מעודכן ל: 18.11.2024
Search as a topic:
Medical laws and legislation
Search as keywords:
medical ethics
Doctor-Patient Relationships
patient preference
Paul Burton, Man Can’t Get Heart Transplant Because He’s Not Vaccinated Against COVID, CBS Bos. (Jan. 24, 2022, 11:59 pm), https://boston.cbslocal.com/2022/01/24/covid-19-vaccine-heart-transplant-boston-brigham-womens-hospital-dj-ferguson/.
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, COVID-19 vaccination for transplant candidates, https://www.brighamandwomens.org/about-bwh/newsroom/transplant-candidate-vaccination (last visited Jan. 27, 2022).
Treatise on Health Care Law, (Hooper, Lundy & Bookman, Inc. eds.) (MB) Lexis (database updated Nov. 2021).
American College of Legal Medicine, Legal Medicine, Lexis (7th ed. 2007).
Medical Law and Ethics
by
For courses in medical law or ethics in programs for nurses, medical assistants, and other allied health care professionals. A plain-language guide to the law and ethics of healthcare Medical Law and Ethics examines the essentials of pertinent laws and the ethical demands of healthcare professions. Clear and readable, the text helps students identify the ethical norms they will adhere to in their chosen field. Real legal cases and stimulating exercises challenge learners to envision their responses to legal and ethical dilemmas in healthcare today. The 6th edition covers issues of increasing concern in hospitals and medical offices, including the opioid crisis in the US, electronic recordkeeping, and the needs of elderly and handicapped populations. New! Also available with MyLab Health Professions By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. Developed for allied health students and instructors, MyLab Health Professions supports students' mastery and application of the skills they'll need for a successful career in health care. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Health Professions does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Health Professions, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Mason & McCall Smith's Law & Medical Ethics
by
Two brand new chapters ('Introduction to bioethics' and 'Critical frameworks in bioethics') introduce students to concepts, theories, and tools that frame interpretation and analysis of health and medical law
A new chapter provides an overview of the health systems and institutions in operation across the UK and examines these in the context of devolution, as well as the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic and Brexit
The table of contents has been reorganised and streamlined to enhance clarity and focus on current issues in the discipline
Provides analysis of important policy and legal developments involving the National Health Service (Health and Social Care Act 2022), patient safety (Medicines and Medical Devices Act 2021), public health (Coronavirus Act 2020), mental health laws (Mental Health Bill 2022) and new deemed consent regimes for deceased organ donation
Includes coverage of significant new cases in the area, such as Bell v Tavistock, ABC v St George's Healthcare NHS Trust, A Local Authority v JB, Khan v Meadows, Toombes v Mitchell, and McCulloch v Forth Valley Health Board
Ethical Judgments
by
This edited collection is designed to explore the ethical nature of judicial decision-making, particularly relating to cases in the health/medical sphere, where judges are often called upon to issue rulings on questions containing an explicit ethical component. However, judges do not receive any specific training in ethical decision-making, and often disown any place for ethics in their decision-making. Consequently, decisions made by judges do not present consistent or robust ethical theory, even when cases appear to rely on moral claims.The project explores this dichotomy by imagining a world in which decisions by judges have to be ethically as well as legally valid. Nine specific cases are reinterpreted in light of that requirement by leading academics in the fields of medical law and bioethics. Two judgments are written in each case, allowing for different views to be presented. Two commentaries - one ethical and one legal - then explore the ramifications of the ethical judgments and provide an opportunity to explore the two judgments from additional ethical and legal perspectives. These four different approaches to each judgment allow for a rich and varied critique of the decisions and ethical theories and issues at play in each case.
The Legitimacy of Medical Treatment: What Role for the Medical Exception?
by
Whenever the legitimacy of a new or ethically contentious medical intervention is considered, a range of influences will determine whether the treatment becomes accepted as lawful medical treatment. The development and introduction of abortion, organ donation, gender reassignment, and non-therapeutic cosmetic surgery have, for example, all raised ethical, legal, and clinical issues. This book examines the various factors that legitimatise a medical procedure. Bringing together a range of internationally and nationally recognised academics from law, philosophy, medicine, health, economics, and sociology, the book explores the notion of a treatment, practice, or procedure being proper medical treatment, and considers the range of diverse factors which might influence the acceptance of a particular procedure as appropriate in the medical context. Contributors address such issues as clinical judgement and professional autonomy, the role of public interest, and the influence of resource allocation in decision-making. In doing so, the book explores how the law, the medical profession, and the public interact in determining whether a new or ethically contentious procedure should be regarded as legitimate. This book will be of interest and use to researchers and students of bioethics, medical law, criminal law, and the sociology of medicine. Chapter 6 of this book 'Family perspectives on proper medical treatment for people in prolonged vegetative and minimally conscious states' by Celia Kitzinger and Jenny Kitzinger is available under an open access CC BY NC ND license and can be viewed at: http://preview.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/prevqa/NBK199156/ .
Principles of Medical Law
by
Principles of Medical Law is the leading practitioner text in its field. Now in its fourth edition, it provides a comprehensive and scholarly account of the common law and statutory provisions governing healthcare provision in England and Wales. It offers an authoritative and up-to-date account of medical law whilst also seeking to set the law in context and critique its application. The contributors include many of the leading academics and practitioners working in the area of medical law today, who together offer a balanced, reliable, and considered perspective. The clear layout, accessible writing style, extensive referencing, and detailed index make this an indispensable research tool for practitioners and academics alike.
Canadian Health Law and Policy
by
The book includes a chapter on health law and policy issues in relation to indigenous peoples of Canada; new statutes, policy documents and court decisions; an overview of recent negligence cases and issues; and a review of legal and policy.
מעודכן ל: 18.11.2024
כל האזכורים של מקורות יש לאזכר לפי כללי האזכור האחיד והבלובוק. סרטוני הדרכה על אזכור חקיקה ופסיקה.
|
