מעודכן ל: 8.9.2025
Search as a topic:
surrogate motherhood
surrogate mothers
contracting pregnancy
In Re Baby M. 537 A.2d 1227 (N.J. 1988), superseded by statute, N.J. Rev. Stat. § 9:3-46 (LEXIS through 2021 2d Ann. Sess. ch.272), as recognized in In re Adoption of Children by G.P.B., 736 A.2d 1277 (N.J. 1999).
Research Handbook on Surrogacy and the Law
by
This essential Research Handbook provides a multifaceted exploration of surrogacy and the law, examining a variety of critical yet under-researched perspectives including globalisation, power, gender, sexual orientation, genetics, human rights and family relations. Bringing together diverse, expert contributors, this contemporary Research Handbook covers four distinct topics: surrogacy and rights, the interplay between surrogacy and different areas of the law, cross-border aspects, and regional perspectives. Building on case studies from a multitude of countries, astute authors tackle significant issues related to surrogacy in their legal context, as well as their theoretical, cultural and political complexities. The Research Handbook on Surrogacy and the Lawwill be a crucial resource for scholars and students specialising in family law, as well as those interested in human rights law, health law, social science and social policy. Highlighting avenues for future research and legislation, it will also be beneficial to legal practitioners and national and international policymakers in the field.
Assisted Reproduction in Israel: Law, Culture, and Religion
by
The main argument in this BRP is that assisted reproduction in Israel gives expression to and develops the right to procreate. It is a complex right, and therefore at times no consensus has been reached on the form of its actual application (as in the case of surrogacy and egg donation, and, from a different direction, in that of posthumous sperm retrieval). This right, however, despite the debates on its boundaries, is widely accepted, practiced, and even encouraged in the Israeli context, with a constructive collaboration of three main elements: the Israeli civil legal system, religious law (which in the context of the Israeli majority is Jewish law), and Israeli society and culture.
Morrissey's Surrogacy Law in a Nutshell
by
Surrogacy has made parents out of people who thought it might never be possible. This book builds from the author's personal experience with surrogacy as an intended parent, but also as a law professor who has authored articles on surrogacy and a casebook in the field of contracts. This book is for the students, professionals and academics focusing on surrogacy, but is also for the intended parents, surrogates, and egg donors themselves to help with detailed information about the legal risks that need to be managed and the contracts involved that need to be structured to minimize that risk. This book combines an over-arching legal perspective with real world practical experience and stories. It is the author's hope that this book will inspire those contemplating surrogacy to pursue their family formation dream and give guidance to professionals and academics to help those people achieve miraculous results.
Eastern and Western Perspectives on Surrogacy
by
Over the past 10 years, a convergence of scientific, demographic, legal and social developments has led to a significant influx of cases of international surrogacy. What was previously a marginal form of parenthood has become a multi-billion dollar industry, raising concerns for surrogate mothers, commissioning parents, and children alike. Lawyers, philosophers and health care professionals have struggled to formulate a framework to ensure the protection of surrogate mothers from exploitation, whilst combatting the vulnerability of commissioning parents to agencies and intermediaries, and providing children born as a result of this practice with certainty regarding their identity, status, and nationality.The transnational nature of the issues raised in relation to international surrogacy agreements means that individual states have struggled to take decisive action, and there remains a myriad of different responses to this issue. This book brings together experts from Eastern and Western backgrounds, to consider the way in which different jurisdictions have responded to surrogacy, both within their own borders, and when an international agreement takes place involving one of their citizens. Each chapter includes a discussion of the laws concerning the establishment and contestation of legal parentage through surrogacy under domestic law; the rules and laws concerning surrogacy arrangements on a domestic level; and approaches to recognition of legal parenthood acquired through surrogacy in other jurisdictions. In addition, the chapters consider the socio-economic context of surrogacy in the chosen jurisdictions, through questions concerning the profile of surrogate mothers and commissioning parents, the involvement of intermediaries, and the nature of the interactions between these parties. In this way, the book provides a comprehensive understanding of the confluences and tensions in the way surrogacy is approached in these jurisdictions, and seeks to identify trends emerging from these different regions.In doing so, Eastern and Western Perspectives on Surrogacy seeks to contribute to the greater understanding of the regulation of surrogacy throughout the world, and will serve as a reference work for anyone involved in practice, academia or law reform in this subject area.
Cross-Cultural Comparisons on Surrogacy and Egg Donation: Interdisciplinary Perspectives from India, Germany and Israel
by
This book is the first to bring together an interdisciplinary collection of essays on surrogacy and egg donation from three socially, legally and culturally distinct countries - India, Israel and Germany. It presents contributions from experts in the field of social and cultural sciences, bioethics, law as well as psychology and provides critical-reflective comparative analysis of the socio-ethical factors shaping surrogacy and egg donation practices across these three countries. This book highlights the importance of a comparative perspective to 'make sense' of controversies and transitions in this highly contested area of artificial reproductive technologies. It demonstrates how local developments cannot be isolated from global events and vice versa. Therefore, this volume can be used as a standard reference for anyone seeking to understand surrogacy and egg donation from a macro-perspective in the next decade.
לפניות והערות כתבו ל:irinabo@savion.huji.ac.il
מעודכן ל: 8.9.2025
כל האזכורים של מקורות יש לאזכר לפי כללי האזכור האחיד והבלובוק. סרטוני הדרכה על אזכור חקיקה ופסיקה.
|
