מעודכן ל: 14.12.2023
משאל עם
הליך דמוקרטי המשמש לקבלת הכרעה של כלל ציבור הבוחרים בשאלה נתונה. בתור שכזה, משאל עם מפקיע את סמכות ההכרעה בשאלה האמורה מידי הרשות המחוקקת. מטבע הדברים במשטר דמוקרטי, הפסיקה של משאל עם עדיפה על פסיקתו של כל מוסד נבחר. בדרך-כלל מגבילים את משאל העם לשאלות עקרוניות חשובות כמו תיקון לחוקת יסוד, איחוד עם מדינה אחרת או שינוי המשטר, אבל יש גם משאל עם סביב שאלות פחות חשובות. יש המבחינים בין רפרנדום, הנערך ביוזמת השלטון, ובין פלביסציט, שלידתו מלמטה. עם זאת, כל משאל עם תקין מותנה בחקיקה מתאימה (כלומר, בהתערבות שלטונית בהכנתו), ולכן אין משמעות רבה להבדלים הללו. שוללי משאל עם טוענים שעצם קיומו פוגע במעמד הרשות המחוקקת, והתוצאות, אם יהיו מנוגדות לדעת רוב חברי הרשות המחוקקת, עלולות לגרום שיבושים קשים במערכת השלטונית. טענה כבדה אחרת נגד משאל עם נוגעת לניסוח השאלה המוצגת לציבור, ומצביעה על האפשרות שטיב הניסוח ישפיע על התוצאות.
עמוס כרמל הכל פוליטי: לקסיקון הפוליטיקה הישראלית (2001).
Referendum
Direct voter action approving or rejecting a local government legislative enactment. Matters are referred to the voters primarily by either:
A petition, signed by sufficient number of registered voters in the jurisdiction to place the item on the ballot. This method of referral generally seeks to void a local law.
A vote of the local governing body to have the item placed on the ballot. This is sometimes called a legislative referendum or legislative referral. This method of referral generally seeks an approval of a proposed law.
State law governs the referendum process, including procedures and deadlines required to place an item on an election ballot.
Glossary: Referendum, Thomson Reuters Practical Law, Westlaw W-002-6854 (database updated 2023).
משאל עם
Plebiscite
Referendum
Initiative
Proposition
Direct democracy
Ballot initiative/measure
Petition
חוק יסוד: משאל עם.
Cal. Elec. Code § 9238 (Westlaw through 2021 Reg. Sess. ch.770).
Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Ass'n v. City & Cty. of S.F., 274 Cal. Rptr. 3d 432 (Ct. App. 2021).
Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Ass'n v. Amador Water Agency, 250 Cal. Rptr. 3d 171 (Ct. App. 2019).
Wilde v. City of Dunsmuir, 470 P.3d 590 (Cal. 2020).
דנה אריאלי-הורוביץ פנטום בפוליטיקה : ישראל ומשאל העם (2006).
דנה בלאנדר וגדעון רהט (עורכים) משאל עם: מיתוס ומציאות (2000).
משאל-עם : מיתוס ומציאות by
תכליתו של נייר עמדה זה היא לעורר את השיח הציבורי סביב שימוש במשאל עם ככלי לקבלת הכרעות גורליות במדינת ישראל.
נייר העמדה מלמד שלא זאת בלבד שמנגנון משאל העם פגיע למניפולציות של בעלי עניין, אלא יש בו רכיבים שכל הכרעה לגבי אופיים - אפילו היא נעשית בידי גוף ניטרלי, בתום לב ומשיקולים ענייניים ומקצועיים - יש לה השלכה על התוצאות הצפויות של ההצבעה. אין כל דרך להבטיח שמשאל העם ייתן ביטוי נאמן לחלוטין לעמדות הציבור בסוגיה העומדת להכרעה.
נייר העמדה מורכב משלושה חלקים. החלק הראשון מנתח את מגוון האפשרויות לעיצוב מנגנון משאל העם על רכיביו השונים, ועומד על ההשפעות האפשריות של שימוש באלה בהקשר הישראלי. הוא משתמש בדוגמאות ממשאלי עם שנערכו בעולם הדמוקרטי, לשם ניתוח הרכיבים השונים והדגמת השפעתם. כמו כן יש התייחסות לרכיבים אלה כפי שהם מופיעים בחוק ובהצעות חוק שעלו בישראל בנושא זה. בין הרכיבים שהחלק הראשון דן בהם: המעמד החוקתי של משאל עם ומקור היזמה, ניסוח השאלה, סוגיית הרוב הדרוש לשם אישור ההכרעה ומימון מסע ההסברה.
החלק השני מציג את משאל העם בהקשר הדמוקרטי, הכללי והישראלי. במוקד חלק זה עומדים הנושאים הבאים: הוויכוח בין חסידי הדמוקרטיה הייצוגית לבין חסידי הדמוקרטיה הישירה כפי שהוא משתקף בשימוש במשאל עם ביזור וריכוז עצמה ומשאל העם השפעת אימוץ מנגנון זה על היחסים בין רשויות השלטון השפעת משאל העם על מעמד המפלגות, והשפעת כינונו של משאל עם על יחסי הגומלין בין הפוליטיקה לבין החברה הישראלית המשוסעת.
בהקשר הישראלי נטען שקיימת סכנה שמשאל העם רק יחריף את השסעים, ועלול להוות תקדים בנושאים אחרים החוצים את הציבור הישראלי. בנוסף, המחברים מציינים שהכנסת הכלי של משאל עם למערכת הפוליטית כמעין "רשות רביעית" עלול לערער את מערכת האיזונים והבלמים הקיימת בין הרשויות האחרות. משאל עם מהווה מכה נוספת שתספוג הדמוקרטיה הפרלמנטרית הישראלית: בצד הבחירה הישירה של ראש הממשלה והבחירות המוקדמות כפי שהתנהלו במערכות האחרונות, הכנסת והמפלגות הפוליטיות מתרוקנות מתוכן ממשי, ונגזלת מהמפלגות האפשרות למלא את פונקציות התיווך והאגרגציה של תביעות הציבור. משאל עם, ככלי הכרעה חותך ולא כמנגנון ייצוגי, אינו משאיר מקום לעמדות ביניים. במצב זה המפסיד נמחק והמנצח זוכה בכול, ומתקבלת הכרעה שאי-אפשר לערער עליה.
בחלק השלישי של נייר העמדה מוצעות חלופות אפשריות למשאל העם, כגון הכרעה של הכנסת ברוב מיוחד או עריכת בחירות חדשות.
נייר העמדה מציג גם את היתרון שבשימוש במשאל עם (השגת כר לגיטימציה רחב להחלטת הממשלה) וגם את נקודות התורפה (הטיות מובנות בכלי, ואופי ההכרעה הבלתי-מתפשר). המחברים מדגישים כי כל מנגנון דמוקרטי - בין אם המדובר בשיטת בחירות ובין אם המדובר במשאל עם - אינו פועל בחלל ריק אלא בחברה ובתרבות פוליטית קיימת. יש לשקול היטב אימוץ כלים ממערכות פוליטיות של מדינות אחרות, משום שאותו כלי בהקשר פוליטי, חברתי ותרבותי שונה, יכול לשמש חרב פיפיות. חשוב להעריך את ההבטחות והסכנות הטמונות בשימוש במשאל עם בישראל.
נייר העמדה מתמקד במשאל עם בנושא טריטוריאלי אך לפי דעת המחברים תהא זו טעות חמורה לחשוב כי השימוש במשאל עם הכרח שיהיה חד-פעמי. השימוש במשאל עם עלול להוות תקדים, ואפשר שיזמות לשימוש בו בנושאים אחרים יטילו צל על הדמוקרטיה הישראלית. האם הכרעות בנושאי יחסי דת ומדינה צריכות לעמוד למשאל עם? האם נראה בעתיד מצעד של "עתירות" למשאל עם ("רפרנדומיזציה של הפוליטיקה") בנושאים העומדים בלב המחלוקת בחברה הישראלית, כשם שאנו עדים היום ל"משפטיזציה של הפוליטיקה"? הפשרה היא ליבת הדמוקרטיה, והמנגנונים המתווכים את רצונו של הציבור חשובים ובישראל על אחת כמה וכמה, משום שהם מווסתים ומרסנים את המתחים והקונפליקטים.
המחברים מסכמים באומרם שאם ייערך משאל עם, יש לתת את הדעת לאופן שבו מותווים רכיביו השונים, שכן עשויה להיות לאלה השפעה רבה על מידת הלגיטימיות של ההכרעה המתקבלת. משאל עם עשוי להיות בעל השלכות מרחיקות לכת על מעמדן של קבוצות שונות בחברה הישראלית, על מאזן העצמה במערכת הפוליטית ועל אבני היסוד הדמוקרטיות שמדינת ישראל מושתתת עליהן. אם יתקיים משאל עם, יש לדעת כיצד להתייחס אליו ולתוצאותיו כדי למזער את נזקיו. מחד גיסא, תוצאות המשאל מחייבות, בהיותו חלק מכללי המשחק הדמוקרטי שאומצו בידי באי כוח הריבון, נציגיו של הציבור בכנסת. מאידך גיסא, אין לייחס להכרעה יותר ממה שיש בה: זוהי הכרעה על-ידי מנגנון קבלת החלטות הרחוק מלהיות אופטימלי. לדעת המחברים, אין זה המנגנון המועדף לקבלת הכרעות בכלל ובישראל בפרט.
Referendums and Representative Democracy by
This volume analyses how the use of referendums affects the central functions and characteristics of representative democracy. It provides a balanced account of the interaction between referendums and representative institutions and actors, seeking to evaluate whether referendums supplement or undermine representative democracy. Considering both normative and empirical questions, the volume also examines the particular circumstances under which referendums strengthen or weaken representative democracy. Providing a variety of theoretical and methodological approaches used in the study of referendums, this book is divided into three sections: Referendums and the Models of Democracy, The Demand of Referendums: Party Ideologies and Strategies, and Referendum Campaigns and Voter Behaviour. It features case studies on Ireland, Israel, Canada, California, Italy, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, the Nordic Countries, the Netherlands, Spain and the EU Constitutional Treaty. In addition to system-level evaluations of referendums, studies on the ideological attitudes of political actors and strategic use of referendums, the volume also provides analyses of referendum campaigns and voters' choices in referendums. Covering referendums on European integration, the volume also demonstrates how supra-national governance gives rise to the demand of referendums. This volume will be of interest to students and scholars of political science, political theory, comparative politics, and European studies.
Brexiternity: The Uncertain Fate of Britain by
Never in the lifetime of most British adults has there been such uncertainty about the future of the political and governing institutions of the state. Brexit has the potential to change everything - from the shape of government institutions, to the main political parties, from Britain's relationship with its near neighbour Ireland to its international trading. The idealists of the Leave campaign won their vote in 2016. But now the realists are gently taking over. Here, Denis MacShane explains how the Brexit process will be long and full of difficulties - arguing that a 'Brexiternity' of negotiations and internal political wrangling in Britain lies ahead.
Referendums and Ethnic Conflict by
Although referendums have been used for centuries to settle ethnonational conflicts, there had yet been no systematic study or generalized theory concerning their effectiveness until Matt Qvortrup's Referendums and Ethnic Conflict. Qvortrup's study filled the gap with a comparative and empirical analysis of all the referendums held on ethnic and national issues from the French Revolution to the 2012 referendum on statehood for Puerto Rico. Drawing on political theory and descriptive case studies, the scholar created typologies of referendums that are held to endorse secession, redraw disputed borders, legitimize a policy of homogenization, or otherwise manage ethnic or national differences. He considered the circumstances that compel politicians to resort to direct democracy, such as regime change, and the conditions that might exacerbate a violent response. Qvortrup offers a clear-eyed assessment of the problems raised when conflict resolution is sought through referendum as well as the conditions that are likely to lead to peaceful outcomes. This updated and revised edition includes a new introduction bringing the general field to the present, as well as new specific sections on Scotland (2014), Catalonia (2017), and the Brexit vote in the United Kingdom (2016). The original work's political framework now also covers the literature on identity politics, online campaigning, the regulation of social media, and how referendums are used increasingly as populist devices. This edition also updates referendum results through the end of 2020.
The Palgrave Handbook of European Referendums by
This handbook provides an empirically rich analysis of referendums in Europe from the end of the Second World War to the present. It addresses a range of perennial theoretical and legal questions that face policy-makers when they offer citizens the chance to take or influence decisions by referendum, not least whether to accept the 'will of the people'. Taking a multi-disciplinary approach, drawing on historical, philosophical and political science perspectives, the book includes a contextual section on the history of referendums, the theoretical questions underpinning their use, and on constitutional and legal questions about the use of referendums. The empirical sections are divided into those referendums that focus on domestic issues, such as constitutional matters or questions of social policy, and those related to the European Union, including membership referendums and treaty ratification.
Referendum Authorization Procedures in Europe: A Comparative Analysis by
Exploring the referendum practices of eight European states, this book unpacks the intricacies of the institutional and procedural settings of referendum authorization to reach an equilibrium between the exercise of popular sovereignty and the protection of rule of law. The book also examines how, by authorizing certain issues and refusing others, state institutions can exercise considerable control over the whole referendum process. Outlining how the rise of populist political parties and governments in Europe has brought direct democracy to the fore, this future-oriented book highlights four procedural guarantees that are compatible with democratic referendum authorization procedures. These include the independence and impartiality of the decision-maker, the right to a reasoned decision, the right to be heard and the right to an effective remedy. Using comparative analysis and data collection, the book demonstrates why these guarantees are minimum requirements to ensure that the rights of the initiators and voters are represented in the procedure and therefore reduce the risk of arbitrary decision-making. This state-of-the-art title will be an invaluable resource for academics and students of constitutional and administrative law, politics and public policy. With its practical application, governmental policy-makers and practitioners will benefit widely from the book.
יובל וורגן ודפנה בן-פורת סקירה משווה בנושא: דרכים לתיקון חוקה (הכנסת, מרכז מחקר ומידע 2005).
דן להב משאל עם - סקירת רקע: שיקולים והיבטים מרכזיים בעיצוב הצעת חוק למשאל עם (הכנסת, מרכז מחקר ומידע 2004).
מעודכן ל: 14.12.2023
כל האזכורים של מקורות יש לאזכר לפי כללי האזכור האחיד והבלובוק. סרטוני הדרכה על אזכור חקיקה ופסיקה.
|
||||||||||||||
