מעודכן ל: 3.12.2025
תעסוקה זמנית
תעסוקה חלקית
עובד עצמאי
מיקור חוץ
תעסוקה מעורערת
כלכלת חלטורה
כלכלת שיתוף
כלכלת הפלטפורמה
Temporary Employment
Part-time Employment
Gig Economy Workers
Gig Work
Non Standard Workers
Independent Contractors
Uber
Digital Platform Labour/Labor
Precarious employment
Self-employed
Sharing economy
Atypical workers
Platform economy
Beyond the Algorithm: Qualitative Insights for Gig Work Regulation
by
In Beyond the Algorithm: Qualitative Insights for Gig Work Regulation, Deepa Das Acevedo and a collection of scholars and experts show why government actors must go beyond mass surveys and data-scrubbing in order to truly understand the realities of gig work. The contributors draw on qualitative empirical research to reveal the narratives and real-life experiences that define gig work, and they connect these insights to policy debates being fought out in courts, town halls, and even in Congress itself. The book also bridges academic and non-academic worlds by drawing on the experiences of drivers, journalists, and workers' advocates who were among the first people to study gig work from the bottom up. This book is a must-read for anyone interested in gig work, the legal infrastructure surrounding it, and how that infrastructure can and must be improved.
Democracy, Social Justice and the Role of Trade Unions
by
Trade unions are central to Australian social, economic and political life. They are the largest voluntary organisations in the country, are a significant presence in political life, and, as workplace organisations, are often the only effective vehicle to give voice to working people. Their role is nevertheless under serious challenge, with low and declining union density and shrinking coverage of collective bargaining. Controversies surrounding several union officials have called into the question the legitimacy of trade unions. And for some governments, trade unions are not social partners but rather targets of restrictive legislation. Despite these tensions, there has yet to be a broad and systematic scholarly engagement with the challenge to the centrality of trade unions in Australian social, economic and political life. Existing literature tends either to examine trade unionism from an historical perspective or to focus upon the regulation of the role of unions in the workplace. This book aims to fill this gap by bringing together leading scholars in industrial relations, law, political science and political philosophy to critically assess the role of Australian trade unions. In doing so, it is organised according to two themes. First, the book examines the democratic role of trade unions as representatives of working people and addresses issues such as economic democracy and the rule of law in the workplace, political funding and trade agreements. Second, the book examines the social justice role of trade unions in providing a countervailing force to employer power including in relation to precarious work, the 'gig' economy, labour migration and the pressing global challenge of climate change. The concluding contribution weaves these two themes of democracy and social justice together in proposing a democratic socialist vision of trade unions and labour law.
Digital Work Platforms at the Interface of Labour Law
by
This open access book shows how to design labour rights to effectively protect digital platform workers, organise accountability on digital work platforms, and guarantee workers' collective representation and action. It acknowledges that digital work platforms entail enormous risks for workers, and at the same time it reveals the extent to which labour law is in need of reconstruction. The book focusses on the conceptual links - often overlooked in the past - between labour law's categories and its regulatory approaches. By explaining and analysing the wealth of approaches that deconstruct and reconceptualise labour law, the book uncovers the organisational ideas that permeate labour law's categories as well as its policy approaches in a variety of jurisdictions. These ideas reveal a lack of fit between labour law's traditional concepts and digital platform work: digital work platforms rarely behave like hierarchical organisations; instead, they more often function as market organisers. The book provides a fresh perspective for international academic and policy debates on the regulation of digital work platforms, as well as on the purposes and foundations of labour law. It offers a way out of the impasse the debate around labour law classification has reached, by showing what labour law could learn from digital law approaches to platforms - and vice versa. The ebook editions of this book are available open access under a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 licence on bloomsburycollections.com.
Humans As a Service: The Promise and Perils of Work in the Gig Economy
by
The crowdsourcing of work - the "gig economy" - has been hailed as a "sharing" revolution, enabling "micro-entrepreneurs" to enjoy greater autonomy and flexibility in taking on "gigs", "rides", or "tasks", while customers benefit from the ease, convenience, and affordability of "work on demand". Is this the future of work? What are the benefits and challenges of crowdsourced work? Is the gig economy fundamentally different to existing models of work and should it be kept outside the scope of employment law, as many platforms claim? Humans as a Service offers an engaging and critical account of the gig economy. It charts the industry's dramatic growth, explores the diverse platforms that comprise it, and describes how they operate. In scrutinising the competing narratives about "gig" work, the book demonstrates the importance of language: how claims of "disruptive innovation" and "micro-entrepreneurship" often obscure the realities of highly precarious work and the strict algorithmic surveillance and control to which workers are subject. And yet, far from being radically new, the book shows that the gig economy is but the latest (and perhaps most extreme) example of labour market practices that have existed for centuries. Turning to how the law should respond to the on-demand economy, it argues that regulators can and must bring this work within the scope of employment law, adapting existing norms where necessary, in order to protect both customers and workers. Finally, it explores the wider implications of the gig economy for markets and consumers, assessing oppprtunities and challenges - if this is the future of work, how can it be made sustainable?
The Future of Labour: How AI, Technological Disruption and Practice Will Change the Way We Work
by
The Future of Labour: How AI, Technological Disruption and Practice Will Change the Way We Work is an anthology that offers a forward-looking exploration of how artificial intelligence (AI), digitalisation and technological transformation are reshaping the future of work. Through a series of studies conducted by scientists and industry professionals, this volume takes a deep dive into many of the issues related to new policies, AI and the digital transformation's anticipated impact on the labour market. Balancing speculative foresight with scientific rigor, the authors ground their discussions in empirical data, theoretical frameworks, and comprehensive literature studies. The book delves into the evolving labour landscape through three key themes: The Future of Society and Economy - Examining the socio-economic implications of emerging technologies and their transformative impact on work. The Future Way of Working - Investigating how AI and digital tools are redefining the nature of work and workplace conditions. New Uses of AI and Technology in Labour - Highlighting innovative applications of AI and technology that are reshaping job roles and industries. Each chapter provides unique insights, blending rigorous analysis with predictive insights, to illuminate the challenges and opportunities of a rapidly technologically advancing labour landscape.
The Oxford Handbook of the Law of Work
by
At the core of all societies and economies are human beings deploying their energies and talents in productive activities - that is, at work. The law governing human productive activity is a large part of what determines outcomes in terms of social justice, material wellbeing, and the sustainability of both. It is hardly surprising, therefore, that work is heavily regulated. This Handbook examines the 'law of work', a term that includes legislation setting employment standards, collective labour law, workplace discrimination law, the law regulating the contract of employment, and international labour law. It covers the regulation of relations between employer and employee, as well as labour unions, but also discussions on the contested boundaries and efforts to expand the scope of some laws regulating work beyond the traditional boundaries. Written by a team of experts in the field of labour law, the Handbook offers a comprehensive review and analysis, both theoretical and critical. It includes 60 chapters, divided into four parts. Part A establishes the fundamentals, including the historical development of the law of work, why it is needed, the conceptual building blocks, and the unsettled boundaries. Part B considers the core concerns of the law of work, including the contract of employment doctrines, main protections in employment legislation, the regulation of collective relations, discrimination, and human rights. Part C looks at the international and transnational dimension of the law of work. The final Part examines overarching themes, including discussion of recent developments such as gig work, online work, artificial intelligence at work, sustainable development, amongst others.
Professors in the Gig Economy: Unionizing Adjunct Faculty in America
by
The Uber-ization of the classroom and what it means for faculty. One of the most significant trends in American higher education over the last decade has been the shift in faculty employment from tenured to contingent. Now upwards of 75% of faculty jobs are non-tenure track; two decades ago that figure was 25%. One of the results of this shift--along with the related degradation of pay, benefits, and working conditions--has been a new push to unionize adjunct professors, spawning a national labor movement. Professors in the Gig Economyis the first book to address the causes, processes, and outcomes of these efforts. Kim Tolley brings together scholars of education, labor history, economics, religious studies, and law, all of whom have been involved with unionization at public and private colleges and universities. Their essays and case studies address the following questions: Why have colleges and universities come to rely so heavily on contingent faculty? How have federal and state laws influenced efforts to unionize? What happens after unionization--how has collective bargaining affected institutional policies, shared governance, and relations between part-time and full-time faculty? And finally, how have unionization efforts shaped the teaching and learning that happens on campus? Bringing substantial research and historical context to bear on the cost and benefit questions of contingent labor on campus, Professors in the Gig Economywill resonate with general readers, scholars, students, higher education professionals, and faculty interested in unionization. Contributors: A. J. Angulo, Timothy Reese Cain, Elizabeth K. Davenport, Marianne Delaporte, Tom DePaola, Kristen Edwards, Luke Elliott-Negri, Kim Geron, Lorenzo Giachetti, Shawn Gilmore, Adrianna Kezar, Joseph A. McCartin, Gretchen M. Reevy, Gregory M. Saltzman, Kim Tolley, Nicholas M. Wertsch
New Directions for Law in Australia: Essays in Contemporary Law Reform
by
For reasons of effectiveness, efficiency and equity, Australian law reform should be planned carefully. Academics can and should take the lead in this process. This book collects over 50 discrete law reform recommendations, encapsulated in short, digestible essays written by leading Australian scholars. It emerges from a major conference held at The Australian National University in 2016, which featured intensive discussion among participants from government, practice and the academy. The book is intended to serve as a national focal point for Australian legal innovation. It is divided into six main parts: commercial and corporate law, criminal law and evidence, environmental law, private law, public law, and legal practice and legal education. In addition, Indigenous perspectives on law reform are embedded throughout each part. This collective work—the first of its kind—will be of value to policy makers, media, law reform agencies, academics, practitioners and the judiciary. It provides a bird’s eye view of the current state and the future of law reform in Australia.
Decent Work in the Digital Age: European and Comparative Perspectives
by
This book explores the legal and practical implications of the digital age for employment and industrial relations. To that end, the book analyses the problems arising from the digitalisation of work and the negative effects on working conditions in fields such as platform work, robotisation, discrimination, data protection, and freedom of speech. It also looks at how to ensure decent working conditions for workers affected by digitalisation, by investigating the minimum standards that should be ensured to mitigate negative effects - and how these could be best guaranteed by legislation and collective bargaining. The book presents a theoretical framework on the impact of automatisation, robotics, and digitalisation on the very basic principles of individual and collective labour law. The chapters provide an in-depth analysis of new patterns of work prompted by digitalisation, including: classification of platform workers; recognition of employment and social security rights; competition law aspects of platform work; remote (tele)work arrangements; algorithmic decision-making and remote surveillance; data protection and privacy; and social media in working environments. The book is an important reference for academics and researchers, social partners, and policy makers with an interest in labour law and industrial relations.
Platform Work in Europe: Towards Harmonisation?
by
This book is the culmination of fruitful discussions that began at a 2018 conference in Milan on platform work. It contains national reports (Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and the United Kingdom) in which the respective authors provide expert analysis and insight as concerns some important questions that arose during the conference, impacting the various European countries considered in a similar manner. These questions are: What are the diffusion data of the phenomenon in the considered country?; Have special rules been developed by the legislator or are there landmark cases with regard to these platform workers in the legal system of the considered country?; and What role do unions play and what is the relevance of platform workers' collective rights?In the background of these questions, a crucial one appears: Is the notion of subordinate work, as it emerged and consolidated itself during the 20th century, still able to encompass and provide workers in this new millennium with suitable protection?In addition to chapters on some notable European jurisdictions, the book also contains other more transversal reports dealing with the issue of fundamental (collective) workers' rights, as well as the applicable European legal framework.
The Cambridge Handbook of Technological Disruption in Labour and Employment Law
by
Whether through gig work, remote work, or platforms such as Uber, new technologies are reshaping the very fabric of employment relations. This handbook offers a comprehensive, international overview of how institutions, countries, and legal systems are responding to the technological disruption of the work world. Chapters outline the reform agendas driven by the International Labour Organization and the European Union and detail the public policy debates, litigation, and legal reforms that technological innovation has triggered around the world. This volume provides a post-pandemic assessment of how digitalization is affecting employment and employment relations and contextualizes current technological disruption with a long-term view of how labour and employment law could evolve further.
The Shadow Workforce Perspectives on Contingent Work in the United States, Japan, and Europe
by
This book provides an overview of the facts and issues of nonstandard employment in the countries where this labor market phenomenon has been most studied: the United States, Japan, and the European Union
טלי קריסטל ואח' "לא כולם שווים בפני הווירוס: השפעת דפוסי העסקת שכירים ויחסי עבודה קיבוציים על תעסוקה בימי קורונה" סוציולוגיה ישראלית: כתב-עת לחקר החברה הישראלית 21(2), 122 (2021).
לפניות והערות כתבו ל:irinabo@savion.huji.ac.il
מעודכן ל: 3.12.2025
כל האזכורים של מקורות יש לאזכר לפי כללי האזכור האחיד והבלובוק. סרטוני הדרכה על אזכור חקיקה ופסיקה.
|
