מעודכן ל: 4.1.2024
Rules of Engagement
Directives issued by competent military authority that delineate the circumstances and limitations under which United States forces will initiate and/or continue combat engagement with other forces encountered. Also called ROE. See also law of war.
Rules of Engagement, DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE DICTIONARY OF MILITARY AND ASSOCIATED TERMS, 207 (2016) (JP 1-04).
Law of War (Law of Armed Conflict or LOW or LOAC)
The law that governs states and individuals in armed conflict. The law of war is both a part of international law that regulates the conduct of armed hostilities and a part of the law of the United States and of other nation-states that binds those individuals within its jurisdiction to comply. The law of war includes all international law for the conduct of hostilities binding on the United States or its individual citizens, including treaties and international agreements to which the United States is a party, and applicable customary international law. The law of armed conflict is another name for the law of war, the principles and rules of the two being the same, the difference being only the emphasis in the law of armed conflict extending to a conflict that is not formally denominated as a war.
Law of War (Law of Armed Conflict or LOW or LOAC), STEPHEN MICHAEL SHEPPARD, THE WOLTERS KLUWER BOUVIER LAW DICTIONARY DESK EDITION – ETTOC (2012), Lexis.
Friendly fire (1918)
The use of weapons by one's own side in an armed conflict, esp. when it results in one or more casualties to that side.
Friendly Fire, Black’s Law Dictionary (11th ed. 2019).
Fratricide
Causing the death of one's own brother or sister. Fratricide is the homicide of one's brother or sister.
In military slang, fratricide is the killing of a fellow soldier or sailor by a member of the same military service or unit.
Fratricide, Stephen Michael Sheppard. The Wolters Kluwer Bouvier Law Dictionary Desk Edition – ETTOC (2012). Lexis
אש ידידותית
אש כוחותינו
ירי דו-צדדי
הריגה בשוגג
הוראות פתיחה באש
Fratricide
Friendly personnel by friendly weapons
Friendly fire (military science)
Involuntary manslaughter
Rules of Engagement (ROE)
Law of Armed Conflict (LOAC)
Amicicide
Blue on blue (UK)
"חדל אש, צה"ל, צה"ל..." : ירי כוחותינו על כוחותינו - הכאב הבלתי נמנע של ה"אש הידידותית" by
חמישה־עשר חיילים נהרגו תחת פיקודי כמפקד חטיבת הצנחנים במילואים "הנשר", במלחמת לבנון השנייה (2006). שנים־עשר מהם בפגיעת הקטיושה בכפר גלעדי ושלושה נוספים בשלושה אירועי דו"צ - ירי כוחותינו על כוחותינו. שלושה אירועים שונים. החטיבה נלחמה בתשעה כפרים. לאורך ימי הלחימה היו לחטיבה כמאה פצועים, אולם הרוגים בלחימה בתוך לבנון היו לנו רק מאירועי דו"צ. תופעת הירי של כוחותינו על כוחותינו מלווה כקללה את הקרבות משחר ההיסטוריה, והיא תמשיך ותלווה את עשיית הלחימה כל עוד בני אנוש ייקחו בה חלק. צה"ל אינו פטור מקללה זו, ובשל היותו צבא המבוסס על שירות חובה ולא צבא מקצועי בהגדרתו, הוא חשוף אליו אך יותר. הספר נכתב ברוח הציווי כי חובה על המפקד הקרבי להכיר בתופעה למען השגת משימתו, ולא למען צמצום התופעה. הגברת האפקטיביות הקרבית היא שתצמצם את התופעה והיא גם זו שתקרב את היחידה הלוחמת לעמידה נמשימתה.
Human Factors Issues in Combat Identification by
This edited book presents an array of approaches on how human factors theory and research addresses the challenges associated with combat identification. Special emphasis is placed on reducing human error that leads to fratricide, which is the unintentional death or injury of friendly personnel by friendly weapons during an enemy engagement. Although fratricide has been a concern since humans first engaged in combat operations, it gained prominence during the Persian Gulf War. To reduce fratricide, advances in technological approaches to enhance combat identification (e.g., Blue Force Tracker) should be coupled with the application of human factors principles to reduce human error. The book brings together a diverse group of authors from academic and military researchers to government contractors and commercial developers to provide a single volume with broad appeal. Human Factors Issues in Combat Identification is intended for the larger human factors community within academia, the military and other organizations that work with the military such as government contractors and commercial developers as well as others interested in combat identification issues including military personnel and policy makers.
Fratricide in Battle: (Un)friendly Fire by
Fratricide, or 'Friendly Fire', is a persistent and unwelcome feature in war. Can it be avoided? How can it be properly understood?Beginning with a historical analysis, Fratricide in Battle examines all aspects of the problem, covering both human and technical factors, before looking at a range of measures currently in use to tackle the issue.Charles Kirke brings together an international group of experts in the field, from both military and academic backgrounds, to provide a thorough examination of this crucial subject. Taken together, their contributions offer a comprehensive understanding of fratricide in its historical context and suggest important lessons for future generations.
The Human Factors of Fratricide by
Fratricide has been defined as firing on your own forces, when mistaking them for enemy forces, which results in injury or death. Rates of fratricide incidence have been steadily increasing and the complexity of the contemporary operating environment may lead to a continuation of this trend. Although the majority of research into fratricide has focused on the development of technological decision aids, recent explorations highlight the need to emphasise the social aspects within a socio-technical framework. This book presents and validates, via the use of case studies, a model of teamwork and decision-making factors that are associated with incidents of fratricide. In summary, it offers a review and evaluation of contemporary theoretical perspectives on teamwork and fratricide, as well as a range of accident analysis approaches. A novel theory of fratricide is then presented followed by a new methodology for assessing fratricide. Naturalistic case studies of teams are undertaken in the military domain. These studies illustrate the approach and offer early validation evidence. In closing, the book presents a series of principles designed to reduce the likelihood of fratricide in the future.
The Law of Armed Conflict: International Humanitarian Law in War by
Newly revised and updated, The Law of Armed Conflict, introduces students to the law of war in an age of terrorism. What law of armed conflict (LOAC) or its civilian counterpart, international humanitarian law (IHL), applies in a particular armed conflict? Are terrorists bound by that law? What constitutes a war crime? What (or who) is a lawful target and how are targeting decisions made? What are 'rules of engagement' and who formulates them? How can an autonomous weapon system be bound by the law of armed conflict? Why were the Guantánamo military commissions a failure? Featuring new chapters, this book takes students through these topics and more, employing real-world examples and legal opinions from the US and abroad. From Nuremberg to 9/11, from courts-martial to the US Supreme Court, from the nineteenth century to the twenty-first, the law of war is explained, interpreted, and applied with clarity and depth.
Rules of Engagement and the International Law of Military Operations by
The book systematically analyses the relationship and interaction between rules of engagement (ROE) and the legal framework regulating armed conflicts, both at the international and national levels. At the international level, the relationship between ROE and human rights law and internationalhumanitarian law is explored. At the national level, the book relates ROE to (comparative) criminal law. A separate chapter analyses the complex relationship between self-defence law and rules of engagement.It is the first monograph to comprehensively examine these issues and to analyse how ROE interact with the various sources of the (international) law of military operations, both in terms of the law as a source for these rules and how the law is reflected and implemented through them. In doing so,and based on the author's own experience, the book provides examples of how complicated, often controversial issues of law can be resolved while keeping the rules understandable at all levels of military operations.Aimed at both scholars and practitioners, the book provides a bridge between the academic world and the operational world. It provides new insights for both of those audiences in terms of understanding how the law applies to - and through - the rules on the use of force for militaryoperations.
NATO Rules of Engagement: On ROE, Self-Defence and the Use of Force during Armed Conflict by
In NATO Rules of Engagement, Camilla Guldahl Cooper offers clarity on a topic prone to confusion and misunderstanding. NATO rules of engagement (ROE) are of considerable political, strategic and operational importance, yet many of its concepts lack clarity. The resulting ambiguity may be detrimental for people involved and for mission accomplishment. Through a thorough analysis of the concept, purpose, development and use of NATO ROE, Cooper contributes to improved understanding and implementation of NATO ROE. The book covers all use of force categories and relevant law relating to the use of force during armed conflicts, including the complex concepts of hostile act and hostile intent, direct participation in hostilities, and the increasing reliance on self-defence during armed conflict.
כל האזכורים של מקורות יש לאזכר לפי כללי האזכור האחיד והבלובוק. סרטוני הדרכה על אזכור חקיקה ופסיקה.
|
