מעודכן ל: 2.4.2025
Search as a subject
Technology and Law
Artificial intelligence
Algo Bots and the Law by
The trillion-dollar markets for futures, swaps, commodity options, and related derivatives are extremely important to the global economy because, among other things, they influence the prices that people pay for everything from heating oil and bread to the interest rates connected to mortgages and student loans. Due to technological advances in automation and artificial intelligence, these markets have recently undergone a dramatic transformation away from human-centered trading and operations to control by high-speed automated systems. In this work, Gregory Scopino explains how such changes present challenges to the oversight of these markets and discusses potential ways for authorities to address issues presented by computerized trading and related systems. This book should be read by anyone interested in learning how artificial intelligence is used in the financial markets and how those markets are - and should be - regulated.
EU Internet law in the Digital Single Market by
With the ongoing evolution of the digital society challenging the boundaries of the law, new questions are arising – and new answers being given – even now, almost three decades on from the digital revolution. Written by a panel of legal specialists and edited by experts on EU Internet law, this book provides an overview of the most recent developments affecting the European Internet legal framework, specifically focusing on four current debates. Firstly, it discusses the changes in online copyright law, especially after the enactment of the new directive on the single digital market. Secondly, it analyzes the increasing significance of artificial intelligence in our daily life. The book then addresses emerging issues in EU digital law, exploring out of the box approaches in Internet law. It also presents the last cyber-criminality law trends (offenses, international instrument, behaviors), and discusses the evolution of personal data protection. Lastly, it evaluates the degree of consumer and corporate protection in the digital environment, demonstrating that now, more than ever, EU Internet law is based on a combination of copyright, civil, administrative, criminal, commercial and banking laws.
Law and Culture in the Age of Technology by
Scientific experiments and medical improvements in recent years have augmented our bodies, made them manipulable; our personal data have been downloaded, stored, sold, analyzed; and the pandemic has given new meaning to the idea of 'virtual presence'. Such phenomena are often thought to belong to the era of the 'posthuman', an era that both promises and threatens to redefine the notion of the human: what does it mean to be human? Can technological advances impact the way we define ourselves as a species? What will the future of humankind look like? These questions have gained urgency in recent years, and continue to preoccupy cultural and legal practitioners alike. How can the law respond and adapt to a world shaped by technology and AI? How can it ensure that technological developments remain inclusive, while simultaneously enforcing ethical limits to its reach? The volume explores how fictional texts, whether on the page or on screen, negotiate the legal dilemmas posed by the increasing infiltration of technology into modern life.
Law of the Internet by
Internet law is changing almost as fast as technology itself -- making it vital to the success of your case that your research is based on all the latest laws and key decisions that interpret them.
Law of the Internet is an easy-to-use resource written for busy practitioners like you, with summaries of major cases and statutes, and forms you can adapt to the specifics of your case. Stay ahead of the game with this annually-updated, one-volume treatise, which provides comprehensive analysis of legal issues raised by the Internet and insightful commentary on future directions the law may take.
Matthew Bender Collection on Lexis
Legal Challenges in the New Digital Age by
The papers collected in this volume address the emerging issues in fresh and thoughtful ways. They lay the foundation for taming the brave new world that technological progress is now thrusting upon us.
Technology, Humans, and Discontent with Law: The Quest for Better Governance by
This book analyses discontent with law and assesses the prospect of better governance by technology. In the first part of the book, where the context is 'low tech', the range of discontent with law is examined; the underlying reasons for such discontent are identified (namely, the human nature of the legal enterprise, its reliance on rules, and the pluralistic nature of human communities); and the reasonableness of such discontent is assessed. In the second part of the book, where the context is 'high-tech' (with new tools becoming available to undertake governance functions), the question is whether discontent with law is further provoked or, to the contrary, is eased. While new technologies provoke further discontent with law's claimed authority, its ineffectiveness, and its principles, positions, and policies, they also promise more effective and efficient ways of achieving order. The book closes with some reflections on the ambivalence that humans might experience when faced with the choice between law's governance and apparently better performing governance by technology. That law's governance is imperfect is undeniable; that humans should quest after better governance is right; but, the shape of our technological futures is unclear. This accessibly written book will appeal to scholars and students who are working in the broad and burgeoning field of law, regulation, and technology, as well as to legal theorists, political scientists, and sociologists with interests in the impact of new technology.
Web3 Governance: Law and Policy by
Focusing on four key aspects of Web3, the book explores metaverses, data governance, public and private law interfaces, and access to justice, presenting new research on the impact of data analytics on transactions within law, on regulatory activities, and on the practice of law.
Artificial intelligence (AI) and data analytics have played a key role in the development of Web3, transforming the governance of existing digital platforms and enabling the formation of new platforms. Web3 is increasingly used for commercial and social interactions and is predicted to be the future of the internet. As a blockchain-based web, Web3 provides a platform for cryptocurrencies, non-fungible tokens (NFTs), decentralised autonomous organisations, and decentralised finance. Web3 users can read, write, and even own their own version of the web, which has transformed the space for commerce and social interaction, but brings inherent risks. This book identifies the principles in law and policy which can be used as the basis for the development of Web3 activities and their regulation with a focus on security, scalability, and sustainability. Though digital platforms and underlying technologies have reshaped our daily lives and business practices, they have also caused numerous legal problems. The book considers the interaction of data analytics with well-established fields of study such as financial law, tax law, intellectual property, data protection, private international law, and internet law.
Fifty-Third Selected Bibliography on Computers, Technology and the Law (January 2021 through December 2021), 48 Rutgers Computer & Tech. L.J. 301 (2022).
Each year, the Journal provides a compilation of the most important and timely Articles on computers, technology, and the law. The Bibliography, indexed by subject matter, is designed to be a research guide to assist our readers in searching for recent Articles on computer and technology law. This year's annual Bibliography contains over 1000 Articles, found through the examination of over 1000 periodicals.
The Bibliography aims to include topics on every legal aspect of computers and technology. However, as new issues in this field emerge, we welcome your suggestions for additional topics and sources, as well as your commentary on the Bibliography.
לפניות והערות כתבו ל:irinabo@savion.huji.ac.il
מעודכן ל: 2.4.2025
כל האזכורים של מקורות יש לאזכר לפי כללי האזכור האחיד והבלובוק. סרטוני הדרכה על אזכור חקיקה ופסיקה.
|
