of Intraliposome Doxorubicin-Sulfate Nanorod Crystal in Doxil Properties and Performance. ACS Omega 2018;3(3):2508-2517.

(20) Barenholz Y. Optimization of amphiphile-based colloidal carriers. Handbook of Nonmedical Applications of Liposomes: Volume III: From Design to Microreactors; 2018. p. 1-3.

(21) Barenholz Y, Lasic DD. Handbook of nonmedical applications of liposomes: Volume III: From design to microreactors. Handbook of Nonmedical Applications of Liposomes: Volume III: From Design to Microreactors; 2018. p. 1-358.

(22) Barenholz Y, Lasic DD. General preface. Handb of Nonmedical Applications of Liposomes: Volume III: From Des to Microreactors 2018:iii-iv.

(23) Barenholz Y, Lasic DD. Introduction to volume III. Handb of Nonmedical Applications of Liposomes: Volume III: From Des to Microreactors 2018:v.

(24) Lasic DD, Barenholz Y. Liposomes in catalysis. Handbook of Nonmedical Applications of Liposomes: Volume III: From Design to Microreactors; 2018. p. 237.

(25) Lasic DD, Barenholz Y. Nonlipid llposomes and nonliposomal lipid particles. Handbook of Nonmedical Applications of Liposomes: Volume III: From Design to Microreactors; 2018. p. 95.

(26) Barenholz Y, Lasic DD. An overview of liposome scaled-up production and quality control. Handbook of Nonmedical Applications of Liposomes: Volume III: From Design to Microreactors; 2018. p. 23-30.

(27) Neun BW, Barenholz Y, Szebeni J, Dobrovolskaia MA. Understanding the role of anti-PEG antibodies in the complement activation by Doxil in vitro. Molecules 2018;23(7).

(28) Mészáros T, Kozma GT, Shimizu T, Miyahara K, Turjeman K, Ishida T, et al. Involvement of complement activation in the pulmonary vasoactivity of polystyrene nanoparticles in pigs: Unique surface properties underlying alternative pathway activation and instant opsonization. Int J Nanomed 2018;13:6345-6357.

(29) Cedrone E, Neun BW, Rodriguez J, Vermilya A, Clogston JD, McNeil SE, et al. Anticoagulants influence the performance of in vitro assays intended for characterization of nanotechnology-based formulations. Molecules 2018;23(1).

(30) Wei X, Patil Y, Ohana P, Amitay Y, Shmeeda H, Gabizon A, et al. Characterization of Pegylated Liposomal Mitomycin C Lipid-Based Prodrug (Promitil) by High Sensitivity Differential Scanning Calorimetry and Cryogenic Transmission Electron Microscopy. Mol Pharm 2017;14(12):4339-4345.

(31) Andriyanov AV, Portnoy E, Koren E, Inesa S, Eyal S, Goldberg SN, et al. Therapeutic efficacy of combined PEGylated liposomal doxorubicin and radiofrequency ablation: Comparing single and combined therapy in young and old mice. J Control Release 2017;257:2-9.

(32) Cern A, Marcus D, Tropsha A, Barenholz Y, Goldblum A. New drug candidates for liposomal delivery identified by computer modeling of liposomes' remote loading and leakage. J Control Release 2017;252:18-27.

(33) Anchordoquy TJ, Barenholz Y, Boraschi D, Chorny M, Decuzzi P, Dobrovolskaia MA, et al. Mechanisms and Barriers in Cancer Nanomedicine: Addressing Challenges, Looking for Solutions. ACS Nano 2017;11(1):12-18.

(34) Turjeman K, Barenholz Y. Liposomal nano-drugs based on amphipathic weak acid steroid prodrugs for treatment of inflammatory diseases. J Drug Targeting 2016;24(9):805-820.

(35) Shmeeda H, Amitay Y, Gorin J, Tzemach D, Mak L, Stern ST, et al. Coencapsulation of alendronate and doxorubicin in pegylated liposomes: a novel formulation for chemoimmunotherapy of cancer. J Drug Targeting 2016;24(9):878-889.

(36) Moallem E, Koren E, Ulmansky R, Pizov G, Barlev M, Barenholz Y, et al. A liposomal steroid nano-drug for treating systemic lupus erythematosus. Lupus 2016;25(11):1209-1216.

(37) Wei X, Cohen R, Barenholz Y. Insights into composition/structure/function relationships of Doxil® gained from "high-sensitivity" differential scanning calorimetry. Eur J Pharm Biopharm 2016;104:260-270.

(38) Cern A, Michael-Gayego A, Bavli Y, Koren E, Goldblum A, Moses AE, et al. Nano-mupirocin: Enabling the parenteral activity of mupirocin. Eur J Nanomed 2016;8(3):139-149.

(39) Tinkle S, McNeil SE, Mühlebach S, Bawa R, Borchard G, Barenholz Y, et al. Nanomedicines: Addressing the scientific and regulatory gap. Handbook of Clinical Nanomedicine: Law, Business, Regulation, Safety, and Risk; 2016. p. 413-470.

(40) Barenholz Y. Amphipathic weak base loading into preformed liposomes having a transmembrane ammonium ion gradient: From the bench to approved doxil. Liposome Technology: Third Edition; 2016. p. 1-25.

(41) Szebeni J, Muggia F, Barenholz Y. Case study: complement activation related hypersensitivity reactions to pegylated liposomal doxorubicin - experimental and clinical evidence, mechanisms and approaches to inhibition. Handbook of Immunological Properties of Engineered Nanomaterials: Second Edition; 2016. p. 331-361.

(42) Barenholz Y. Doxil®: The first fda-approved nanodrug-from an idea to a product (January 2015 update). Handbook of Clinical Nanomedicine: Nanoparticles, Imaging, Therapy and Clinical Applications; 2016. p. 827-906.

(43) Barenholz YC. Doxils - the first fda-approved nano-drug: From basics via cmc, cell culture and animal studies to clinical use. RSC Drug Discov Ser 2016;2016-January(51):315-345.

(44) Bawa R, Barenholz Y, Owen A. The challenge of regulating nanomedicine: Key issues. RSC Drug Discov Ser 2016;2016-January(51):290-314.

(45) Schilt Y, Berman T, Wei X, Barenholz Y, Raviv U. Using solution X-ray scattering to determine the high-resolution structure and morphology of PEGylated liposomal doxorubicin nanodrugs. Biochim Biophys Acta Gen Subj 2016;1860(1):108-119.

(46) Turovsky T, Khalfin R, Kababya S, Schmidt A, Barenholz Y, Danino D. Celecoxib Encapsulation in β-Casein Micelles: Structure, Interactions, and Conformation. Langmuir 2015;31(26):7183-7192.

(47) Turjeman K, Bavli Y, Kizelsztein P, Schilt Y, Allon N, Katzir TB, et al. Nano-drugs based on nano sterically stabilized liposomes for the treatment of inflammatory neurodegenerative diseases. PLoS ONE 2015;10(7).

(48) Silverman L, Barenholz Y. In vitro experiments showing enhanced release of doxorubicin from Doxil® in the presence of ammonia may explain drug release at tumor site. Nanomed Nanotechnol Biol Med 2015;11(7):1841-1850.

(49) Shemi A, Khvalevsky EZ, Gabai RM, Domb A, Barenholz Y. Multistep, effective drug distribution within solid tumors. Oncotarget 2015;6(37):39564-39577.

(50) Perlstein H, Turovsky T, Gimeson P, Cohen R, Rubinstein A, Danino D, et al. Thermotropic behavior of celecoxib-loaded beta-casein micelles: Relevance to the improved bioavailability. Eur J Nanomed 2015;7(4):303-312.

(51) Andriyanov AV, Koren E, Barenholz Y, Goldberg SN. Therapeutic efficacy of combining PEGylated liposomal doxorubicin and radiofrequency (RF) ablation: Comparison between slow-drug-releasing, non-thermosensitive and fast-drug-releasing, thermosensitive nano-liposomes. PLoS ONE 2014;9(5).

(52) Bavli D, Emanuel N, Barenholz Y. Real-time monitoring of E. coli O157 and Salmonella enterica serovar Typhimurium in water using ultrasound and latex-based immunoassay. Anal Methods 2014;6(2):395-403.

(53) Cern A, Nativ-Roth E, Goldblum A, Barenholz Y. Effect of solubilizing agents on mupirocin loading into and release from PEGylated nanoliposomes. J Pharm Sci 2014;103(7):2131-2138.

(54) Cern A, Barenholz Y, Tropsha A, Goldblum A. Computer-aided design of liposomal drugs: In silico prediction and experimental validation of drug candidates for liposomal remote loading. J Control Release 2014;173(1):125-131.

(55) Guo J, Waknine-Grinberg JH, Mitchell AJ, Barenholz Y, Golenser J. Reduction of experimental cerebral malaria and its related proinflammatory responses by the novel liposome-based β -methasone nanodrug. BioMed Res Int 2014;2014.

(56) Perlstein H, Bavli Y, Turovsky T, Rubinstein A, Danino D, Stepensky D, et al. Beta-casein nanocarriers of celecoxib for improved oral bioavailability. Eur J Nanomed 2014;6(4):217-226.

(57) Tinkle S, Mcneil SE, Mühlebach S, Bawa R, Borchard G, Barenholz YC, et al. Nanomedicines: Addressing the scientific and regulatory gap. Ann New York Acad Sci 2014;1313(1):35-56.

(58) Cohen R, Steiner A, Kanaan H, Barenholz Y. Chemical and physical characterization of remotely loaded bupivacaine liposomes: Comparison between large multivesicular vesicles and small unilamellar vesicles. J Mater Chem B 2013;1(36):4619-4627.

(59) Waknine-Grinberg JH, Even-Chen S, Avichzer J, Turjeman K, Bentura-Marciano A, Haynes RK, et al. Glucocorticosteroids in Nano-Sterically Stabilized Liposomes Are Efficacious for Elimination of the Acute Symptoms of Experimental Cerebral Malaria. PLoS ONE 2013;8(8).

(60) Regev O, Barenholz Y, Peretz S, Zucker D, Bavli-Felsen Y. Can carbon nanotube-liposome conjugates address the issues associated with carbon nanotubes in drug delivery? Future Med Chem 2013;5(5):503-505.

(61) Even-or O, Samira S, Ellis R, Kedar E, Barenholz Y. Adjuvanted influenza vaccines. Expert Rev Vaccines 2013;12(9):1095-1108.

(62) Barenholz Y. Doxil® - The first FDA-approved nano-drug: Lessons learned. J Control Release 2012;160(2):117-134.

(63) Barenholz Y, Peer D. Liposomes and other assemblies as drugs and nano-drugs: From basic and translational research to the clinics. J Control Release 2012;160(2):115-116.

(64) Karchemski F, Zucker D, Barenholz Y, Regev O. Carbon nanotubes-liposomes conjugate as a platform for drug delivery into cells. J Control Release 2012;160(2):339-345.

(65) Cohen R, Kanaan H, Grant GJ, Barenholz Y. Prolonged analgesia from Bupisome and Bupigel formulations: From design and fabrication to improved stability. J Control Release 2012;160(2):346-352.

(66) Zucker D, Andriyanov AV, Steiner A, Raviv U, Barenholz Y. Characterization of PEGylated nanoliposomes co-remotely loaded with topotecan and vincristine: Relating structure and pharmacokinetics to therapeutic efficacy. J Control Release 2012;160(2):281-289.

(67) Cern A, Golbraikh A, Sedykh A, Tropsha A, Barenholz Y, Goldblum A. Quantitative structure - Property relationship modeling of remote liposome loading of drugs. J Control Release 2012;160(2):147-157.

(68) Emanuel N, Rosenfeld Y, Cohen O, Applbaum YH, Segal D, Barenholz Y. A lipid-and-polymer-based novel local drug delivery system - BonyPid ™: From physicochemical aspects to therapy of bacterially infected bones. J Control Release 2012;160(2):353-361.

(69) Bachar M, Mandelbaum A, Portnaya I, Perlstein H, Even-Chen S, Barenholz Y, et al. Development and characterization of a novel drug nanocarrier for oral delivery, based on self-assembled β-casein micelles. J Control Release 2012;160(2):164-171.

(70) Szebeni J, Bedocs P, Urbanics R, Bünger R, Rosivall L, Tóth M, et al. Prevention of infusion reactions to PEGylated liposomal doxorubicin via tachyphylaxis induction by placebo vesicles: A porcine model. J Control Release 2012;160(2):382-387.

(71) Ulmansky R, Turjeman K, Baru M, Katzavian G, Harel M, Sigal A, et al. Glucocorticoids in nano-liposomes administered intravenously and subcutaneously to adjuvant arthritis rats are superior to the free drugs in suppressing arthritis and inflammatory cytokines. J Control Release 2012;160(2):299-305.

(72) Barenholz Y, Peer D. Liposomes, lipid biophysics, and sphingolipid research: From basic to translation research. Chem Phys Lipids 2012;165(4):363-364.

(73) Even-Chen S, Cohen R, Barenholz Y. Factors affecting DNA binding and stability of association to cationic liposomes. Chem Phys Lipids 2012;165(4):414-423.

(74) Szebeni J, Bedocs P, Rozsnyay Z, Weiszhár Z, Urbanics R, Rosivall L, et al. Liposome-induced complement activation and related cardiopulmonary distress in pigs: Factors promoting reactogenicity of Doxil and AmBisome. Nanomed Nanotechnol Biol Med 2012;8(2):176-184.

(75) Barenholz YC. Doxil® - The first FDA-approved nano-drug: From an idea to a product. Handbook of Harnessing Biomaterials in Nanomedicine; 2012. p. 335-398.

(76) Szebeni J, Barenholz YC. Complement activation, immunogenicity, and immune suppression as potential side effects of liposomes. Handbook of Harnessing Biomaterials in Nanomedicine; 2012. p. 309-334.

(77) Barenholz Y, Barenholz C. Nanomedicine: Shake up the drug containers. Nat Nanotechnol 2012;7(8):483-484.

(78) Emanuel N, Segal D, Rosenfeld Y, Cohen O, Applbaum YH, Barenholz Y. BonyPid™: A lipid-and-polymer-based novel local drug delivery system Physicochemical aspects and therapy. Eur Cells and Mater 2012;24(SUPPL. 1):42.

(79) Acoustic radiation force for rapid detection of particles in biological liquids. Proceedings of Meetings on Acoustics; 2011.

(80) Nadler-Milbauer M, Apter L, Haupt Y, Haupt S, Barenholz Y, Minko T, et al. Synchronized release of Doxil and Nutlin-3 by remote degradation of polysaccharide matrices and its possible use in the local treatment of colorectal cancer. J Drug Targeting 2011;19(10):859-873.

(81) Avnir Y, Turjeman K, Tulchinsky D, Sigal A, Kizelsztein P, Tzemach D, et al. Fabrication principles and their contribution to the superior in vivo therapeutic efficacy of nano-liposomes remote loaded with glucocorticoids. PLoS ONE 2011;6(10).

(82) Szebeni J, Muggia F, Gabizon A, Barenholz Y. Activation of complement by therapeutic liposomes and other lipid excipient-based therapeutic products: Prediction and prevention. Adv Drug Deliv Rev 2011;63(12):1020-1030.

(83) Harel E, Rubinstein A, Nissan A, Khazanov E, Milbauer M, Barenholz Y, et al. Enhanced transferrin receptor expression by proinflammatory cytokines in enterocytes as a means for local delivery of drugs to inflamed gut mucosa. PLoS ONE 2011;6(9).

(84) Goldberg R, Schroeder A, Silbert G, Turjeman K, Barenholz Y, Klein J. Boundary lubricants with exceptionally low friction coefficients based on 2D close-packed phosphatidylcholine liposomes. Adv Mater 2011;23(31):3517-3521.

(85) Goldberg R, Schroeder A, Barenholz Y, Klein J. Interactions between adsorbed hydrogenated soy phosphatidylcholine (HSPC) vesicles at physiologically high pressures and salt concentrations. Biophys J 2011;100(10):2403-2411.

(86) Barenholz Y, Bombelli C, Bonicelli MG, Profio PD, Giansanti L, Mancini G, et al. Influence of lipid composition on the thermotropic behavior and size distribution of mixed cationic liposomes. J Colloid Interface Sci 2011;356(1):46-53.

(87) Even-Or O, Joseph A, Itskovitz-Cooper N, Samira S, Rochlin E, Eliyahu H, et al. A new intranasal influenza vaccine based on a novel polycationic lipid-ceramide carbamoyl-spermine (CCS). II. Studies in mice and ferrets and mechanism of adjuvanticity. Vaccine 2011;29(13):2474-2486.

(88) Emanuel N, Segal D, Rosenfeld Y, Cohen O, Barenholz Y. The PolyPid - A novel local delivery system: From the physic-chemical aspects to innovative and superior therapeutic potential. Eur Cells and Mater 2011;21(SUPPL.2):17.

(89) Lahav J, Herzberg M, Barenholz YC, Cabilly S, Kotler Y. Vision in venture: angels of innovation. Interviewed by Catarina Wylie. Cell Cycle 2011;10(10):1505-1511.

(90) Ultrasonic food quality analyzer based on cylindrical standing waves. 20th International Congress on Acoustics 2010, ICA 2010 - Incorporating Proceedings of the 2010 Annual Conference of the Australian Acoustical Society; 2010.

(91) Schroeder A, Turjeman K, Schroeder JE, Leibergall M, Barenholz Y. Using liposomes to target infection and inflammation induced by foreign body injuries or medical implants. Expert Opin Drug Deliv 2010;7(10):1175-1189.

(92) Zucker D, Barenholz Y. Optimization of vincristine-topotecan combination - Paving the way for improved chemotherapy regimens by nanoliposomes. J Control Release 2010;146(3):326-333.

(93) Even-Or O, Samira S, Rochlin E, Balasingam S, Mann AJ, Lambkin-Williams R, et al. Immunogenicity, protective efficacy and mechanism of novel CCS adjuvanted influenza vaccine. Vaccine 2010;28(39):6527-6541.

(94) Waknine-Grinberg JH, Hunt N, Bentura-Marciano A, McQuillan JA, Chan H-, Chan W-, et al. Artemisone effective against murine cerebral malaria. Malaria J 2010;9(1).

(95) Khazanov E, Emmanuel N, Azab AK, Barenholz Y, Yavin E, Rubinstein A. Specific detection of gastric α-antitrypsin by immobilized trypsin on PolyHEMA films. Mol Pharm 2010;7(4):944-952.

(96) Verberne G, Schroeder A, Halperin G, Barenholz Y, Etsion I. Liposomes as potential biolubricant additives for wear reduction in human synovial joints. Wear 2010;268(7-8):1037-1042.

(97) Sivan S, Schroeder A, Verberne G, Merkher Y, Diminsky D, Priev A, et al. Liposomes act as effective biolubricants for friction reduction in human synovial joints. Langmuir 2010;26(2):1107-1116.

(98) Davidson EM, Barenholz Y, Cohen R, Haroutiunian S, Kagan L, Ginosar Y. High-dose bupivacaine remotely loaded into multivesicular liposomes demonstrates slow drug release without systemic toxic plasma concentrations after subcutaneous administration in humans. Anesth Analg 2010;110(4):1018-1023.

(99) Schroeder A, Kost J, Barenholz Y. Ultrasound, liposomes, and drug delivery: principles for using ultrasound to control the release of drugs from liposomes. Chem Phys Lipids 2009;162(1-2):1-16.

(100) Zucker D, Marcus D, Barenholz Y, Goldblum A. Liposome drugs' loading efficiency: A working model based on loading conditions and drug's physicochemical properties. J Control Release 2009;139(1):73-80.

(101) Surface active phospholipids as cartilage lubricants. 2008 Proceedings of the 9th Biennial Conference on Engineering Systems Design and Analysis; 2009.

(102) Kizelsztein P, Ovadia H, Garbuzenko O, Sigal A, Barenholz Y. Pegylated nanoliposomes remote-loaded with the antioxidant tempamine ameliorate experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis. J Neuroimmunol 2009;213(1-2):20-25.

(103) Tirosh B, Khatib N, Barenholz Y, Nissan A, Rubinstein A. Transferrin as a luminal target for negatively charged liposomes in the inflamed colonic mucosa. Mol Pharm 2009;6(4):1083-1091.

(104) Schroeder A, Honen R, Turjeman K, Gabizon A, Kost J, Barenholz Y. Ultrasound triggered release of cisplatin from liposomes in murine tumors. J Control Release 2009;137(1):63-68.

(105) Waknine-Grinberg JH, El-On J, Barak V, Barenholz Y, Golenser J. The immunomodulatory effect of Sambucol on leishmanial and malarial infections. Planta Med 2009;75(6):581-586.

(106) Nadler-Milbauer M, Azab AK, Kleinstern J, Barenholz Y, Rubinstein A. In vitro and in vivo analysis of pulsatile biodegradation of mucoadhesive hydrogels. J Drug Deliv Sci Technol 2009;19(4):247-255.

(107) Schroeder A, Sigal A, Turjeman K, Barenholz Y. Using PEGylated nano-liposomes to target tissue invaded by a foreign body. J Drug Targeting 2008;16(7-8):591-595.

(108) Khazanov E, Priev A, Shillemans JP, Barenholz Y. Physicochemical and biological characterization of ceramide-containing liposomes: Paving the way to ceramide therapeutic application. Langmuir 2008;24(13):6965-6980.

(109) Shmeeda HR, Golden EB, Barenholz Y. Membrane Lipids and Aging. Biomembranes, Biomembranes: Structural and Functional Aspects; 2008. p. 1-82.

(110) Avnir Y, Ulmansky R, Wasserman V, Even-Chen S, Broyer M, Barenholz Y, et al. Amphipathic weak acid glucocorticoid prodrugs remote-loaded into sterically stabilized nanoliposomes evaluated in arthritic rats and in a Beagle dog: A novel approach to treating autoimmune arthritis. Arthritis Rheum 2008;58(1):119-129.

(111) Boktov J, Hirsch-Lerner D, Barenholz Y. Characterization of the interplay between the main factors contributing to lipoplex-mediated transfection in cell cultures. J Gene Med 2007;9(10):884-893.

(112) Eliyahu H, Joseph A, Schillemans JP, Azzam T, Domb AJ, Barenholz Y. Characterization and in vivo performance of dextran-spermine polyplexes and DOTAP/cholesterol lipoplexes administered locally and systemically. Biomaterials 2007;28(14):2339-2349.

(113) Szebeni J, Alving CR, Rosivall L, Bünger R, Baranyi L, Bedöcs P, et al. Animal models of complement-mediated hypersensitivity reactions to liposomes and other lipid-based nanoparticles. J Liposome Res 2007;17(2):107-117.

(114) Schroeder A, Avnir Y, Weisman S, Najajreh Y, Gabizon A, Talmon Y, et al. Controlling liposomal drug release with low frequency ultrasound: Mechanism and feasibility. Langmuir 2007;23(7):4019-4025.

(115) Wasserman V, Kizelsztein P, Garbuzenko O, Kohen R, Ovadia H, Tabakman R, et al. The antioxidant tempamine: In vitro antitumor and neuroprotective effects and optimization of liposomal encapsulation and release. Langmuir 2007;23(4):1937-1947.

(116) Lichtenberg D, Barenholz Y. Liposomes: Preparation, characterization, and preservation. Methods of Biochemical Analysis; 2006. p. 337-462.

(117) Khazanov E, Simberg D, Barenholz Y. Lipoplexes prepared from cationic liposomes and mammalian DNA induce CpG-independent, direct cytotoxic effects in cell cultures and in mice. J Gene Med 2006;8(8):998-1007.

(118) Najajreh Y, Khazanov E, Jawbry S, Ardeli-Tzaraf Y, Perez JM, Kasparkova J, et al. Cationic nonsymmetric transplatinum complexes with piperidinopiperidine ligands. Preparation, characterization, in vitro cytotoxicity, in vivo toxicity, and anticancer efficacy studies. J Med Chem 2006;49(15):4665-4673.

(119) Najajreh Y, Ardeli-Tzaraf Y, Kasparkova J, Heringova P, Prilutski D, Balter L, et al. Interactions of platinum complexes containing cationic, bicyclic, nonplanar piperidinopiperidine ligands with biological nucleophiles. J Med Chem 2006;49(15):4674-4683.

(120) Mitchell LA, Joseph A, Kedar E, Barenholz Y, Galun E. Mucosal immunization against hepatitis A: Antibody responses are enhanced by co-administration of synthetic oligodeoxynucleotides and a novel cationic lipid. Vaccine 2006;24(25):5300-5310.

(121) Joseph A, Itskovitz-Cooper N, Samira S, Flasterstein O, Eliyahu H, Simberg D, et al. A new intranasal influenza vaccine based on a novel polycationic lipid-ceramide carbamoyl-spermine (CCS). I. Immunogenicity and efficacy studies in mice. Vaccine 2006;24(18):3990-4006.

(122) Avnir Y, Barenholz Y. Erratum: pH determination by pyranine: Medium-related artifacts and their correction (Analytical Biochemistry (2005) 347 (34-41) DOI: 10.1016/j.ab.2005. 09.026). Anal Biochem 2006;351(2):317.

(123) Jubeh TT, Nadler-Milbauer M, Barenholz Y, Rubinstein A. Local treatment of experimental colitis in the rat by negatively charged liposomes of catalase, TMN and SOD. J Drug Targeting 2006;14(3):155-163.

(124) Eliyahu H, Joseph A, Azzam T, Barenholz Y, Domb AJ. Dextran-spermine-based polyplexes - Evaluation of transgene expression and of local and systemic toxicity in mice. Biomaterials 2006;27(8):1636-1645.

(125) Eliyahu H, Siani S, Azzam T, Domb AJ, Barenholz Y. Relationships between chemical composition, physical properties and transfection efficiency of polysaccharide-spermine conjugates. Biomaterials 2006;27(8):1646-1655.

(126) Meidan VM, Glezer J, Salomon S, Sidi Y, Barenholz Y, Cohen JS, et al. Specific lipoplex-mediated antisense against Bcl-2 in breast cancer cells: A comparison between different formulations. J Liposome Res 2006;16(1):27-43.

(127) Avnir Y, Barenholz Y. pH determination by pyranine: Medium-related artifacts and their correction. Anal Biochem 2005;347(1):34-41.

(128) Barenholz Y, Yarmut Y. Enzymatic phospholipid transesterification. Ind Bioprocess 2005;27(9):8-9.

(129) Simberg D, Weiss A, Barenholz Y. Reversible mode of binding of serum proteins to DOTAP/cholesterol lipoplexes: A possible explanation for intravenous lipofection efficiency. Hum Gene Ther 2005;16(9):1087-1096.

(130) Hirsch-Lerner D, Zhang M, Eliyahu H, Ferrari ME, Wheeler CJ, Barenholz Y. Effect of "helper lipid" on lipoplex electrostatics. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 2005;1714(2):71-84.

(131) Garbuzenko O, Barenholz Y, Priev A. Effect of grafted PEG on liposome size and on compressibility and packing of lipid bilayer. Chem Phys Lipids 2005;135(2):117-129.

(132) Baru M, Carmel-Goren L, Barenholz Y, Dayan I, Ostropolets S, Slepoy I, et al. Factor VIII efficient and specific non-covalent binding to PEGylated liposomes enables prolongation of its circulation time and haemostatic efficacy. Thromb Haemost 2005;93(6):1061-1068.

(133) Najajreh Y, Prilutski D, Ardeli-Tzaraf Y, Perez JM, Khazanov E, Barenholz Y, et al. Structure and unique interactions with DNA of a cationic Trans-platinum complex with the nonplanar bicyclic piperidinopiperidine ligand. Angew Chem Int Ed 2005;44(19):2885-2887.

(134) Garbuzenko O, Zalipsky S, Qazen M, Barenholz Y. Electrostatics of PEGylated micelles and liposomes containing charged and neutral lipopolymers. Langmuir 2005;21(6):2560-2568.

(135) Eliyahu H, Makovitzki A, Azzam T, Zlotkin A, Joseph A, Gazit D, et al. Novel dextran - Spermine conjugates as transfecting agents: Comparing water-soluble and micellar polymers. Gene Ther 2005;12(6):494-503.

(136) Eliyahu H, Barenholz Y, Domb AJ. Polymers for DNA delivery. Molecules 2005;10(1):34-64.

(137) Jubeh TT, Antler S, Haupt S, Barenholz Y, Rubinstein A. Local prevention of oxidative stress in the intestinal epithelium of the rat by adhesive liposomes of superoxide dismutase and tempamine. Mol Pharm 2005;2(1):2-11.

(138) Kalmanzon E, Rahamim Y, Carmeli S, Barenholz Y, Zlotkin E. Endogenous regulation of the functional duality of pahutoxin, a marine trunkfish surfactant. Toxicon 2004;44(8):939-942.

(139) Simberg D, Weisman S, Talmon Y, Barenholz Y. DOTAP (and other cationic lipids): Chemistry, biophysics, and transfection. Crit Rev Ther Drug Carrier Syst 2004;21(4):257-317.

(140) Grant GJ, Barenholz Y, Bolotin EM, Bansinath M, Turndorf H, Piskoun B, et al. A novel liposomal bupivacaine formulation to produce ultralong-acting analgesia. Anesthesiology 2004;101(1):133-137.

(141) Jubeh TT, Barenholz Y, Rubinstein A. Differential adhesion of normal and inflamed rat colonic mucosa by charged liposomes. Pharm Res 2004;21(3):447-453.

(142) Barenholz Y. Sphingomyelin and cholesterol: from membrane biophysics and rafts to potential medical applications. Subcell Biochem 2004;37:167-215.

(143) Samuni AM, Barenholz Y. Use of nitroxides to protect liposomes against oxidative damage. Meth Enzymol 2004;387:299-314.

(144) Weisman S, Hirsch-Lerner D, Barenholz Y, Talmon Y. Nanostructure of cationic lipid-oligonucleotide complexes. Biophys J 2004;87(1):609-614.

(145) Simberg D, Weisman S, Talmon Y, Faerman A, Shoshani T, Barenholz Y. The role of organ vascularization and lipoplex-serum initial contact in intravenous murine lipofection. J Biol Chem 2003;278(41):39858-39865.

(146) Ben-Yehuda A, Joseph A, Barenholz Y, Zeira E, Even-Chen S, Louria-Hayon I, et al. Immunogenicity and safety of a novel IL-2-supplemented liposomal influenza vaccine (INFLUSOME-VAC) in nursing-home residents. Vaccine 2003;21(23):3169-3178.

(147) Gabizon A, Shmeeda H, Barenholz Y. Pharmacokinetics of pegylated liposomal doxorubicin: Review of animal and human studies. Clin Pharmacokinet 2003;42(5):419-436.

(148) Zvulunov A, Cagnano E, Frankenburg S, Barenholz Y, Vardy D. Topical treatment of persistent cutaneous leishmaniasis with ethanolic lipid amphotericin B. Pediatr Infect Dis J 2003;22(6):567-569.

(149) Barenholz A, Fishel F, Yakir E, Gatt S, Barenholz Y, Bercovier H. Liposomes enhance bioremediation of oil-contaminated soil. J Liposome Res 2003;13(2):173-186.

(150) Barenholz Y. Relevancy of drug loading to liposomal formulation therapeutic efficacy. J Liposome Res 2003;13(1):1-8.

(151) Ben-Yehuda A, Joseph A, Zeira E, Even-Chen S, Louria-Hayon I, Babai I, et al. Immunogenicity and safety of a novel liposomal influenza subunit vaccine (INFLUSOME-VAC) in young adults. J Med Virol 2003;69(4):560-567.

(152) Samuni AM, Barenholz Y. Site-activity relationship of nitroxide radical's antioxidative effect. Free Radic Biol Med 2003;34(2):177-185.

(153) Kalmanzon E, Rahamim Y, Barenholz Y, Carmeli S, Zlotkin E. Receptor-mediated toxicity of pahutoxin, a marine trunkfish surfactant. Toxicon 2003;42(1):63-71.

(154) Shmeeda H, Even-Chen S, Honen R, Cohen R, Weintraub C, Barenholz Y. Enzymatic Assays for Quality Control and Pharmacokinetics of Liposome Formulations: Comparison with Nonenzymatic Conventional Methodologies. Methods Enzymol 2003;367:272-292.

(155) Khazanov E, Barenholz Y, Gibson D, Najajreh Y. Novel apoptosis-inducing trans-platinum piperidine derivatives: Synthesis and biological characterization. J Med Chem 2002;45(24):5196-5204.

(156) Joseph A, Louria-Hayon I, Plis-Finarov A, Zeira E, Zakay-Rones Z, Raz E, et al. Liposomal immunostimulatory DNA sequence (ISS-ODN): An efficient parenteral and mucosal adjuvant for influenza and hepatitis B vaccines. Vaccine 2002;20(27-28):3342-3354.

(157) Szebeni J, Baranyi L, Savay S, Milosevits J, Bunger R, Laverman P, et al. Role of complement activation in hypersensitivity reactions to Doxil and HYNIC PEG liposomes: Experimental and clinical studies. J Liposome Res 2002;12(1-2):165-172.

(158) Azzam T, Eliyahu H, Shapira L, Linial M, Barenholz Y, Domb AJ. Polysaccharide-oligoamine based conjugates for gene delivery. J Med Chem 2002;45(9):1817-1824.

(159) Priev A, Zalipsky S, Cohen R, Barenholz Y. Determination of critical micelle concentration of lipopolymers and other amphiphiles: Comparison of sound velocity and fluorescent measurements. Langmuir 2002;18(3):612-617.

(160) Barenholz Y. Cholesterol and other membrane active sterols: from membrane evolution to 'rafts'. Prog Lipid Res 2002;41(1):1-5.

(161) Eliyahu N, Servel N, Domb AJ, Barenholz Y. Magnetic properties of iron-containing particles in a quartz matrix after mechanochemical processing. Inorg Mater 2002;38(2):132-136.

(162) Eliyahu N, Servel N, Domb AJ, Barenholz Y. Lipoplex-induced hemagglutination: Potential involvement in intravenous gene delivery. Gene Ther 2002;9(13):850-858.

(163) Shmeeda H, Kaspler P, Shleyer J, Honen R, Horowitz M, Barenholz Y. Heat acclimation in rats: Modulation via lipid polyunsaturation. Am J Physiol Regul Integr Comp Physiol 2002;283(2 52-2):R389-R399.

(164) Cationic polysaccharides as vectors for gene delivery. American Chemical Society, Polymer Preprints, Division of Polymer Chemistry; 2002.

(165) Meidan VM, Glezer J, Amariglio N, Cohen JS, Barenholz Y. Oligonucleotide lipoplexes: The influence of oligonucleotide composition on complexation. Biochim Biophys Acta Gen Subj 2001;1568(3):177-182.

(166) Simberg D, Danino D, Talmon Y, Minsky A, Ferrari ME, Wheeler CJ, et al. Phase behavior, DNA ordering, and size instability of cationic lipoplexes: Relevance to optimal transfection activity. J Biol Chem 2001;276(50):47453-47459.

(167) Babai I, Barenholz Y, Zakay-Rones Z, Greenbaum E, Samira S, Hayon I, et al. A novel liposomal influenza vaccine (INFLUSOME-VAC) containing hemagglutinin-neuraminidase and IL-2 or GM-CSF induces protective anti-neuraminidase antibodies cross-reacting with a wide spectrum of influenza A viral strains. Vaccine 2001;20(3-4):505-515.

(168) Grant GJ, Barenholz Y, Piskoun B, Bansinath M, Turndorf H, Bolotin EM. DRV liposomal bupivacaine: Preparation, characterization, and in vivo evaluation in mice. Pharm Res 2001;18(3):336-343.

(169) Kerner M, Meyuhas O, Hirsch-Lerner D, Rosen LJ, Min Z, Barenholz Y. Interplay in lipoplexes between type of pDNA promoter and lipid composition determines transfection efficiency of human growth hormone in NIH3T3 cells in culture. Biochim Biophys Acta Mol Cell Biol Lipids 2001;1532(1-2):128-136.

(170) Barenholz Y. Liposome application: Problems and prospects. Curr Opin Colloid Interface Sci 2001;6(1):66-77.

(171) Szebeni J, Alving CR, Savay S, Barenholz Y, Priev A, Danino D, et al. Formation of complement-activating particles in aqueous solutions of Taxol: Possible role in hypersensitivity reactions. Int Immunopharmacol 2001;1(4):721-735.

(172) Peleg-Shulman T, Gibson D, Cohen R, Abra R, Barenholz Y. Characterization of sterically stabilized cisplatin liposomes by nuclear magnetic resonance. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 2001;1510(1-2):278-291.

(173) Kalmanzon E, Aknin-Herrman R, Rahamim Y, Carmeli S, Barenholz Y, Zlotkin E. Cooperative cocktail in a chemical defence mechanism of a trunkfish. Cell Mol Biol Lett 2001;6(4):971-984.

(174) Vardy D, Barenholz Y, Naftoliev N, Klaus S, Gilead L, Frankenburg S. Efficacious topical treatment for human cutaneous leishmaniasis with ethanolic lipid amphotericin B. Trans R Soc Trop Med Hyg 2001;95(2):184-186.

(175) Even-Chen S, Barenholz Y. DOTAP cationic liposomes prefer relaxed over supercoiled plasmids. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 2000;1509(1-2):176-188.

(176) Meidan VM, Cohen JS, Amariglio N, Hirsch-Lerner D, Barenholz Y. Interaction of oligonucleotides with cationic lipids: The relationship between electrostatics, hydration and state of aggregation. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 2000;1464(2):251-261.

(177) Samuni AM, Lipman A, Barenholz Y. Damage to liposomal lipids: Protection by antioxidants and cholesterol- mediated dehydration. Chem Phys Lipids 2000;105(2):121-134.

(178) Kedar E, Gur H, Babai I, Samira S, Even-Chen S, Barenholz Y. Delivery of cytokines by liposomes: Hematopoietic and immunomodulatory activity of interleukin-2 encapsulated in conventional liposomes and in long- circulating liposomes. J Immunother 2000;23(1):131-145.

(179) Barenholz Y. Liposomology. Prog Lipid Res 2000;39(1):1-2.

(180) Simberg D, Hirsch-Lerner D, Nissim R, Barenholz Y. Comparison of different commercially available cationic lipid-based transfection kits. J Liposome Res 2000;10(1):1-13.

(181) Kedar E, Gur H, Babai I, Samira S, Even-Chen S, Barenholz Y. Delivery of cytokines by liposomes: hematopoietic and immunomodulatory activity of interleukin-2 encapsulated in conventional liposomes and in long-circulating liposomes. J Immunother 2000;23(1):4759.

(182) Hirsch-Lerner D, Barenholz Y. Hydration of lipoplexes commonly used in gene delivery: Follow-up by laurdan fluorescence changes and quantification by differential scanning calorimetry. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1999;1461(1):47-57.

(183) Samet D, Barenholz Y. Characterization of acidic and neutral sphingomyelinase activities in crude extracts of HL-60 cells. Chem Phys Lipids 1999;102(1-2):65-77.

(184) Zuidam NJ, Barenholz Y, Minsky A. Chiral DNA packaging in DNA-cationic liposome assemblies. FEBS Lett 1999;457(3):419-422.

(185) Diminsky D, Moav N, Gorecki M, Barenholz Y. Physical, chemical and immunological stability of CHO-derived hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) particles. Vaccine 1999;18(1-2):3-17.

(186) Naslavsky N, Shmeeda H, Friedlander G, Yanai A, Futerman AH, Barenholz Y, et al. Sphingolipid depletion increases formation of the scrapie prion protein in neuroblastoma cells infected with prions. J Biol Chem 1999;274(30):20763-20771.

(187) Zuidam NJ, Hirsch-Lerner D, Margulies S, Barenholz Y. Lamellarity of cationic liposomes and mode of preparation of lipoplexes affect transfection efficiency. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1999;1419(2):207-220.

(188) Vardy D, Barenholz Y, Cohen R, Zvulunov A, Biton A, Klaus S, et al. Topical amphotericin B for cutaneous leishmaniasis [8]. Arch Dermatol 1999;135(7):856-857.

(189) Bandak S, Ramu A, Barenholz Y, Gabizon A. Reduced UV-induced degradation of doxorubicin encapsulated in polyethyleneglycol-coated liposomes. Pharm Res 1999;16(6):841-846.

(190) Zuidam NJ, Barenholz Y. Characterization of DNA-lipid complexes commonly used for gene delivery. Int J Pharm 1999;183(1):43-46.

(191) Babai I, Samira S, Barenholz Y, Zakay-Rones Z, Kedar E. A novel influenza subunit vaccine composed of liposome-encapsulated haemagglutinin/neuraminidase and IL-2 or GM-CSF. II. Induction of TH1 and TH2 responses in mice. Vaccine 1999;17(9-10):1239-1250.

(192) Babai I, Samira S, Barenholz Y, Zakay-Rones Z, Kedar E. A novel influenza subunit vaccine composed of liposome-encapsulated haemagglutinin/neuraminidase and IL-2 or GM-CSF. I. Vaccine characterization and efficacy studies in mice. Vaccine 1999;17(9-10):1223-1238.

(193) Cabanes A, Even-Chen S, Zimberoff J, Barenholz Y, Kedar E, Gabizon A. Enhancement of antitumor activity of polyethylene glycol-coated liposomal doxorubicin with soluble and liposomal interleukin 2. Clin Canc Res 1999;5(3):687-693.

(194) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Preface. Chem Phys Lipids 1999;102(1-2):1-2.

(195) Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Sphingomyelin: Biophysical aspects. Chem Phys Lipids 1999;102(1-2):29-34.

(196) Korablyov V, Zimran A, Barenholz Y. Cerebroside-β-glucosidase encapsulation in liposomes for Gaucher's disease treatment revisited. Pharm Res 1999;16(3):466-469.

(197) Tirosh O, Katzhendler J, Barenholz Y, Kohen R. Low-Density Lipoprotein Oxidation and Its Prevention by Amidothionophosphate Antioxidants. Antioxid Redox Signal 1999;1(3):325-338.

(198) Tirosh O, Katzhendler Y, Barenholz Y, Kohen R. Antioxidant activity of amidothionophosphates. Methods Enzymol 1999;299:293-300.

(199) Grant GJ, Barenholz Y, Piskoun B, Bolotin EM, Turndorf H. A novel liposomal bupivacaine formulation using an ammonium sulfate gradient. Reg Anesth Pain Med 1999;24(3 SUPPL.):42.

(200) Bangham AD, Nicolau C, Alving CR, Nir S, Barenholz Y, Gabizon A, et al. Letter to the editor (multiple letters). J Liposome Res 1999;9(1):155-179.

(201) Clerc S, Barenholz Y. A quantitative model for using acridine orange as a transmembrane pH gradient probe. Anal Biochem 1998;259(1):104-111.

(202) Gabizon A, Goren D, Cohen R, Barenholz Y. Development of liposomal anthracyclines: From basics to clinical applications. J Control Release 1998;53(1-3):275-279.

(203) Hirsch-Lerner D, Barenholz Y. Probing DNA-cationic lipid interactions with the fluorophore trimethylammonium diphenyl-hexatriene (TMADPH). Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1998;1370(1):17-30.

(204) Zuidam NJ, Barenholz Y. Electrostatic and structural properties of complexes involving plasmid DNA and cationic lipids commonly used for gene delivery. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1998;1368(1):115-128.

(205) Zuidam NJ, Barenholz Y. Erratum: Electrostatic parameters of cationic liposomes commonly used for gene delivery as determined by 4-heptadecyl-7-hydroxycoumarin' (Biochim. Biophys. Acta 1329 (1997) (211-222) PII: 20005273697001107). Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1998;1372(1):151-151.

(206) Samuni AM, Crommelin DJA, Zuidam NJ, Barenholz Y. Differential scanning calorimetry. A tool to assess physical and chemical alterations in liposomes. J Therm Anal Calor 1998;51(1):37-48.

(207) Tirosh O, Barenholz Y, Katzhendler J, Priev A. Hydration of polyethylene glycol-grafted liposomes. Biophys J 1998;74(3):1371-1379.

(208) Frankenburg S, Glick D, Klaus S, Barenholz Y. Efficacious topical treatment for murine cutaneous leishmaniasis with ethanolic formulations of amphotericin B. Antimicrob Agents Chemother 1998;42(12):3092-3096.

(209) Moses AE, Rahav G, Barenholz Y, Elidan J, Azaz B, Gillis S, et al. Rhinocerebral mucormycosis treated with amphotericin B colloidal dispersion in three patients. Clin Infect Dis 1998;26(6):1430-1433.

(210) Kedar E, Palgi O, Golod G, Babai I, Barenholz Y. Delivery of cytokines by liposomes. III. Liposome-encapsulated GM-CSF and TNF-α show improved pharmacokinetics and biological activity and reduced toxicity in mice. J Immunother 1997;20(3):180-193.

(211) Samuni AM, Barenholz Y, Crommelin DJA, Zuidam NJ. γ-irradiation damage to liposomes differing in composition and their protection by nitroxides. Free Radic Biol Med 1997;23(7):972-979.

(212) Zuidam NJ, Barenholz Y. Electrostatic parameters of cationic liposomes commonly used for gene delivery as determined by 4-heptadecyl-7-hydroxycoumarin. BIOCHIM BIOPHYS ACTA BIOMEMBR 1997;1329(2):211-222.

(213) Tirosh O, Kohen R, Katzhendler J, Alon A, Barenholz Y. Oxidative stress effect on the integrity of lipid bilayers is modulated by cholesterol level of bilayers. Chem Phys Lipids 1997;87(1):17-22.

(214) Diminsky D, Schirmbeck R, Reimann J, Barenholz Y. Comparison between hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) particles derived from mammalian cells (CHO) and yeast cells (Hansenula polymorpha): Composition, structure and immunogenicity. Vaccine 1997;15(6-7):637-647.

(215) Bar LK, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Effect of sphingomyelin composition on the phase structure of phosphatidylcholine- phingomyelin bilayers. Biochemistry 1997;36(9):2507-2516.

(216) Eckstein M, Barenholz Y, Bar LK, Segal E. Liposomes containing Candida albicans ribosomes as a prophylactic vaccine against disseminated candidiasis in mice. Vaccine 1997;15(2):220-224.

(217) Samuni AM, Barenholz Y. Stable nitroxide radicals protect lipid acyl chains from radiation damage. Free Radic Biol Med 1997;22(7):1165-1174.

(218) Tirosh O, Kohen R, Katzhendler J, Gorodetsky R, Barenholz Y. Novel synthetic phospholipid protects lipid bilayers against oxidation damage: Role of hydration layer and bound water. J Chem Soc Perkin Trans 2 1997(2):383-389.

(219) Felgner PL, Barenholz Y, Behr JP, Cheng SH, Cullis P, Huang L, et al. Nomenclature for synthetic gene delivery systems. Hum Gene Ther 1997;8(5):511-512.

(220) Glick D, Barenholz Y. IgG immunoglobulins induce activation of the sphingomyelin cycle in HL-60 cells. FEBS Lett 1996;394(3):237-240.

(221) Emanuel N, Kedar E, Bolotin EM, Smorodinsky NI, Barenholz Y. Targeted delivery of doxorubicin via sterically stabilized immunoliposomes: Pharmacokinetics and biodistribution in tumor-bearing mice. Pharm Res 1996;13(6):861-868.

(222) Emanuel N, Kedar E, Bolotin EM, Smorodinsky NI, Barenholz Y. Preparation and characterization of doxorubicin-loaded sterically stabilized immunoliposomes. Pharm Res 1996;13(3):352-359.

(223) Pop E, Soti F, Brewster ME, Barenholz Y, Korablyov V, Mechoulam R, et al. Derivatives of dexanabinol. II. Salts of amino acid esters containing tertiary and quaternary heterocyclic nitrogen with increased water-solubility. Pharm Res 1996;13(3):469-475.

(224) Pop E, Liu ZZ, Brewster ME, Barenholz Y, Korablyov V, Mechoulam R, et al. Derivatives of dexanabinol. I. Water-soluble salts of glycinate esters. Pharm Res 1996;13(1):62-69.

(225) Barenholz Y, Cohen T, Haas E, Ottolenghi M. Lateral organization of pyrene-labeled lipids in bilayers as determined from the deviation from equilibrium between pyrene monomers and excimers. J Biol Chem 1996;271(6):3085-3090.

(226) Zomber G, Bogin E, Barenholz Y. Effect of I.V. injection of small unilamellar liposomes of egg phosphatidylcholine on cholesterol in plasma and erythrocytes, serum enzymes and liver function in dogs. J Liposome Res 1996;6(2):455-477.

(227) Barenholz Y, Bolotin E, Cohen R, Gabizon A. Sterically stabilized doxorubicin loaded liposomes (DOX-SL™): From basics to the clinics. Phosphorus Sulfur Silicon Relat Elem 1996;109(1-4):293-296.

(228) Diminsky D, Reimann ZJ, Schirmbeck R, Barenholz Y. Structural and functional characterization of liposomal recombinant hepatitis B vaccine. J Liposome Res 1996;6(2):289-304.

(229) Tirosh O, Katzhendler Y, Barenholz Y, Ginsburg I, Kohen R. Antioxidant properties of amidothionophosphates: Novel antioxidant molecules. Free Radic Biol Med 1996;20(3):421-432.

(230) Clerc S, Barenholz Y. Loading of amphipathic weak acids into liposomes in response to transmembrane calcium acetate gradients. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1995;1240(2):257-265.

(231) Zuidam NJ, Gouw HKME, Barenholz Y, Crommelin DJA. Physical (in) stability of liposomes upon chemical hydrolysis: the role of lysophospholipids and fatty acids. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1995;1240(1):101-110.

(232) Lasic DD, Čeh B, Stuart MCA, Guo L, Frederik PM, Barenholz Y. Transmembrane gradient driven phase transitions within vesicles: lessons for drug delivery. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1995;1239(2):145-156.

(233) Böhm W, Schirmbeck R, Elbe A, Melber K, Diminky D, Kraal G, et al. Exogenous hepatitis B surface antigen particles processed by dendritic cells or macrophages prime murine MHC class I-restricted cytotoxic T lymphocytes in vivo. J Immunol 1995;155(7):3313-3321.

(234) Barenholz Y, Cohen R. Rational design of amphiphile-based drug carriers and sterically stabilized carriers. J Liposome Res 1995;5(4):905-932.

(235) Shmeeda H, Petkova D, Barenholz Y. Cholesterol distribution in rat heart myocytes. Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 1995;268(2 37-2):H759-H766.

(236) Levy MY, Polacheck I, Barenholz Y, Benita S. Efficacy Evaluation of a Novel Submicron Miconazole Emulsion in a Murine Cryptococcosis Model. Pharm Res 1995;12(2):223-230.

(237) Bergers JJ, Bloois LV, Barenholz Y, Crommelin DJA. Conformational changes of myoglobin upon interaction with negatively-charged phospholipid vesicles. J Liposome Res 1995;5(2):311-326.

(238) Adler A, Schachter J, Barenholz Y, Bar LK, Klein T, Korytnaya R, et al. Allogeneic human liposomal melanoma vaccine with or without IL-2 in metastatic melanoma patients: Clinical and immunobiological effects. Cancer Biother 1995;10(4):293-306.

(239) Caplan S, Gallily R, Barenholz Y. Characterization and purification of a mycoplasma membrane-derived macrophage-activating factor. Cancer Immunol Immunother 1994;39(1):27-33.

(240) Shmeeda H, Petkova D, Barenholz Y. Cholesterol homeostasis in cultures of rat heart myocytes: Relationship to cellular hypertrophy. Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 1994;267(5 36-5):H1689-H1697.

(241) Haran G, Cohen R, Bar LK, Barenholz Y. Erratum: Transmembrane ammonium sulfate gradients in liposomes produce efficient and stable entrapment of amphipathic weak bases (Biochim. Biophys. Acta 1151 (1993) 201-215 (BBAMEM 76069)). BIOCHIM BIOPHYS ACTA BIOMEMBR 1994;1190(1):197.

(242) Kedar E, Rutkowski Y, Braun E, Emanuel N, Barenholz Y. Delivery of Cytokines by Liposomes. I. Preparation and Characterization of Interleukin-2 Encapsulated in Long-Circulating Sterically Stabilized Liposomes. J Immunother 1994;16(1):47-59.

(243) Kedar E, Braun E, Rutkowski Y, Emanuel N, Barenholz Y. Delivery of Cytokines by Liposomes. II. Interleukin-2 Encapsulated in Long-Circulating Sterically Stabilized Liposomes: Immunomodulatory and Anti-Tumor Activity in Mice. J Immunother 1994;16(2):115-124.

(244) Bolotin EM, Cohen R, Bar LK, Emanuel N, Ninio S, Barenholz Y, et al. Ammonium sulfate gradients for efficient and stable remote loading of amphipathic weak bases into liposomes and ligandoliposomes. J Liposome Res 1994;4(1):455-479.

(245) Gabizon A, Isacson R, Libson E, Kaufman B, Uziely B, Catane R, et al. Clinical studies of liposome-encapsulated doxorubicin. Acta Oncol 1994;33(7):779-786.

(246) Eldor A, Maclouf J, Lellouche F, Ben-Yashar V, Barenholz Y, Durst R, et al. A chronic hypercoagulable state and life-long platelet activation in beta thalassemia major. Southeast Asian J Trop Med Public Health 1993;24 Suppl 1:92-95.

(247) Haran G, Cohen R, Bar LK, Barenholz Y. Transmembrane ammonium sulfate gradients in liposomes produce efficient and stable entrapment of amphipathic weak bases. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1993;1151(2):201-215.

(248) Barenholz Y. Preface. Chem Phys Lipids 1993;64(1-3):1-2.

(249) Borenstain V, Barenholz Y. Characterization of liposomes and other lipid assemblies by multiprobe fluorescence polarization. Chem Phys Lipids 1993;64(1-3):117-127.

(250) Gorodetsky R, Amselem S, Barenholz Y. Trace element analysis of liposomal formulations by diagnostic X-ray fluorescence spectrometry (DXS). Chem Phys Lipids 1993;64(1-3):31-34.

(251) Amselem S, Cohen R, Barenholz Y. In vitro tests to predict in vivo performance of liposomal dosage forms. Chem Phys Lipids 1993;64(1-3):219-237.

(252) Bach D, Miller IR, Barenholz Y. Thermotropic behavior of phosphatidylcholine-glucosyl ceramide mixtures: Effects of phospholipid acyl chain composition and interaction with water. Biophys Chem 1993;47(1):77-86.

(253) Barenholz Y, Pal R, Wagner RR. [22] Metabolic Labeling of Viral Membrane Lipids by Fluorescent Fatty Acids: Studying Virus Fusion with Target Membranes. Methods Enzymol 1993;220(C):288-312.

(254) Gabizon AA, Barenholz Y, Bialer M. Prolongation of the Circulation Time of Doxorubicin Encapsulated in Liposomes Containing a Polyethylene Glycol-Derivatized Phospholipid: Pharmacokinetic Studies in Rodents and Dogs. Pharm Res 1993;10(5):703-708.

(255) Levy MY, Polacheck I, Barenholz Y, Benita S. Efficacy evaluation of a novel submicron amphotericin b emulsion in murine candidiasis. Med Mycol 1993;31(3):207-218.

(256) Gregoriadis G, Wang Z, Barenholz Y, Francis MJ. Liposome-entrapped T-cell peptide provides help for a co-entrapped B-cell peptide to overcome genetic restriction in mice and induce immunological memory. Immunology 1993;80(4):535-540.

(257) Yashar VB, Barenholz Y, Hy‐Am E, Rachmilewitz EA, Eldor A. Phosphatidylserine in the outer leaflet of red blood cells from β‐thalassemia patients may explain the chronic hypercoagulable state and thrombotic episodes. Am J Hematol 1993;44(1):63-65.

(258) Barenholz Y, Amselem S, Goren D, Cohen R, Gelvan D, Samuni A, et al. Stability of liposomal doxorubicin formulations: Problems and prospects. Med Res Rev 1993;13(4):449-491.

(259) Engelhard D, Eldor A, Polacheck I, Hardan I, Ben-yehuda D, Amselem S, et al. Disseminated visceral fusariosis treated with amphotericin b-phospholipid complex. Leuk Lymphoma 1993;9(4-5):385-392.

(260) Lasic DD, Frederik PM, Stuart MCA, Barenholz Y, McIntosh TJ. Gelation of liposome interior A novel method for drug encapsulation. FEBS Lett 1992;312(2-3):255-258.

(261) Horowitz AT, Barenholz Y, Gabizon AA. In vitro cytotoxicity of liposome-encapsulated doxorubicin: dependence on liposome composition and drug release. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1992;1109(2):203-209.

(262) Kalmanzon E, Zlotkin E, Cohen R, Barenholz Y. Liposomes as a model for the study of the mechanism of fish toxicity of sodium dodecyl sulfate in sea water. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1992;1103(1):148-156.

(263) Goetschel R, Barenholz Y, Bar R. Microbial conversions in a liposomal medium. Part 2: Cholesterol oxidation by Rhodococcus erythropolis. Enzyme Microb Technol 1992;14(5):390-395.

(264) Amselem S, Cohen R, Druckmann S, Gabizon A, Goren D, Abra RM, et al. Preparation and characterization of liposomal doxorubicin for human use. J Liposome Res 1992;2(1):93-123.

(265) Ben-Yashar V, Barenholz Y. Characterization of the core and surface of human plasma lipoproteins. A study based on the use of five fluorophores. Chem Phys Lipids 1991;60(1):1-14.

(266) Barenholz Y, Cohen T, Korenstein R, Ottolenghi M. Organization and dynamics of pyrene and pyrene lipids in intact lipid bilayers. Photo-induced charge transfer processes. Biophys J 1991;60(1):110-124.

(267) Gabizon A, Chisin R, Amselem S, Druckmann S, Cohen R, Goren D, et al. Pharmacokinetic and imaging studies in patients receiving a formulation of liposome-associated adriamycin. Br J Cancer 1991;64(6):1125-1132.

(268) Goren D, Gabizon A, Barenholz Y. The influence of physical characteristics of liposomes containing doxorubicin on their pharmacological behavior. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1990;1029(2):285-294.

(269) Almog S, Litman BJ, Wimley W, Cohen J, Wachtel EJ, Barenholz Y, et al. States of Aggregation and Phase Transformations in Mixtures of Phosphatidylcholine and Octyl Glucoside. Biochemistry 1990;29(19):4582-4592.

(270) Amselem S, Gabizon A, Barenholz Y. Optimization and upscaling of doxorubicin‐containing liposomes for clinical use. J Pharm Sci 1990;79(12):1045-1052.

(271) Gabizon A, Amselem S, Goren D, Cohen R, Druckmann S, Fromer I, et al. Preclinical and clinical experience with a doxorubicin-liposome preparation. J Liposome Res 1990;1(4):491-502.

(272) Ben-Yashar V, Barenholz Y. The interaction of cholesterol and cholest-4-en-3-one with dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine. Comparison based on the use of three fluorophores. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1989;985(3):271-278.

(273) Barenholz Y, Bach D, Thompson TE, Freire E, Correa-Freire M, Miller LR. The metastability of glucosyl ceramide in aqueous phase: effect of hydration and phosphatidylcholines of various chain length. Thermochim Acta 1989;148(C):355-363.

(274) Bar LK, Parkson Lee-Gau Chong, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Spontaneous transfer between phospholipid bilayers of dehydroergosterol, a fluorescent cholesterol analog. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1989;983(1):109-112.

(275) Druckmann S, Gabizon A, Barenholz Y. Separation of liposome-associated doxorubicin from non-liposome-associated doxorubicin in human plasma: Implications for pharmacokinetic studies. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1989;980(3):381-384.

(276) Amselem S, Gabizon A, Barenholz Y. Evaluation of a new extrusion device for the production of stable oligolamellar liposomes in a liter scale. J Liposome Res 1989;1(3):287-301.

(277) Gabizon A, Peretz T, Sulkes A, Amselem S, Ben-Yosef R, Ben-Baruch N, et al. Systemic administration of doxorubicin-containing liposomes in cancer patients: a phase I study. Eur J Cancer Clin Oncol 1989;25(12):1795-1803.

(278) Gabizon A, Goren D, Barenholz Y. Investigations on the antitumor efficacy of liposome-associated doxorubicin in murine tumor models. Isr J Med Sci 1988;24(9-10):512-517.

(279) Cholestatrienol time resolved fluorescence in phosphatidylcholine bilayers. Proceedings of SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering; 1988.

(280) Pal R, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Pyrene Phospholipid as a Biological Fluorescent Probe for Studying Fusion of Virus Membrane with Liposomes. Biochemistry 1988;27(1):30-36.

(281) Schroeder F, Nemecz G, Gratton E, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Fluorescence properties of cholestatrienol in phosphatidylcholine bilayer vesicles. Biophys Chem 1988;32(1):57-72.

(282) Yashar VB, Menashe M, Biltonen RL, Johnson ML, Barenholz Y. Interaction of trans-parinaric acid with phosphatidylcholine bilayers: comparison with the effect of other fluorophores. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1987;904(1):117-124.

(283) Pal R, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Vesicular stomatitis virus membrane proteins and their interactions with lipid bilayers. Biochim Biophys Acta Rev Biomembr 1987;906(2):175-193.

(284) Bar LK, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Dependence on Phospholipid Composition of the Fraction of Cholesterol Undergoing Spontaneous Exchange between Small Unilamellar Vesicles. Biochemistry 1987;26(17):5460-5465.

(285) Hresko RC, Sugár IP, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. The lateral distribution of pyrene-labeled sphingomyelin and glucosylceramide in phosphatidylcholine bilayers. Biophys J 1987;51(5):725-733.

(286) Schroeder F, Barenholz Y, Gratton E, Thompson TE. A Fluorescence Study of Dehydroergosterol in Phosphatidylcholine Bilayer Vesicles. Biochemistry 1987;26(9):2441-2448.

(287) Amselem S, Barenholz Y, Loyter A, Nir S, Lichtenberg D. Fusion of Sendai virus with negatively charged liposomes as studied by pyrene-labelled phospholipid liposomes. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1986;860(2):301-313.

(288) Yechiel E, Barenholz Y. Cultured heart cell reaggregates: a model for studying relationships between aging and lipid composition. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1986;859(1):105-109.

(289) Yechiel E, Henis YI, Barenholz Y. Aging of rat heart fibroblasts: relationship between lipid composition, membrane organization and biological properties. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1986;859(1):95-104.

(290) Samuni A, Chong PL-, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Physical and Chemical Modifications of Adriamycin:Lron Complex by Phospholipid Bilayers. Cancer Res 1986;46(2):594-599.

(291) Bar LK, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Fraction of Cholesterol Undergoing Spontaneous Exchange between Small Unilamellar Phosphatidylcholine Vesicles. Biochemistry 1986;25(21):6701-6705.

(292) Gabizon A, Meshorer A, Barenholz Y. Comparative long-term study of the toxicities of free and liposome-associated doxorubicin in mice after intravenous administration. J Natl Cancer Inst 1986;77(2):459-469.

(293) Hresko RC, Sugár IP, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Lateral Distribution of a Pyrene-Labeled Phosphatidylcholine in Phosphatidylcholine Bilayers: Fluorescence Phase and Modulation Study. Biochemistry 1986;25(13):3813-3823.

(294) Moscona-Amir E, Henis YI, Sokolovsky M, Yechiel E, Barenholz Y. Role of Lipids in Age-Related Changes in the Properties of Muscarinic Receptors in Cultured Rat Heart Myocytes. Biochemistry 1986;25(24):8118-8124.

(295) Chejanovsky N, Zakai N, Loyter A, Amselem S, Barenholz Y. Membrane Vesicles Containing the Sendai Virus Binding Glycoprotein, but Not the Viral Fusion Protein, Fuse with Phosphatidylserine Liposomes at Low pH. Biochemistry 1986;25(17):4810-4817.

(296) Yechiel E, Barenholz Y. Relationships between membrane lipid composition and biological properties of rat myocytes. J Biol Chem 1985;260(16):9123-9131.

(297) Yechiel E, Barenholz Y, Henis YI. Lateral mobility and organization of phospholipids and proteins in rat myocyte membranes. J Biol Chem 1985;260(16):9132-9136.

(298) Wiener JR, Pal R, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Effect of the Vesicular Stomatitis Virus Matrix Protein on the Lateral Organization of Lipid Bilayers Containing Phosphatidylglycerol: Use of Fluorescent Phospholipid Analogues†. Biochemistry 1985;24(26):7651-7658.

(299) Amselem S, Loyter A, Lichtenberg D, Barenholz Y. The interaction of Sendai virus with negatively charged liposomes: virus-induced lysis of carboxyfluorescein-loaded small unilamellar vesicles. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1985;820(1):1-10.

(300) Levin IW, Thompson TE, Barenholz Y, Huang C. Two Types of Hydrocarbon Chain Interdigitation in Sphingomyelin Bilayers. Biochemistry 1985;24(22):6282-6286.

(301) Brown RE, Stephenson FA, Markello T, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Properties of a specific glycolipid transfer protein from bovine brain. Chem Phys Lipids 1985;38(1-2):79-93.

(302) Reizer J, Grossowicz N, Barenholz Y. The effect of growth temperature on the thermotropic behavior of the membranes of a thermophilic Bacillus. Composition-structure-function relationships. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1985;815(2):268-280.

(303) Gabizon A, Meshorer A, Barenholz Y. A comparative study of toxicities of free and liposome-associated adriamycin (ADM). PROC AM ASSOC CANCER RES 1985;VOL. 26.

(304) Hresko RC, Markello TC, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Purification and spectroscopic properties of pyrene fatty acids. Chem Phys Lipids 1985;38(3):263-273.

(305) Pal R, Petri WA, Ben-Yashar V, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Characterization of the Fluorophore 4-Heptadecyl-7-hydroxycoumarin: A Probe for the Head-Group Region of Lipid Bilayers and Biological Membranes. Biochemistry 1985;24(3):573-581.

(306) Gabizon A, Goren D, Fuks Z, Meshorer A, Barenholz Y. Superior therapeutic activity of liposome-associated adriamycin in a murine metastatic tumour model. Br J Cancer 1985;51(5):681-689.

(307) Cohen R, Barenholz Y. Characterization of the association of Electrophorus electricus acetylcholinesterase with sphingomyelin liposomes. Relevance to collagen-sphingomyelin interactions. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1984;778(1):94-104.

(308) Wong M, Brown RE, Thompson TE, Barenholz Y. Glycolipid Transfer Protein from Bovine Brain. Biochemistry 1984;23(26):6498-6505.

(309) Cohen R, Barenholz Y, Gatt S, Dagan A. Preparation and characterization of well defined d-erythro sphingomyelins. Chem Phys Lipids 1984;35(4):371-384.

(310) Wong M, Brown R, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Glycolipid transfer protein from bovine brain. Fed Proc 1984;43(6).

(311) Gabizon A, Goren D, Fuks Z, Barenholz Y, Dagan A, Meshorer A. Enhancement of Adriamycin Delivery to Liver Metastatic Cells with Increased Tumoricidal Effect Using Liposomes as Drug Carriers. Cancer Res 1983;43(10):4730-4735.

(312) Pal R, Petri Jr. WA, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Lipid and protein contributions to the membrane surface potential of vesicular stomatitis virus probed by a fluorescent pH indicator, 4-heptadecyl-7-hydroxycoumarin. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1983;729(2):185-192.

(313) Michaelson DM, Barkai G, Barenholz Y. Asymmetry of lipid organization in cholinergic synaptic vesicle membranes. Biochem J 1983;211(1):155-162.

(314) Frank A, Lichtenberg D, Thompson TE, Barenholz Y. Spontaneous Transfer of Sphingomyelin between Phospholipid Bilayers. Biochemistry 1983;22(24):5647-5651.

(315) Felgner PL, Thompson TE, Barenholz Y, Lichtenberg D. Kinetics of Transfer of Gangliosides from Their Micelles to Dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine Vesicles. Biochemistry 1983;22(7):1670-1674.

(316) Pal R, Wiener JR, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Influence of the Membrane Glycoprotein and Cholesterol of Vesicular Stomatitis Virus on the Dynamics of Viral and Model Membranes: Fluorescence Studies. Biochemistry 1983;22(15):3624-3630.

(317) Bkaily G, Sperelakis N, Elishalom Y, Barenholz Y. Effect of Na+- or Ca2+-filled liposomes on electrical activity of cultured heart cells. Am J Physiol Heart Circ Physiol 1983;14(5):H756-H761.

(318) Wiener JR, Pal R, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Influence of the Peripheral Matrix Protein of Vesicular Stomatitis Virus on the Membrane Dynamics of Mixed Phospholipid Vesicles: Fluorescence Studies. Biochemistry 1983;22(9):2162-2170.

(319) Barenholz Y, Thompson TE, Freire E, Correa-Freire MC, Bach D, Miller IR. Thermotropic Behavior of Aqueous Dispersions of Glucosylceramide-Dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine Mixtures. Biochemistry 1983;22(14):3497-3501.

(320) Correa-Freire MC, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Glucocerebroside Transfer between Phosphatidylcholine Bilayers. Biochemistry 1982;21(6):1244-1248.

(321) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Sphingomyelin: Metabolism, chemical synthesis, chemical and physical properties. New Compr Biochem 1982;4(C):129-177.

(322) Litman BJ, Barenholz Y. Fluorescent Probe: Diphenylhexatriene. Methods Enzymol 1982;81(C):678-685.

(323) Dagan A, Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Synthesis of fluorescent derivatives of lipids and their potential pharmacological application. Isr J Med Sci 1982;18(4):558.

(324) Neumann S, Korenstein R, Barenholz Y, Ottolenghi M. Photoinduced Charge Separation and Recombination in Exciplex Systems in Lipid Bilayer Vesicles. Isr J Chem 1982;22(2):125-132.

(325) Yedgar S, Cohen R, Gatt S, Barenholz Y. Hydrolysis of monomolecular layers of synthetic sphingomyelins by sphingomyelinase of staphylococcus aureus. Biochem J 1982;201(3):597-603.

(326) Goll J, Carlson FD, Barenholz Y, Litman BJ, Thompson TE. Photon correlation spectroscopic study of the size distribution of phospholipid vesicles. Biophys J 1982;38(1):7-13.

(327) Pal R, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Pardaxin, a hydrophobic toxin of the red sea flatfish, disassembles the intact membrane of vesicular stomatitis virus. J Biol Chem 1981;256(20):10209-10212.

(328) Barenholz Y, Yechiel E, Cohen R, Deckelbaum RJ. Importance of cholesterol-phospholipid interaction in determining dynamics of normal and abetalipoproteinemia red blood cell membrane. Cell Biophys 1981;3(2):115-126.

(329) Lentz BR, Hoechli M, Barenholz Y. Acyl Chain Order and Lateral Domain Formation in Mixed Phosphatidylcholine-Sphingomyelin Multilamellar and Unilamellar Vesicles. Biochemistry 1981;20(24):6803-6809.

(330) Pal R, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Transcription of vesicular stomatitis virus activated by Pardaxin, a fish toxin that permeabilizes the virion membrane. J Virol 1981;39(2):641-645.

(331) Pal R, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Depletion and Exchange of Cholesterol from the Membrane of Vesicular Stomatitis Virus by Interaction with Serum Lipoproteins or Poly(vinylpyrrolidone) Complexed with Bovine Serum Albumin. Biochemistry 1981;20(3):530-539.

(332) Gatt S, Gazit B, Barenholz Y. Effect of bile salts on the hydrolysis of gangliosides, glycoproteins and neuraminyl-lactose by the neuraminidase of Clostridium perfringens. Biochem J 1981;193(1):267-273.

(333) Feigner PL, Freire E, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Asymmetric Incorporation of Trisialoganglioside into Dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine Vesicles. Biochemistry 1981;20(8):2168-2172.

(334) Petri WA, Pal R, Wagner RR, Barenholz Y. Fluorescence Studies of Dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine Vesicles Reconstituted with the Glycoprotein of Vesicular Stomatitis Virus. Biochemistry 1981;20(10):2796-2800.

(335) Petri Jr. W, Pal R, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Fluorescence anisotropy of a fatty acid covalently linked in vivo to the glycoprotein of vesicular stomatitis virus. J Biol Chem 1981;256(6):2625-2627.

(336) Freire E, Schmidt CF, Feigner PL, Thompson TE, Lichtenberg D, Barenholz Y. Effect of Surface Curvature on Stability, Thermodynamic Behavior, and Osmotic Activity of Dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine Single Lamellar Vesicles. Biochemistry 1981;20(12):3462-3467.

(337) Estep TN, Freire E, Anthony F, Barenholz Y, Biltonen RL, Thompson TE. Thermal Behavior of Stearoylsphingomyelin-Cholesterol Dispersions. Biochemistry 1981;20(25):7115-7118.

(338) Gatt S, Barenholz Y, Goldberg R, Dinur T, Besley G, Gershon ZL-, et al. Assay of Enzymes of Lipid Metabolism with Colored and Fluorescent Derivatives of Natural Lipids. Methods Enzymol 1981;72(C):351-375.

(339) Freire E, Bach D, Correa-Freire M, Miller I, Barenholz Y. Calorimetric Investigation of the Complex Phase Behavior of Glucocerebroside Dispersions. Biochemistry 1980;19(16):3662-3665.

(340) Pal R, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Effect of cholesterol concentration on organization of viral and vesicle membranes. Probed by accessibility to cholesterol oxidase. J Biol Chem 1980;255(12):5802-5806.

(341) Cestaro B, Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Hydrolysis of Di-and Trisialo Gangliosides in Micellar and Liposomal Dispersion by Bacterial Neuraminidases. Biochemistry 1980;19(4):615-619.

(342) Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Sphingomyelins in bilayers and biological membranes. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1980;604(2):129-158.

(343) Gatt S, Dinur T, Barenholz Y. A fluorometric determination of sphingomyelinase by use of fluorescent derivatives of sphingomyelin, and its application to diagnosis of Niemann-Pick disease. Clin Chem 1980;26(1):93-96.

(344) Gatt S, Gazit B, Cestaro B, Barenholz Y. Hydrolysis of gangliosides in micellar and liposomal dispersion by bacterial neuraminidases. Adv Exp Med Biol 1980;125:137-146.

(345) Estep TN, Thompson TE, Biltonen RL, Calhoun WI, Shipley GG, Barenholz Y. Evidence for metastability in stearoylphingomyelin bilayers. Biochemistry 1980;19(1):20-24.

(346) Barenholz Y, Ceastaro B, Lichtenberg D, Freire E, Thompson TE, Gatt S. Characterization of micellar and liposomal dispersions of gangliosides and phospholipids. Adv Exp Med Biol 1980;125:105-123.

(347) Deckelbaum RJ, Eisenberg S, Fainaru M, Barenholz Y, Olivecrona T. In vitro production of human plasma low density lipoprotein-like particles. A model for very low density lipoprotein catabolism. J Biol Chem 1979;254(13):6079-6087.

(348) Borochov H, Shinitzky M, Barenholz Y. Sphingomyelin phase transition in the sheep erythrocyte membrane. Cell Biochem Biophys 1979;1(3):219-228.

(349) Kapitulnik J, Tshershedsky M, Barenholz Y. Fluidity of the rat liver microsomal membrane: Increase at birth. Science 1979;206(4420):843-844.

(350) Estep TN, Mountcastle DB, Barenholz Y, Biltonen RL, Thompson TE. Thermal Behavior of Synthetic Sphingomyelin-Cholesterol Dispersions. Biochemistry 1979;18(10):2112-2117.

(351) Correa-Freire MC, Freire E, Barenholz Y, Biltonen RL, Thompson TE. Thermotropic Behavior of Monoglucocerebroside-Dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine Multilamellar Liposomes. Biochemistry 1979;18(3):442-445.

(352) Shinitzky M, Barenholz Y. Fluidity parameters of lipid regions determined by fluorescence polarization. Biochim Biophys Acta Rev Biomembr 1978;515(4):367-394.

(353) Patzer EJ, Wagner RR, Barenholz Y. Cholesterol oxidase as a probe for studying membrane organisation [32]. Nature 1978;274(5669):394-395.

(354) Schmidt CF, Barenholz Y, Huang C, Thompson TE. Monolayer coupling in sphingomyelin bilayer systems. Nature 1978;271(5647):775-777.

(355) Patzer EJ, Moore NF, Barenholz Y, Shaw JM, Wagner RR. Lipid organization of the membrane of vesicular stomatitis virus. J Biol Chem 1978;253(13):4544-4550.

(356) Goldberg R, Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Synthesis of trinitrophenylaminolauric acid and the use of its glyceryl esters for assaying lipase by a spectrophotometric procedure. Biochim Biophys Acta Lipids Lipid Metab 1978;531(2):237-241.

(357) Barenholz Y, Erulkar SD, Meiri H, Rahamimoff R. Increase in quantal transmitter release by calcium- and sodium-containing phosphatidylcholine liposomes [proceedings]. J Physiol 1978;284:65P-66P.

(358) Gatt S, Dinur T, Barenholz Y. A spectrophotometric method for determination of sphingomyelinase. Biochim Biophys Acta Lipids Lipid Metab 1978;530(3):503-507.

(359) Cohen R, Barenholz Y. Correlation between the thermotropic behavior of sphingomyelin liposomes and sphingomyelin hydrolysis by sphingomyelinase of Staphylococcus aureus. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1978;509(1):181-187.

(360) Barenholz Y, Gafni A, Eisenberg S. Apparent microviscosity of intact and post-lipolysis ("remnant") very low density lipoprotein particles. Chem Phys Lipids 1978;21(3):179-185.

(361) Cestaro B, Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Hydrolysis by bacterial neuraminidases of gangliosides in form of micelle or liposome. Ital J Biochem 1978;27(1):64-65.

(362) Rahamimoff R, Meiri H, Erulkar SD, Barenholz Y. Changes in transmitter release induced by ion-containing liposomes. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A 1978;75(10):5214-5216.

(363) Barenholz Y, Patzer EJ, Moore NF, Wagner RR. Cholesterol oxidase as a probe for studying membrane composition and organization. Adv Exp Med Biol 1978;101:45-56.

(364) Moore NF, Patzer EJ, Wagner RR, Barenholz Y. Effect of Phospholipase C and Cholesterol Oxidase on Membrane Integrity, Microviscosity, and Infectivity of Vesicular Stomatitis Virus. Biochemistry 1977;16(21):4708-4715.

(365) Schmidt CF, Barenholz Y, Huang C, Thompson TE. Phosphatidylcholine 13C-Labeled Carbonyls as a Probe of Bilayer Structure. Biochemistry 1977;16(18):3948-3954.

(366) Hertz R, Barenholz Y. The relations between the composition of liposomes and their interaction with triton X-100. J Colloid Interface Sci 1977;60(1):188-200.

(367) Schmidt CF, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. A Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Study of Sphingomyelin in Bilayer Systems. Biochemistry 1977;16(12):2649-2656.

(368) Barenholz Y, Gibbes D, Litman BJ, Goll J, Thompson TE, Carlson FD. A Simple Method for the Preparation of Homogeneous Phospholipid Vesicles. Biochemistry 1977;16(12):2806-2810.

(369) Lentz BR, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Fluorescence Depolarization Studies of Phase Transitions and Fluidity in Phospholipid Bilayers. 1. Single Component Phosphatidylcholine Liposomes. Biochemistry 1976;15(20):4521-4528.

(370) Lentz BR, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. Fluorescence Depolarization Studies of Phase Transitions and Fluidity in Phospholipid Bilayers. 2. Two-Component Phosphatidylcholine Liposomes. Biochemistry 1976;15(20):4529-4537.

(371) Barenholz Y, Moore NF, Wagner RR. Enveloped Viruses as Model Membrane Systems: Microviscosity of Vesicular Stomatitis Virus and Host Cell Membranes. Biochemistry 1976;15(16):3563-3570.

(372) Kutchai H, Barenholz Y, Ross TF, Wermer DE. Developmental changes in plasma membrane fluidity in chick embryo heart. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1976;436(1):101-112.

(373) Stubbs GW, Litman BJ, Barenholz Y. Microviscosity of the Hydrocarbon Region of the Bovine Retinal Rod Outer Segment Disk Membrane Determined by Fluorescent Probe Measurements. Biochemistry 1976;15(13):2766-2772.

(374) Barenholz Y, Suurkuusk J, Mountcastle D, Thompson TE, Biltonen RL. A Calorimetric Study of the Thermotropic Behavior of Aqueous Dispersions of Natural and Synthetic Sphingomyelins. Biochemistry 1976;15(11):2441-2447.

(375) Suurkuusk J, Lentz BR, Barenholz Y, Biltonen RL, Thompson TE. A Calorimetric and Fluorescent Probe Study of the Gel-Liquid Crystalline Phase Transition in Small, Single-Lamellar Dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine Vesicles. Biochemistry 1976;15(7):1393-1401.

(376) Moore NF, Barenholz Y, Wagner RR. Microviscosity of togavirus membranes studied by fluorescence depolarization: influence of envelope proteins and the host cell. J Virol 1976;19(1):126-135.

(377) Moore NF, Barenholz Y, McAllister PE, Wagner RR. Comparative membrane microviscosity of fish and mammalian rhabdoviruses studied by fluorescence depolarization. J Virol 1976;19(1):275-278.

(378) Litman BJ, Barenholz Y. The optical activity of d-erythro-sphingomyelin and its contribution to the circular dichroism of sphingomyelin-containing systems. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1975;394(2):166-172.

(379) Quinn PJ, Barenholz Y. A comparison of the activity of phosphatidylinositol phosphodiesterase against substrate in dispersions and as monolayers at the air water interface. Biochem J 1975;149(1):199-208.

(380) Hertz R, Barenholz Y. Permeability and integrity properties of lecithin-sphingomyelin liposomes. Chem Phys Lipids 1975;15(2):138-156.

(381) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. [49] Separation of Sphingosine Bases by Chromatography on Columns of Silica Gel. Methods Enzymol 1975;35(C):529-533.

(382) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. [29] Acetyl coenzyme A: Long-chain base acetyltransferase from the microsomes of Hansenula ciferri. Methods Enzymol 1975;35(C):242-247.

(383) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. [30] Acetyl coenzyme A: Amine acetyltransferase from the soluble fraction of Hansenula ciferri. Methods Enzymol 1975;35(C):247-253.

(384) Lentz BR, Barenholz Y, Thompson TE. A simple method for the synthesis of cholesterol esters in high yield. Chem Phys Lipids 1975;15(2):216-221.

(385) Shinitzky M, Barenholz Y. Dynamics of the hydrocarbon layer in liposomes of lecithin and sphingomyelin containing dicetylphosphate. J Biol Chem 1974;249(8):2652-2657.

(386) Barenholz Y, Edelman I, Shimon G. Amine:acetyl coenzyme A acetyltransferase from the soluble fraction of Hansenula ciferri: Isolation and properties. BBA - Enzymology 1974;358(2):262-274.

(387) Yedgar S, Barenholz Y, Cooper VG. Molecular weight, shape and structure of mixed micelles of Triton X-100 and sphingomyelin. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1974;363(1):98-111.

(388) Cooper VG, Yedgar S, Barenholz Y. Diffusion coefficients of mixed micelles of Triton X-100 and sphingomyelin and of sonicated sphingomyelin liposomes, measured by autocorrelation spectroscopy of Rayleigh scattered light. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1974;363(1):86-97.

(389) Barenholz Y, Leffler JN, Lefer AM. Detection by chemical methods of a myocardial depressant factor in plasma of animals in circulatory shock. Isr J Med Sci 1973;9(5):640-647.

(390) Hertz R, Barenholz Y. Glucose release measurements from liposomes with an oxygen electrode. Biochim Biophys Acta Biomembr 1973;330(1):1-7.

(391) Barenholz Y, Gadot N, Valk E, Gatt S. Identification of the enzymatic lesions responsible for the accumulation of acetylated sphingosine bases in the yeast Hansenula ciferri. Biochim Biophys Acta Lipids Lipid Metab 1973;306(2):341-345.

(392) Gatt S, Herzl A, Barenholz Y. Hydrolysis of sphingomyelin liposomes by sphingomyelinase. FEBS Lett 1973;30(3):281-285.

(393) Gatt S, Barenholz Y. Enzymes of complex lipid metabolism. Annu Rev Biochem 1973;42:61-90.

(394) Litvin Y, Leffler JN, Barenholz Y, Lefer AM. Factors influencing the in vitro production of a myocardial depressant factor. Biochem Med 1973;8(2):199-212.

(395) Leffler JN, Litvin Y, Barenholz Y, Lefer AM. Proteolysis in formation of a myocardial depressant factor during shock. Am J Physiol 1973;224(4):824-831.

(396) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Long chain base-acetyl coenzyme A acetyltransferase from the microsomes of Hansenula ciferri. II. Kinetic properties. J Biol Chem 1972;247(21):6834-6839.

(397) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Long chain base-acetyl coenzyme A acetyltransferase from the microsomes of Hansenula ciferri. I. Isolation and properties. J Biol Chem 1972;247(21):6827-6833.

(398) Lefer AM, Barenholz Y. Pancreatic hydrolases and the formation of a myocardial depressant factor in shock. Am J Physiol 1972;223(5):1103-1109.

(399) Barenholz Y, Edelman I, Gatt S. The metabolic basis for the accumulation of acetylated sphingosine bases in the yeast Hansenula ciferri. Biochim Biophys Acta Lipids Lipid Metab 1971;248(3):458-465.

(400) Gatt S, Barenholz Y. [26] Sphingomyelinase from rat brain. Methods Enzymol 1969;14(C):144-149.

(401) Gatt S, Barenholz Y. [31] Phospholipase A1 from rat brain, specific for α′ position of lecithin. EC 3.1.1.4 Phosphatide acyl-hydrolase. Methods Enzymol 1969;14(C):167-170.

(402) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Acetylation of sphingosine bases and long-chain amines by cell-free preparations of Hansenula ciferri. Biochem Biophys Res Commun 1969;35(5):676-680.

(403) Gatt S, Barenholz Y. Degradation of sphingosine bases by cell-free preparations. α-hydroxy palmitic acid, an intermediate of phytosphingosine degradation. Biochem Biophys Res Commun 1968;32(4):588-594.

(404) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Degradation of Sphingosine, Dihydrosphingosine, and Phytosphingosine in Rats. Biochemistry 1968;7(7):2603-2609.

(405) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. Separation of sphingosine, dihydrosphingosine and phytosphingosine by chromatography on columns of silica gel. Biochim Biophys Acta Lipids Lipid Metab 1968;152(4):790-793.

(406) Barenholz Y, Gatt S. The utilization and degradation of phytosphingosine by rat liver. Biochem Biophys Res Commun 1967;27(3):319-324.

(407) Gatt S, Barenholz Y, Roitman A. Isolation of rat brain lecithinase-A, specific for the α↑-position of lecithin. Biochem Biophys Res Commun 1966;24(2):169-172.