מעודכן ל: 20.08.2023
A Dictionary of Law by
This bestselling dictionary is an authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. It contains over 4,800 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system.Now in its ninth edition, it has been fully updated to incorporate recent case law and the latest legislation, such as the Modern Slavery Act 2015, the Brexit legislation, and changes in consumer, tax, and family law. Over 100 new entries have been added, including Article 50, Brexit, the Marriage(Same Sex Couples) Act 2013, and intercountry adoption. In addition, there is a useful Writing and Citation Guide that specifically addresses problems and established conventions for writing legal essays and reports. Now providing more information than ever before, this edition features recommendedweb links for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Law companion website.Described by leading university lecturers as "the best law dictionary" and "excellent for non-law students as well as law undergraduates", this classic dictionary is an invaluable source of legal reference for professionals, students, and anyone else needing succinct clarification of legal terms.Focusing primarily on English law, it also provides a one-stop source of information for any of the many countries that base their legal system on English law.
Introduction to the English Legal System by
Introduction to the English Legal System is the ideal foundation for those coming new to the study of law. Writing in a highly engaging and accessible style, Martin Partington introduces the purposes and functions of English law, the law-making process, and the machinery of justice, while alsochallenging assumptions and exploring current debates.Consolidating over 40 years' experience in the law, Martin Partington examines beliefs about the English legal system, and encourages students to question how far it meets the growing demands placed on it. Incorporating all the latest developments, this concise introduction brings law and the legalsystem to life.Digital formats and resources:This edition is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by online resources.- The e-book offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with functionality tools, navigation features, and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooks- The online resources include questions for reflection and discussion; self-test questions; a glossary; further reading materials; web links; and a link to Martin Partington's blog, which covers key developments in the English justice system.
Parliament and the law by
Parliament and the Law (Second Edition) is an edited collection of essays, supported by the UK's Study of Parliament Group, including contributions by leading constitutional lawyers, political scientists and parliamentary officials. It provides a wide-ranging overview of the ways in which the law applies to, and impacts upon, the UK Parliament, and it considers how recent changes to the UK's constitutional arrangements have affected Parliament as an institution. It includes authoritative discussion of a number of issues of topical concern, such as: the operation of parliamentary privilege, the powers of Parliament's select committees, parliamentary scrutiny, devolution, English Votes for English Laws, Members' conduct and the governance of both Houses. It also contains chapters on financial scrutiny, parliamentary sovereignty, Parliament and human rights, and the administration of justice. Aimed mainly at legal academics, practitioners, and political scientists, it will also be of interest to anyone who is curious about the many fascinating ways in which the law interacts with and influences the work, the constitutional status and the procedural arrangements of the Westminster Parliament.
מעודכן ל: 20.08.2023
כל האזכורים של מקורות יש לאזכר לפי כללי האזכור האחיד והבלובוק. סרטוני הדרכה על אזכור חקיקה ופסיקה.
|
