מעודכן ל: 5.9.2024
The Cambridge Handbook of Comparative Law by
Comparative law is a common subject-matter of research and teaching in many universities around the world, and the twenty-first century has aptly been termed 'the era of comparative law'. This Cambridge Handbook of Comparative Law presents a truly global perspective of comparative law today. The contributors are drawn from all parts of the world to provide different perspectives on how we understand the 'law' and how it operates in practice. In substance, the Handbook contains 36 chapters covering a broad range of topics, divided under the following headings: 'Methods of Comparative Law' (Part I), 'Legal Families and Geographical Comparisons' (Part II), 'Central Themes in Comparative Law' (Part III); and 'Comparative Law beyond the State' (Part IV).
Comparative Law by
Comparative Law offers a thorough grounding in the subject for students and scholars alike, covering essential academic discussions and comparative law methodology. It critically debates both traditional and modern approaches to the discipline and uses examples from a range of jurisdictions to give the reader a truly global perspective. Its contextualised and interdisciplinary approach draws on examples from politics, economics and other social sciences to provide an original contribution to topics of comparative law. This new third edition is fully revised to reflect developments in the scholarship and includes two new chapters, balancing the book's structure between comparative law of the past, present and future. Suitable for students taking courses in comparative law and related fields, this book offers a fresh and cosmopolitan perspective on the subject.
Comparative Legal Traditions in a Nutshell by
This nutshell offers a general introduction to comparative law that includes both an overview of the methods of comparative law as well as of the two most widespread legal traditions in the world: civil (or Romano-Germanic) law and common law. For both legal traditions, this expert discussion covers their history; legal structures, including constitutional systems, courts, and judicial review; the roles of central legal actors, including lawyers, judges, and scholars; an overview of civil and criminal procedure; the principal sources of law and divisions of substantive law; and the judicial process. Throughout, the discussion also includes references to the place and the importance of supranational law and institutions and their impact on the civil law and common law traditions in Europe.
Comparing Legal Cultures by
In the present era of internationalisation of law, being able to analyse legal culture enables legal cooperation. However, legal culture is still more a theoretical concept than an analytical tool applied when approaching law. There are many kinds of legal cultures, concerning different groups of legal actors or covering different geographical areas, and they are at times overlapping. However, the national legal culture is still the one that has the largest influence on the everyday life of citizens and the day-to-day work of lawyers. In this book, the editors first theorize on and give practical guidance on how to identify, deconstruct and examine legal culture. Based on a common analytical framework, the editors and a large number of expert contributors explore central institutional and intellectual features of legal culture in 12 European countries next to USA, China and Australia allowing the reader to systematically compare legal cultures.This is the second and extended version of Comparing Legal Cultures, which is the first thorough and extensive book that analyses national legal cultures as an approach to comparative law.
Reasons and Context in Comparative Law: Essays in Honour of John Bell by
In honour of the work and writings of Professor John Bell, leading scholars present essays on factors affecting the course of 'legal development' in common law and Civilian systems. The reasons and context for legal development in a comparative perspective embrace the law both in action and in the books, legal institutions, legal cultures, and the extra-legal environment. Offering an accessible pathway into understanding comparative law, the collection introduces the core features of understanding foreign legal systems. With a range of illustrative case studies, the essays explore topical problems and debates in tort, contract, legal history, and judicial studies. In a tribute to one of the defining legal scholars of our time, this volume draws a rich, nuanced picture of the object of comparative legal research, and indicates new and exciting avenues for further research.
Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Law by
Bringing together over 260 authors from 50 countries, the Encyclopedia of Comparative Lawis the most comprehensive reference work in the field of comparative law. The Encyclopedia provides a unique collection of entries, written by authorities in their field, on the current state of this ever-emerging discipline. Entries provide unique insights into not only classical themes within the field but also expand the comparative method to many new topics - showing the way ahead for future scholarship. In addition, many topics are placed within a broader context, with attention given to aspects of social science, economics and anthropology. Entries are alphabetically arranged, covering topical aspects of comparative law as well as country reports addressing the world's most important jurisdictions. The Encyclopedia is an indispensable source of information for anyone dealing with comparative and international aspects of the law. Key Features: A comprehensive range of over 225 substantive entries Entries organised alphabetically for ease of navigation Fully cross-referenced Special focus on methods used in comparative scholarship Entries written by the world's foremost scholars of comparative law World class editorial team
מעודכן ל: 5.9.2024
כל האזכורים של מקורות יש לאזכר לפי כללי האזכור האחיד והבלובוק. סרטוני הדרכה על אזכור חקיקה ופסיקה.
|
