מעודכן ל: 12.10.2023
Search as a keyword:
family law
Search as a subject:
domestic relations
Arnold H. Rutkin, Family Law & Practice (MB), LEXIS (database updated Nov. 2021).
Isabell Scott, Domestic Violence Practice and Procedure (Aug. 2021), Westlaw DOMVIOL
Family Law from Multiple Perspectives by
This concise casebook introduces students to basic family law doctrines in the context of moral and policy debates. The 24 chapters discuss family law regulation of the formation, continuation, and dissolution of horizontal (adult) and vertical (parent-child) family relationships. Each chapter includes cases, statutes, short notes (emphasizing the variations among state laws), problems, and a review of multiple perspectives that have influenced the development of the relevant family law doctrines, rules and policies. The second edition has been updated to include cases and perspectives that reflect the continued evolution of family law doctrines, practice, and policy.
Landmark Cases in Family Law by
There are a number of important (landmark) cases in the development of Family Law in England and Wales that deserve detailed examination and lend themselves particularly well to historical examination. Family law cases tend to raise highly controversial issues, often on striking facts, frequently provoking wider social debate and/or extensive publicity. Consequently, the landmark cases chosen for this collection provide considerable scope, not only for doctrinal analysis and explanation of the importance and impact of the decisions, but also for in-depth examination of the social or policy developments that influenced them. The stories behind the cases provide a fascinating insight into the complexities of family life and the drama that can be found in the family courts. In recent years, Family Law has seen enormous changes in law's engagement with the notion of 'family', with the enactment, for example, of the Civil Partnership Act 2004, the Gender Recognition Act 2004 and, more recently, the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Act 2008. As we begin to move forward into the new millennium, this is an excellent time to engage in detailed analyses and 'stock-taking' of the landmark decisions, many of which were decided in the 1970s, and which have shaped modern Family Law. This book provides a series of in-depth studies of the key leading cases, and will be of interest to students and lecturers alike.
Family Law in New Zealand by
With in-depth commentary, and updated legislation and case law, it is an invaluable resource for students and practitioners who need an authoritative resource at their fingertips. Now packaged as a two-volume set, Family Law in New Zealand, 20th edition, is a consolidation of selected commentary from the online publication Family Law Service. It emphasises succinct practical analysis of the current and historic principles and trends in family law.
Family Law in Britain and America in the New Century by
In Family Law in Britain and America in the New Century: Essays in Honor of Sanford N. Katz nineteen leading family law scholars in the US and Britain pay tribute to Sanford Katz, Darald and Juliet Libby Millennium Professor Emeritus and Professor of Law, Boston College Law School by giving a critical account of developments in family law in their jurisdictions since 2000. Areas covered include the institution of marriage, financial and property issues, parents and children, the state and children, access to justice, and international issues as well as an overview by the Editor. The volume will provide a stimulating and accessible account of the state and current direction of travel of family law in those countries.
Jeremy D. Morley, International Family Law Practice, Westlaw INTFLP (database updated Jul. 2020).
Courtney G. Joslin, et al., Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Family Law (Oct. 2021), Westlaw LGFAMLAW.
More Than Marriage: Forming Families after Marriage Equality by
Introduces an expansive vision of the family and a brilliant legal arrangement that will protect the lives of millions of adults. Today, about half of all adults are unmarried. Many of those are in significant relationships--some intimate, others based in friendship, finances, or family ties--but the law offers them few protections. Amid the growing recognition that modern families take all shapes, More Than Marriage presents a refreshing vision for the future. With this book, noted family-law expert John G. Culhane takes us on a guided tour of how the march toward marriage equality spun off a number of other legal statuses, and explores how the law has expanded and where it falls short. This lively living history is grounded in relatable, in-depth interviews that give voice to the millions of Americans building family structures outside the protections of marriage--whether by choice, necessity, or exclusion. Culhane proposes an updated legal status that offers flexible and portable benefits for a diverse range of commitments and needs. As More Than Marriage shows, this "choose your own adventure" structure more accurately reflects, and more equitably protects, the many kinds of families we choose to build.
Queer and Religious Alliances in Family Law Politics and Beyond by
Family law is a site of social conflict and the erasure of non-traditional families. This book explores how conservative religious and progressive queer groups can cooperatively work together to expand family law's recognition beyond the traditional state-sponsored family. Various religious groups have shown an interest in promoting alternative family structures. For example, certain Muslim and Mormon communities have advocated for polygamy, thereby aligning with queer groups' interest in overcoming the engrafting of monogamy into state law. Advocacy by North American religious conservatives for reforms in favor of non-conjugal families and against same-sex marriage overlaps with certain queer efforts to legitimize friendships and non-traditional families more generally. This book explores these potential areas of queer and religious political cooperation--including limitations and principled reservations to such cooperation. It then looks at additional future arenas of queer and religious political cooperation going beyond family law.
The Contested Place of Religion in Family Law by
Like many beliefs, religious views matter across an individual's life and the life cycle of a family - from birth to marriage, through child-rearing, and, eventually, death. This volume examines clashes over religious liberty within the personal realm of the family. Against swirling religious beliefs, secular values, and legal regulation, this volume offers a forward-looking examination of tensions between religious freedom and the state's protective function. Contributors unpack some of the Court's recent decisions and explain how they set the stage for ongoing disputes. They evaluate religious claims around birth control, circumcision, modesty, religious education, marriage, polygamy, shared parenting, corporal punishment, faith healing, divorce, and the end of life. Authors span legislators, attorneys, academics, journalists, ministers, physicians, child advocates, and representatives of minority faiths. The Contested Place of Religion in Family Law begins an overdue conversation on questions dividing the nation.
The Jewish Family Law by
This is volume 28 of the book series/journal, "Jewish Law Association Studies". The volume contains a collection of articles on the Jewish Family--to include marriage, divorce, and other issues of personal and family status. The volume began as proceedings of a conference at the University of Toronto, co-sponsored by the Jewish Law Association and York University, in 2015.
Minority religions under Irish law : Islam in national and international context by
Minority Religions under Irish Law focuses the spotlight specifically on the legal protections afforded in Ireland to minority religions, generally, and to the Muslim community, in particular. Although predominantly focused on the Irish context, the book also boasts contributions from leading international academics, considering questions of broader global importance such as how to create an inclusive environment for minority religions and how to regulate religious tribunals best. Reflecting on issues as diverse as the right to education, marriage recognition, Islamic finance and employment equality, Minority Religions under Irish Law provides a comprehensive and fresh look at the legal space occupied by many rapidly growing minority religions in Ireland, with a special focus on the Muslim community.
Promoting Women's Rights in Islamic Law in a Non-Muslim State : Israel by
Promoting Women's Rights in Islamic Law describes the mechanism of renewal in Islamic law, followed by the main reforms in various areas of the family law; marriage, divorce, the right of wives to dissolve their unsuccessful marriage, paternity, maintenance of wives and children support.
The Unique Family Law in the State of Israel by
In the State of Israel, the unique family law derives from ancient Jewish law, halakhic traditions, and an extensive legal tradition spanning many centuries and geographic locations. This book examines Israeli family law in comparison with the corresponding law in the United States and illuminates common issues in legal systems worldwide. The Israeli system is primarily controlled by the religious law of the parties. Thus, religious courts were also established and granted enforcement powers equivalent to those of the civil courts. This is a complex situation because the religious law applied in these courts is not always consistent with gender equality and civil rights practiced in civil court. This book seeks to clarify that tension and offer solutions. The comprehensive analysis in this book may serve as a guide for those interested in family law: civil court judges, rabbinical court judges, lawyers, mediators, arbitrators, and families themselves. Topics central to the book include issues subject to modification, the right of a minor to independent status, extramarital relationships, and joint property.
Family Law Across Borders by
This casebook provides a comprehensive, accessible, and up-to-date analysis of family law from comparative and private international law perspectives. It emphasizes the need to examine complex cross-border family situations by comparing legal systems and understanding the jurisdictional overlay, with a particular focus on the United States. The casebook addresses some of the most intimate and legally complicated situations in which cross-border families find themselves, including the validity of foreign marriages, simultaneous divorce proceedings in multiple countries, the changing law in creating families using adoption and assisted reproductive technology, and how to remedy an international parental child abduction. In addition, the book dives into the importance of judicial assistance treaties and laws when understanding the legal issues, including the necessity to have proper service in a foreign country, obtaining evidence overseas, and authenticating foreign public documents. This book is a superb companion for law students and practitioners alike, and can readily be used in a traditional theory-based class and in practicum courses. It provides substantive material for a course on International Family Law, or can supplement a course on Family Law, International Law, or Comparative Law.
מעודכן ל: 12.10.2023
כל האזכורים של מקורות יש לאזכר לפי כללי האזכור האחיד והבלובוק. סרטוני הדרכה על אזכור חקיקה ופסיקה.
|